We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely week”
Review of Capo Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capo Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A lovely week”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I would recommend this hotel, we stayed very early in the season at the beginning of april, the surrounding restaurants and bars were only just opening or about to. If you are looking for entertainment i would not recommend going this early.
The hotel restaurant, was buffet style and the food was very good with plenty of choice. The down side of the hotel was the size of the rooms and storage areas, the pool was also freezing.

Room Tip: up grade to a suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuildfordLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,135
    390
    112
    26
    11
See reviews for
595
774
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Myself and my girlfriend (young coupe) are just back from a week at capo bay and what a week it was!

This holiday is FANTASTIC! set right on the beach it has everything you need, the beach is stunning and a step throw away from the hotel.

MAMA's restaurant with the grass areas and outdorr seating over looing the sea is sublime.

KOI sushi and cocktail beautifully set in the grounds with white leather outdoor loungers is beautiful.

The ability to reserve your sun loungers for free and a guy that guides you to it and makes you feel at ease!

The hotel staff couldnt do enough for us, they upgraded our room on arrival and also allowed us to have a 1hr late checkout for no cost!

the breakfast is as good as i have experienced, beautoiful setting looking over the sea with the outdoor terrace, or the choice of sitting inside in the slick modern restaurant with all the food you can eat - FYI the bacon and sausages are just like home (sooo goood!!)

The rooms were slightly disappointing however for the length of time we spent in the room - it was not an issue.

a 30sec brings you to the strip which has great restaurants - the highlight is DIVO Flambe - ITS AMAZING!!! the best on the strip - the guys are fantastic and made the holiday for us!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!!!!

all in all a great holiday - will be going back again!!

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klewis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

One of the best hotels I have been to and I absolutely love Cyprus now after visiting for the first time!

There is plenty to do around the town and surrounding areas, plus a bus ride to ayia Napa is only 15 minutes away and very cheap bus prices!

If you are going then you're going to love it there :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyndsey ッ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We just stayed here for 1 night, visiting the other side of the island whilst staying in Paphos.
The hotel is certainly the best location in Protaras, opposite the lovely Fig Tree Bay. The hotel is well appointed throughout in a bright and classy contemporary style. The bedrooms are a bit of a let down, nothing special and on the small side, the bright light from the corridors shines in from the gap around the doors so the room is not fully dark which I found annoying. details also needed attention eg, the smoke alarm in our rooms was hanging down and the hole filled in with stuffed up tissue paper ( room 402)
The gardens and pool areas are lovely, comfy loungers and lots of different areas to sit and enjoy the sun. The pool full of Koi Carp was amazing
Service was pleasant but slow, especially in the Koi bar
Breakfast was standard buffet fare.
In summary a very well appointed hotel but a few small things let it down
I though Protaras had nothing to recommend it other than the bay. Full of tacky bars and shops

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenwilson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just back from a week at the Capo Bay Hotel, and can't fault a thing. Travelled in a party of 3 ladies, myself and 19 year old daughter along with my friend. We were treated so well throughout the hotel and made to feel very special. Our room overlooked the beautiful Fig Tree Bay, and although perhaps a little on the small side, it was quite adequate. Fresh bedding, towels and dressing gowns as often as we wanted, along with high quality toiletries replenished every day.

Breakfast and dinner were both outstanding, every day, with so much choice and variation the biggest problem was choosing what to eat. The champagne with breakfat, sitting on the terrace with the marvellous view was just stunning.

We used the Spa every day, and again, the staff were lovely with fresh towels aplenty.

Both pool areas were lovely, and the opportunity to choose and reserve your sunbeds for the whole of your holiday was great.

The weather got better and better throughout the week, and the village of Proteras slowly opened up during our stay. Lots of bars to choose from, with a variety of entertainment available only a few minutes walk from the hotel.

A lovely, lovely holiday and we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The rooms for 3 people are actually 2 person rooms with an extra bed, hence the size, so worth beari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlysonWoodcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I went to Capo Bay for 7 nights from 5th April with my wife, 2 kids (4 and 2) and another family of 4. In summary, we had a really lovely time and I would recommend the hotel.

Early April is clearly off-season in Protaras. When we arrived the whole town felt like a ghost town, although it got visibly busier as the week progressed. Apparently the hotel had only been open for the season for a couple of weeks and it did feel a bit like that. Overall, the staff were very good but there were a few who seemed very new and didn't know what they were doing. The weather was generally good. It was about 20 - 23 degrees during the day and quite a bit cooler at night. At around 1pm every day while we were there, a chilly wind blew up which was a bit annoying but it generally calmed down around 3.30pm. We wore shorts and T-shirts (or less) the whole week. It was very comfortable sunbathing weather, without getting TOO hot.

There are 2 pools at Capo Bay - a standard rectangular, heated 'adults' pool and a bigger pool with a shallow section for kids which is surrounded by a mock rock formation and a deeper section with a pool bar. Although the 'adults' pool is theoretically for adults only, I believe kids are allowed in it for the month of April as the other pool can be a bit too cold. However, it's not great for small kids as the shallower end of the adults pool is still relatively deep. I'd say it was about 1.3m, so my 4 year old couldn't stand on the bottom which meant one of us had to be in there with him. The bigger pool can be pretty chilly, but if the sun is shining, it's fine once you are in. I'm sure it will be perfect later in the season.

We spent adult time relaxing around the pools, but mostly went down to the beach with the kids. The beach is really beautiful. A lovely sandy beach and a serene and perfectly clear sea. It is right in front of the hotel. It takes maybe 2 minutes to get from your room to the beach so very convenient. When we were there, there were 3 or 4 times as many loungers as people, but I'd imagine it gets much busier during the warmer months. At the beach, there is also a watersports company (not connected to the hotel). We tried a bit of parasailing which was great fun.

We had standard land view interconnecting-rooms. The rooms were fine, but a bit basic and quite small. You can pay more to get a sea-view room which I believe is exactly the same spec but faces the sea. I would say that it is probably NOT worth paying a premium for the sea view. The hotel is angled to the shore-line so while the primary view from the land view rooms is of the town and the hills, you can still see the sea from the balcony. We were in 226 and 228 but I think any room from 220 upwards (or 120, 320, 420) would have had a good view. (200 -220 are further away from the sea and overlook the car park). Also, there is the big bonus that land side of the hotel gets the sun in the afternoon and evening. If you have a sea view room, it will be in shade for a good chunk of the day. The rooms were generally reasonably quiet but there was sometimes a bit of noise drifting up from the bar in the evening. I would imagine that there would be a bit more noise from the town as the season gets going.

Our friends have an 8 month old baby. They asked for a microwave to be put in the room so they could sterilise bottles etc, which the hotel was happy to do. 

The restaurants in the hotel were good. We were on a half board deal which included breakfast and buffet dinner in the Elea restaurant. The buffet had a different theme each night. Some were better than others but generally the food was tasty, interesting and varied. Breakfast was also mostly good quality and there was a huge selection to choose from. There is an omelette station where you can get an omelette cooked to order and a mixture of hot and cold, British and European dishes. One downside was that pancakes and waffles were obviously microwaved rather than being cooked fresh. Probably best avoided. They also didn't put out much in the way of fresh fruit, but ask for it and they will bring it to you.

For lunch we alternated between eating at Mama's, the pool bar/restaurant and going to one of the nearby restaurants. Mama's is quite pricey and I would say that we had some pretty poor service a few times. We ate there 3 or 4 times and it took up to 30 mins for food to arrive (not good if you have hungry kids) and at least 3 times they got the order wrong. I think this was probably as a result of it being the beginning of the season with new staff etc. However, the quality of the food itself was very good. There are quite a few restaurants within 5 - 10 mins walk of the hotel and you can easily get a good meal for two thirds of the price of Mamas. There is also the Koi restaurant which we didn't eat at, but it is lovely for a sundowner cocktail before dinner.

What made our holiday was the Kids Club. Our initial impressions were that it was a small dark room and the first day it seemed that there were far too many kids for the small space. We spent the first morning feeling a little guilty and wondering whether we would be able to leave the kids there all day. However, our fears were soon allayed as the kids had a great time and were wonderfully looked after by Anna, the kids club manager. She is a really sweet lady and the kids loved her to bits. The kids club is open from 9.30 to 1pm and 1.30pm to 5pm Monday to Friday. Anna kept them occupied with lots of games and craftwork and the twice-daily feeding of the Koi fish around the hotel. By the end of the week, the kids were really sad to leave and gave Anna big hugs. There is also a kids disco from 8 to 8.30pm on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, also run by Anna, which is good fun.

The kids club is for 4 years and over but I overheard Anna tell a family that a 3 year old would probably be fine if they are used to a nursery/pre-school environment back home. We couldn't leave our 2 year old daughter with Anna unaccompanied, but we arranged for a babysitter (through Anna) to look after her in the kids club for 3 hours a day. This worked really well. The kids club is free but we paid EUR 10 an hour for the babysitter.

There are also other activities you can take advantage of. My wife went to the spa, which she said was good, and also went to a couple of the yoga/pilates classes, which she enjoyed. There is apparently a tennis court but we didn't use it.

Overall, it was a lovely, relaxing, enjoyable week. It is allegedly a 5 star hotel, but I would say that the rooms and some aspects of the service are more 4 star.

Room Tip: Land side rooms are fine but ask for one near the sea end if the hotel not over the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gavin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed for a week at Capo Bay from the 13th to the 20th of April. We had a duplex suite, which was modern and clean, if on the small side. Wi-fi is 15 euros per device, but we got it free as we were in a suite. The breakfast buffet was great with everything you could want from pancakes, cereal or a full English. It was off peak, meaning it was quieter than it would be in the summer, but we only had a couple of rainy days and the rest were warm amd certainly sunbathing weather! You reserve your sunbeds so there's no rush to get one on a morning, and clean beach towels are provided whenever you want. The hotel is on Fig Tree Bay, which has lovely yellow sand and clear sea.
We had a great stay at the Capo Bay and would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookies68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.4 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#12 of 65 in Protaras
1,059 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grecian Park Hotel
Grecian Park Hotel
#13 of 65 in Protaras
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#5 of 65 in Protaras
1,865 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
#15 of 65 in Protaras
847 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#3 of 65 in Protaras
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo Bay Hotel

Property: Capo Bay Hotel
Address: 2 Iasonos St | P.O.Box 33115, Protaras, Paralimni 5311, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#7 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#7 Family Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Capo Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capo Bay is set on Fig Tree Bay, perhaps the most famous beach in Cyprus. Modern, chic and elegantly understated, Capo Bay’s light filled lobby, welcomes our guests. The designers have managed to bring, throughout the Hotel, the colors of the sandy beaches and the gorgeous shades of the Mediterranean Sea. The use of natural materials is obvious in every part of the property; from the oak handmade furniture to the cotton/linen tapestries which create an ambience that calms and relaxes. The hotel is sure to delight you with its shimmering views, its irresistible restaurants with their fusion of flavors, and the tranquil atmosphere that prevails around the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Bookcyprus.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capo Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capo Bay
Capo Bay Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing