We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantasic stay at the Antigoni hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Antigoni Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Antigoni Hotel
Ranked #60 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantasic stay at the Antigoni hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

This was our second visit to hotel Antigoni arrived for 14 day stay on the 17/06/12. It's is a perfect location just a short walk from the main street with many shops and a varity of bars and shops at the eastern end of Protaras. Many people do not go out the front entrance and turn right and walk along the main road there are also many bars along the part of Protarsa and a great cazy golf place. Ideal if you wont to just sit around the pool or a 5-10 minute walk to the beach it's the perfect place to chill out. We have always found the hotel to be clean and the staff very freindly and helpful. I cannot understand the people who say the food is boring and no choice there is always a choice of 4 main dishes in the evening and is hot and tasty it is not michelin class but good standard would reccomend the omlettes at lunch time. I agree with many people who say the hotel is dated and could do with a refurb but the room are clean and comfy. Whilst we were there this year a lot of the staff walk out on strike for 24 hrs but the management still kept the place running. Do not wont single and individuals but the bar staff and the waitress are eccellent and work very hard.
Entertainment was not so good this year in fact it was poor. I would recommend
this hotel to family/ young couples and mature couples. We have only been back 1 day and are already looking for deals to go again next June.

Room Tip: I always ask for a high room in hotels as they tend to be less noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurence h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    280
    127
    90
    58
See reviews for
230
337
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We have been to the antigoni several times, we have always enjoyed this hotel. Yes it is a bit dated , but very clean.
The food was better than last year (though we did have one bad evening meal).
The staff are helpful Alex and George ( bar staff were very good)
Now to the bad points,we didn't get to the hotel until gone twelve, but on the day of departure we were toldt that the all inclusive was only until two o clock, that meant that we missed out on our evening meal (we were picked up on our last day at 7.30) in the end they did relent and we had our meal.
If you want to stay in Protarus you are limited to this group of hotels, and the management had decided that this rule apples , there were many holiday makers that have been to the Antigoni several times, 80 percent have said they will not return. Also you were limited to one beer, last year you had a choice, you had to pay for iced coffee this also was free last year.
If this group of hotels want you to return , they need to improve the way they treat their PAYING guests

Room Tip: If you have a family ask for a family room, otherwise they will have a camp bed , we had room428
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

on reading some of the reviews we did not know what to expect,so with an open mind we arrived at the hotel,we found it a bit dated however it was not as bad as we thought,the bedroom was clean and the maid was pleasant,our towels and bedding were changed daily,we found the staff pleasant and helpful,this could not be said about the manager who we never saw smile once in the two weeks .our rep was pleasant and helpful,entertainment non existent,so spent most nights in resort which was buzzing.it was five years since we last visited resort,and were pleasantly surprised with the cleandliness of the beaches,the eating places, and found prices for food and drinks quite cheap,on the whole we had a fantastic holiday,and will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

we have just returned from 10 days all incl at the antigoni. we were a little bit dubious after reading the negative comments but i must say we give it 10 out of 10. in fact we are booking up today for next year. the hotel is clean and tidy,the rooms were cleaned every day. yes the rooms are small but you dont go on holiday to sit in the room. we had a lovely pool view balcony. the food was fresh, varied and wel presented. the people who complain obviously were expecting 5 star quality. entertainment was good but minimal but we knew that before we went. the hotel is a few meters from the main strip, so after you fill up on all incl drink you dont have far to walk for the other bars. speaking of the all incl drink, the cocktails were fantastic. do not believe the negative reviews , HONESTLY it was spot on. we made loads of friends, mostly people who return to the antigoni year after year. one couple were there 3 times last year, and an elderly couple go for 5 weeks every summer. it appeals to all ages. yes the hotel was a bit dated, but that was only the colour of the paint, it was very clean. and as for the staff being miserable, they certainly wernt during our 10 day trip. air con was brill too.

Room Tip: ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TraceyMichaelHodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

On arrival at this hotel I was instantly disappointed. This hotel is very dated. I seriously think it has not been decorated since the 80's. Note there are no internal photos of rooms on this hotels profile. Reception was a gairish yellow with awards dated from 1999 !! Our family room was a side sea view which i was disappointed with as it overlooked a car park.The rooms were not thoroughly cleaned, dust under beds, dirty corners on bathroom floor. I think the house keeping was a quick wipe over with a mop and a towel change. The bed sheets were changed twice in 2wks! I wouldnt use the fridge in the room.
We were all inclusive 2 adults and 2 kids aged 8 and 5. The choice of kids meals was very limited - pizza and chips everyday! Breakfast always ran out of clean cups, glasses and cereal dishes but the resturant wasnt even full!
We also found majourity of staff to be abrupt. Nobody ever smiled! The staff didnt seem to know what was included in the all inclusive, they seemed to changed their minds from one day to the next. Bottled water is not included as they tried to charge me for it.The bar area smelt like sour milk.
The entertainment is almost non existant!!! 1 game of boring bingo on a night thats it. Their was nothing for the kids to do on an evening except play pool or table football - paying out 1 euro every game. If u book all inclusive here i would recommend taking money and going down the main strip in protaras. Lots of family friendly bars with entertainment, tribute acts, parrot shows etc. I felt disappointed that this hotel didnt offer anything like that after we paid a lot of money for our holiday.
Daytime was better they had a daily game of water polo which my 8 yr old loved. He joined in with the adults and played. There was no entertainments team, just 1 girl.
The pool area is good. Lots of sunbeds. We never had a problem getting a sunbed at any time of day. There wasn't an early morning rush on reserving them. The pool itself is good for children Its not too deep.
The location of the hotel is not 300m away from the beach as said in some brocheres but its ideally situated at the top of the main strip. Its not noisy or too far away from shops.
To summerise this hotel :
I wouldnt go back to The Antigoni, there are other far better 3* hotels in Protaras !!!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LCH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Protaras hotels

Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

The hotel needs bringing into the 21st century and the sooner the better, the rooms are dated and lack the gentle touch. Beds are OK but not for having a lie-in, bathrooms are what you expect in any hotel abroad.....basic. We loved the food which we feel was cooked well, no added extras just good food well cooked, and the staff were great and willing to please. The bar area was mostly in the shade and had white plastic garden chairs,but also some wicker chairs. We felt it needed cleaning daily because it had a strange smell around the bar area??, also a pool bar which was good. The pool area seemed to be lacking space, all the sunbeds were on top of each other and too close for my liking, and the pool was great and not too deep. The situation of the hotel is brilliant, very close to the bars and shops, and only a ten minute walk to the beach. And you don't hear the noise from the bars. I would go again, but only for a week.

Room Tip: Ist floor, it's walkable, the lift seems to have a mind of it's own.???
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kicky1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

My wife and i arrived at the Antigoni on 20Th June.From recent reviews i have to agree that the hotel could do with a refurbishment but you can't fault the place for cleanlyness.The food was plentyfull and you always had a good choice.A special mention goes to the bar staff who work so hard and always have time for you.The pool area is also first class with more than enough sun beds and parrasols.This is one of the few hotels i have been in when you do not have to get up at dawn to get a sun bed.If i could have one grip about this hotel it would have to be the entertainment.Every night one game of bingo in English and Russian and then a silly bit of a dance for the kids and then it was more or less entertain yourself.We would have a couple of drinks after our evening meal the hit the strip were there was always something happening.All in all worth the money and would be happy to return.

Room Tip: The side sea view rooms also have a good view over Protaras
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluenose36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.8 mi away
Tsokkos Gardens Hotel
Tsokkos Gardens Hotel
#44 of 66 in Protaras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kapetanios Bay Hotel
Kapetanios Bay Hotel
#42 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.8 mi away
Papantonia Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
#21 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tsokkos Silver Sands Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Vangelis ApartHotel
Vangelis ApartHotel
#55 of 66 in Protaras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antigoni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigoni Hotel

Property: Antigoni Hotel
Address: Paralimni Road, Protaras, Paralimni 05315, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Antigoni Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigoni is a great base for exploring Protaras, located on the main road with a short stroll to the main strip of the resort and close by to the crystal clear waters of Flamingo Beach. Rooms are comfortable, some with pool views. Daily activities at pool side with varied evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antigoni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigoni Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing