We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with a little....but!”
Review of Capo Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capo Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2010

Just returned from a long weekend with my best friend to this hotel. I have a friend who travels to Protaros reguarly and told me of this hotel. Whilst it was outstanding in so many ways there were a few but's!..
1. our room was located at the front of the hotel....if you are looking for peace and quiet request a room at the rear because it was like living on the M25!!
2. The staff were NOT always friendly
3. It is siutated just off of the main Strip and a little bit too touristy for me. I was expecting somewhere a little quieter and more secluded. Def not the case.
The hotel itself is very nice, clean and modern. Reception area very grand and new. Pools are gorgeous and situated right on the beach so no need to drive. The beach was totally and utterly stunning, however it was a little over crowded and this was just outside of the main peak season, ie. children's school holidays. You are allocated a sun lounger when you arrive and that is yours for the duration of the stay which was a nice idea.
We stayed Bed and Breakfast. Breakfast is served till 10am daily, and we didn't arrive most days till 9.50am and there was plenty of food choice at that time and still being refilled constantly. Can't comment on dinners as went out.
Overall lovely hotel, but location wise just didnt' do it for me. I personally probably wouldn't go back, done it but move on to another location in Cyprus. :-)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeepyLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,399 - 1,405 of 1,779 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2010

I have just returned from a weeks' stay at the Capo Bay hotel with friends and would rate this 10 out of 10, most definitely the best hotel I've stayed at within a beach resort and easily matches any hotels you would find in London or the suchlike for facilities. I have read previous reviews about noisy rooms but we were based in the newly reburbished part of the hotel by the pool area and the rooms were top class, most comfy bed ever, the shower was fab and our toiletries were topped up every day and the room was spotlessly clean. We were on a b&b basis and the breakfast was fantastic, especially the Prosecco we had every morning, all included in the price!! Despite there being 6 of us we got allocated sunbeds right by the pool together.

We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening but can thoroughly recommend Romeo's and Promises which are closeby and the Loveboat is a great bar.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarebear40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We recently got married at Capo Bay Hotel and spent two weeks staying in a sea view room. I cannot fault anything. We had lots of friends and family members also staying at the hotel and everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves. We chose to get married at Capo Bay for the excellent wedding package we received as well as the beautiful views (which made stunning backdrops for our photos). An earlier review on this site states that the wedding ceremonies are only 6 minutes long - this is not the case in every wedding. You are given the option of having readings etc if you like so you can actually make your ceremony as long as you like. It's a matter of personal choice. We arrived back to our hotel room after the wedding to find a bottle of champagne and a present from the hotel staff which was a nice touch.

The hotel breakfasts were outstanding with so much choice and very friendly waiters who chatted to us each morning. We will definitely be returning to this hotel in the future.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisydoo-29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Well after spending hour upon hour looking for the pefect wedding venue on the net i was 99% sure i had found it with the capo bay hotel,so decided to go out for a week to check it out and get things booked how wrong i was !! The evening we arrived we left a message for Katerina the wedding planner at the hotel to contact us regarding our wedding, after 3 days we asked again (NOTHING) we still never heard from her the day we left . After talking to many other guests inc those who were actually getting married whilst we were there we found she had not been very helpful to them either. The hotel itself is lovely after the refurbishments earlier this year very contemporary spotlessly clean rooms are comfortable i would agree with other reviews they do a fab breakfast but evening meals didn't impress us they were themed most nights with no other choice so if you didnt like chinese or mexican ect you had to be creative with the salads or the kids corner as my partner had to do one night by eating fish fingers! not good when you pay around 22euro's each a night to eat there .The problem with booking a wedding here for next year is that the lovely reception area they have now which is right next to the ceremony area (perfect) will no longer be available you will have to go back into the hotel and through the main restaurant to the outdoor terrace at the front, which is fine if you want to be right over the main swimming pool and come time for dinner the hotel guests are using the restaurant so you have no privacy.The other venue available this year is called guru and is really lovely with white leather sofa's and billowing white drapes, i saw a wedding reception set up in here and it looked fabulous WHY WHY would they make you use the restaurant terrace when they have this !!! In the end i have opted for the Grecian park hotel which has exceded my expectations in every way, also met someone else who was here to book a wedding at this hotel but she too has booked grecian park.In my opinion the hotel is going to lose many bookings unless it sorts out this problem and gets a new wedding planner so if you read this and were thinking of this hotel i wouldn't say 100% dont, just check out exactly what you can have if its next year and dont just look at the pictures on the web sites .

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KIPPERBANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

im going to keep this simple i hope, we stayed at capo bay for 7 nights our first 4 nights were a terrible we were in a newer deluxe room with a view of the main strip which was nice but on the night you were not able to get to sleep due to the noise coming from the local bars mainly really bad singing!! this wouldn't have been too bad but my wife myself and our 1 year old daughter were up till 2am every night when we complained the staff were rude and already knew about this problem and said the hotel was full sorry, further more the beds were really hard and uncomfortable the rooms were not clean and housekeeping would make a lot of noise in the mornings to wake you from the corridors early and even left dirty nappies in the dustbins for over a whole 2 days, we were however moved to sea view suite after 4 days which was a lot better and service got better after id had a chat with the duty manager. the capo bay also has a reserved sun bed policy but this also failed for 2 days were were unable to even get a sun bed as the hotel was occupancy and the guys who were in charge spoke broken english and when we complained they just said sorry full !! we ended up paying for sun loungers on the beach which was beautiful and clean and well looked after. over all the hotel was smart and modern popular for weddings but hospitality did not live up to expectations and i am a well season traveller who's as travels the worlds best hotels . hope this helps as all the other reviews really rate the hotel 5 star!! oh and at breakfast don't expect a smile from the staff either .

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mandeepsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We stayed at Capo Bay over half term and on balance it's a very good hotel. We were in a 'superior sea view' in the newer part of the hotel so I can't comment on the rest of the rooms.

The good-sized room was spotless and furnished in a contemporary style. The bed was extremely comfortable and the air con efficient and quiet. The bathroom was well laid out, with a great rainfall shower and jets. However, the lighting was poor and the lack of a magnifying mirror made applying make-up and putting in contact lenses a bit tricky.

The staff are friendly and helpful but they are slaves to 'hotel policy'. There is a notice on the mini bar which states that if you want to use it as a personal fridge then it's 70 euros. I did query this with hotel and their response was that they were a 4* hotel offering 5* facilities and it was 'hotel policy'. Odd because every 5* we've stayed in let us use the fridge free gratis.

The balcony was a joke. I don't think we've ever had one so tiny. We had to move the little table and chairs to squeeze round to get at the drying rack. We did have a sea view, but it was restricted. The main problem is that the design of the building means there's a huge concrete wall to one side, totally blocking any view of the sea - in our case to the left. In fact, there's just too much concrete. Not too great a problem, as we didn't spend much time there, but there again, it wasn't really conducive to sipping a glass of red wine (not white 'cos we couldn't keep it chilled) and watching the sunset.

Breakfast offers a good choice and is a calm civilised affair. Nice views from the terrace.They do need to have more than one person cooking/serving the various egg options. Food/drinks in the hotel were expensive but that's the norm. We found the 'Blue Peter' (next along from the dreadful Fig Tree Bay bar) was good and reasonably priced for lunches, drinks and snacks and the supermarket over the side road is good value.

The sun bed allocation was excellent. If you are not happy where you are then just look around at the dates on other areas and ask the guy there to move you...a few euros will get you nice spot or just talk to the current occupants. It's great not to have the sunbed scramble and the huge area of the hotel means that beds aren't crammed together. There's usually a pleasant breeze too and the view is wonderful.

We had a late flight home so requested to keep our room until 6pm. The cost was 50 euros, but worth it not to have to use the communal showers and changing rooms by the children's pool. However, the hotel was full and it took them until 11pm on our last day to tell us there was no room available in which to shower and change. Not good. Also, because we had to check out at 12pm, they wanted us to give in the towel cards. We said we needed the towels until 5pm, so they demanded 40 euros deposit, quoting 'hotel policy'. Not good.

A word about weddings. There's usually one every weekday around 3-4pm. Beautiful brides and nervous grooms. Seems to be various levels of decoration (obviously cost-driven) Some wedding parties go the whole nine yards with arches, flowers, different coloured ribbons on the white chair covers etc , others just have the basic white chairs. Everyone looks gorgeous and happy. We were just below the terrace so saw all the week's nuptials. We were sad, however, at just how short the ceremonies were. For one couple, from the start of the music and the bride walking up the red carpet to walking back on the arm of her new husband, it couldn't have been more than 6 mins! No readings, no poems from family and friends, just the registrar galloping through the service. It took the ladies longer to set up the arch and flowers.

If anyone is considering getting married there, check if you can say anything else personal to each other or have your maid of honour or someone read a love poem or say something special...probably has to be after the official bit's done, but it's your big day and 6 minutes is a boiled egg!

Protaras is what you would expect... a mix of bars and restaurants of different standards, live shows and the inevitable karaoke. We liked El Basilico, the Italian restaurant. The nicest for us was 'Alati,by the Sea', a 30-40 min walk along the boardwalk to Pernera.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Capo Bay Hotel. This is an excellent hotel, very clean with great facilities. I cannot praise Anna, who runs the Kids Club, enough she kept our children entertained with imaginative activities and they loved spending time for her. This was especially good when the sun was too hot for them. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice to suit all tastes, with a stunning terrace overlooking the pool and Fig Tree Bay. We were upgraded on arrival to a duplex suite which was a very pleasant surprise. All the staff are exceptionally helpful. I would definately recommend this hotel and look forward to visiting it again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
2.0 mi away
Grecian Park Hotel
Grecian Park Hotel
#12 of 65 in Protaras
1,130 reviews
2.6 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#6 of 65 in Protaras
2,018 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#3 of 65 in Protaras
560 reviews
2.0 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#18 of 65 in Protaras
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo Bay Hotel

Address: 2 Iasonos St | P.O.Box 33115, Protaras, Paralimni 5311, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#7 Family Hotel in Protaras
#7 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: £89 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Capo Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capo Bay is set on Fig Tree Bay, perhaps the most famous beach in Cyprus. Modern, chic and elegantly understated, Capo Bay’s light filled lobby, welcomes our guests. The designers have managed to bring, throughout the Hotel, the colors of the sandy beaches and the gorgeous shades of the Mediterranean Sea. The use of natural materials is obvious in every part of the property; from the oak handmade furniture to the cotton/linen tapestries which create an ambience that calms and relaxes. The hotel is sure to delight you with its shimmering views, its irresistible restaurants with their fusion of flavors, and the tranquil atmosphere that prevails around the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Capo Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capo Bay
Capo Bay Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing