We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant for budget holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Debbie Xenia Hotel Apartments
Ranked #46 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant for budget holiday”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We found our one bed apartment to be very large with a pool side balcony and attractive gardens. It was basic but clean. We went bed and breakfast which we thought was a very good deal. All food was cooked to order and you had several choices from the menu includind continental breafast to full english.

Thanks to Nikkos and staff.

The hotel is in a quiet part of Penera but within close proximity of the action. There is a pub at the end of the road (100m) called happy pub. The food is excellent. There are also other good places to eat to, including windmills restaurant, knights pub (over the road which does the best steaks ever), DO NOT entertain the chinese on the corner (the food was disgusting), but when you get to the chinese turn right and you'll find a greek restaurant within 50m on the right (with an english name which I can't remember but food was v good there too).

Penera itself is seperated from Proraras. It's a quiet place. Although we weren't looking I don't think there were any night clubs. You can quite easily get to other places by using the local buses (neares bus stops are near Nights pub). You travel any distance for 1 euro. A taxi to Prot cost us 8 euros. If you enjoy walking there's a pleasant walkway all along the coastline

If you are beach bums like us there are 2 local sandy bays within easy walking distance. The first, is 5 mins away, walk to the happy pub and turn left. You'll find the beach within about 200m (Behind the little church there's a small harbour). The 2nd beach is about 10 mins walk. Turn right at happy pub, at the end of the road turn left, when the road forks keep left and you'll find it in the right Other beaches not to be missed are Protraras (including fig tree bay at the far end), Ayia napa. Also there is Konnos bay but this is only for the very fit if you're on the bus as there are loads of steps down to the beach (it is worth it though if you can manage it - drivers have the luxury of a car park much further down the hill). There is also Nissi bay at the far end of Ayia Napa. Ignore the signs which say the beds are private and belong to certain hotels, they're not. Firemans Bay (this is in the opposite diection towards Paralimni.

Hope this helps and enjoy your holiday.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms face the pool and face East.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Caroleje123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    69
    31
    8
    6
See reviews for
53
74
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

All depends what type of holiday you're looking for. We stayed half board, the food was great for price... kind of mixture between english and Cypriot, very basic menu but all tasty, fresh local produce. The pool area was very quiet although the hotel was full. The beach is a short walk away and although its close to busy bars its a nice 5 min walk away so its very quiet but close to amenities. Would definitely stay again for the price. Staff were brilliant, very friendly. Rooms are large but basic, 2 single beds to push together but plenty of space for 2 of us. I wouldn't suggest self catering at this hotel, simply because the kitchen is very basic (this could have been due to it being a half board booking) the bathroom is dated but has everything you need. All in all, consider what you want from a holiday before booking. We wanted to chill out and unwind, we certainly did!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Curly_Wurly_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2011

My sister and I have just spent 7nights at the Debbie Xenia Apartments. Although the rooms were basic they were very clean which was fine as we only needed a base. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was good and you had a choice. It was a 5 minute walk to the beach which was clean and sandy. We took a trip on the yellow boat with Captain Andreas and his partner which was 3 hours of fun, a must do.
I would definately go back.

Room Tip: Maybe the back of the hotel would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawny31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Me and my boyfriend have just come back from a lovely holiday in protaras. However I wouldnt stay at this hotel again. For what we paid we wernt expecting much, but the hotel is very dated and very basic. The room was big however we had to push 2 single beds together.
We were self catering so expected to have more than just a hob-you have to rent a toaster, microwave, tv, safe, steep prices and the air con which is a must have is 5 euros a night this all adds up. The room wasnt very clean there were hairs on the floor everywhere - but the cleaners come in most days change the bins, and every three days will change your bed sheets and towles. The staff were not particulaly friendly when we first arrived we didnt even get a hello, however one night i cut my finger and they were quite helpful. Once youve been there for a few days theyll say hello. The hotel does serve nice food for quite a good price, the pool is basic again and very quiet.
Where the hotel is located its much more for familys and there is not really any good bars they are more pubs and resturants which are all very nice, but a five minute bus journey (to aiya napa) which costs 1.50 takes you straight to central protaras with a strip of brilliant bars and some clubs which is much better than the strip nearer the hotel and more resturants to chose from.
Blue bay beach was lovely a five minute walk from our hotel-and we preferred this to fig tree bay.
All in all I would go back to protaras but would change the hotel and location slightly!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrietrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middleton
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2009

sorry to see some negative reviews but i suppose not everyone sees things the same way. me hotels like this are really only meant to rest your tired body after a full days adventure around cyprus, and on the beach, i found it very clean and friendly, the staff allways found time to speak to you the food was good, the only thing thats missing is leffteris, what a guy, he allways treated you like you were special, and jenny was a star as well. allways there in a morning ready to do your breakfast. and the romanian cook i think he worked 24 hours a day, cant remember is name. well thats it but i will be going again in 2010 i hope,

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveatoldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Myself and two friends stayed in this hotel in july 2008. The hotel was really cheap as we booked it online so we weren't expecting too much. When we got there we were greeted by a friendly enough person (spoke basic english) who checked us in and gave us a key. The rooms were nice and big and were cleaned daily. The only downside about the room was that there was only two proper beds and then what seemed to be a camping bed, which a few slats kept falling off. Luckily my friend slept on this. The prices at the hotel were very reasonable although we only eat the odd snack there and there was a good shop just around the corner. The pool was nice and clean but in the day it seemed half empty which surprised us. The hotel was situated just off the main strip in pernera. There were many restaurants here that catered for everyone, from pizza hut to what seemed to be very nice family owned places. From pernera you could easily get a taxi to protaras for 6 euros and aiya napa for around 20 euros. the bay in pernera is excellent and not too busy. we went snorkelling one day and saw lots of fish. Most nights we walked into protaras which took us 20 mins but it wasn't to strenuous. We really liked it there as there was 2 clubs "Boogies" and "Q club" and many lively bars to keep us from straying to aiya napa every night.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mead1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2008

I just want to say that I'm not the pickiest person in the world, but this hotel is kinda shabby!
The staff are fine, we were above the bar and it was very loud in the morning, so the manager moved us. The mirror fell off the wall in the bathroom and broke and I was convinced we would get blamed/charged but we didn't, so that was a plus. When it rained we had puddles in the room!
The hotel really needs updating!

The area is all 'full english', not the right place to come if you want a Greek atmosphere, but I loved the beach. Obviously this is the end of the island with the gorgeous beaches. Protaras beach and Fig tree are nice, Nissi is amazing - clearest imaginable waters lovely sand (but very busy).
However I loved Pernera beach, it was so picturesque with the little church and the marina on the other side.

The Paphos area and 'The Baths of Aphrodite' are stunningly beautiful. It was a 6 hour round trip in the car but I think it was the highlight of our holiday. You wont believe your eyes when you see the colours!!! (have a look at the photo's)

Anyway, the rooms at the Debbie Xenia are very large and that's great, if they don't want to update the decor they should opt for the traditionally Greek look as it looks nice even when 20 years old!

  • Liked — beds
  • Disliked — noise/puddles
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plipKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.8 mi away
Mandalena ApartHotel
Mandalena ApartHotel
#21 of 65 in Protaras
398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Livas Hotel Apartments
Livas Hotel Apartments
#36 of 65 in Protaras
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jacaranda Hotel Apts
Jacaranda Hotel Apts
#48 of 65 in Protaras
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Amore Hotel Apartments
Amore Hotel Apartments
#42 of 65 in Protaras
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seagull Apartments
Seagull Apartments
#44 of 65 in Protaras
176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Artemis Hotel Apartments
Artemis Hotel Apartments
#47 of 65 in Protaras
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Debbie Xenia Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Debbie Xenia Hotel Apartments

Property: Debbie Xenia Hotel Apartments
Address: Pernera, Protaras, Paralimni 5312, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Bookcyprus.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Cancelon so you can book your Debbie Xenia Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debbie Xenia Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing