We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windmills Apartments, Protaras - STOP MOANING!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windmills Hotel Apartments
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I'm not quite sure what people are expecting, but for 3* self catering, it has everything you need! Might not be slotless, but it's not filthy. Might not be 5*, but that's not what you are paying for! It's somewhere to lay your head in a comfy (firm) bed. I've slept in beds where I've woken up to be covered in mattress spring indentations on my body! Not here! 2 of us stayed in a 1 bed apartment and it was a great size! Huge balcony. Our only gripes were that we didn't have enough pillows and our kettle had a 2 point plug! Both these things were remedied the next day. Kitchen equipment limited, but seems each apartment is equiped differently and if you request something, they get it for you. Showers tended to be luke warm in the mornings, but when its 30+ degrees outside, who cares?! Shower was hot on an evening. The bedding and towels were changed regularly. We had to request more loo roll a couple of times, no big deal. We only ate a cooked breakfast at the Windmills which was fine and cannot comment on other food. I think compared to the look of some of the other apartments we saw, we were lucky. We had no 'direct' neighbours so no noise. It's in a great location if you want a bit of quiet. We had a cockroach on our balcony, one night! Soon got rid of that - NO BIG DEAL!! Not sure what people expect really - its exactly what I expected for self catering. You don't go on holiday to live in the apartment all day long! Big shout out to Tony the poolside barman - Daz and I hope to see you again soon!!!

Room Tip: Upstairs apartment room 232 away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

Informed on arrival that there was an "electrical problems" with our rooms (2) and that we had been allocated rooms for the night at neighbour hotel Jacaranda and we could discuss compensation for inconvenience later and our rooms would be ready next day.( obviously overbooked or didnt realise that our party of 4 had booked 2 seperate rooms not one.) The compensation offered first was a free breakfast or use of safe deposit box.,wow.!!
Eventually get allocated rooms at 12.45pm next day after alot of excuses.half a day of holiday wasted.
OMG what a shock when you see these rooms!! Take a step back to a 1970`s. seriously in need of modernisation.The musty vinegar smell lingereing throughout our 4 night stay.
In comparison to the rooms we had at the Jacaranda these apartments are dumps.
If i had booked a week i would have upsticks and moved on.Anyone who is satisfied with this standard of accomodation is very easily pleased.
Glad i only used these rooms as a stop over.
Whats even more amazing is that we had been "upgraded" to these rooms because of the inconvenience!! Dread to think what the other rooms where like.
We also got offered a free breakfast if we signed a disclaimer to say we wouldnt complain to our travel company.Decided not sign and never took offer of free breakfast.
Reception staff are very nice but they are only covering up for the poor standard of accomodation.
The charge of 9 euros a day for air-con is highway robbery plus a 20 euro deposit for a TV remote!! You would be 83 euro down before you even get in the room!!
Dont be fooled by the photos on search engines ..... accomodation anywhere has got to be better than this.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank god0081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just returned! However if I decided to write about all the faults I would still be writing this tomorrow. So in short, we stayed here 13 years ago when we were first married and decided to return as we had such lovely memories. Didn't look like the bedding, towels or curtains had been changed since then. Awful holiday, if you have booked here I strongly recommend you change your holiday and stay somewhere else in Protaras. We waited all year to stay in this dirty, shabby apartment. So disappointed....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank olies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Another fantastic stay at windmills brill staff excellant taxi service!! Will be back in October for the party car,nt wait won,t be hiring any buggys this time and dave will leave the phone at home haha see you soon guys xx

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrytaylor52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Booked 5 nights but left after 3 which probably manages to convey our level of satisfaction more than a lengthy review would. Staff were unfriendly and clearly had no interest in tourists or future business. Room was large and reasonably clean but tatty and dated with no comfortable furniture and little security due to faulty locks, no change of towels and 9 euros a day for air con was a joke. Parking was 'abandon it anywhere IF you can find a space'.
They could do so much to improve the place but no-one seemed interested.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KathD713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Windmills is just a cheap place to stay.Don't expect much.

Breakfast and dinner are unbelievably poor.If you go half-board,you will starve.That's for sure.Better go self-catering,there are good restaurants around the hotel.The meals at Windmills are a bad joke!Shame on the owner!

The rooms are too old and filthy with lots of insects.Bathroom is disgusting!!!The beds are hard.The bed linens and towels are washed and left to dry outside in the sun in the hotel garden on plastic chairs and on plants!!!Unbelievable but true! Birds,insects and cats sit on the linens and towels.

A/C is extra(9 euros per day).The tv remote-control costs 20 euros(you get your money back when you check out and give the remote-control back to the reception).

The staff is rude.There is usually nobody at the reception so you have to wait for a long time if you need anything.

I still haven't mentioned the best of all!If you want to take a shower you must check two things:first if there is water and second if there is hot water.On the first night I took a cold shower.The next day I mentioned the problem to the receptionist and I was told that the technician would fix the problem. That was a very big lie of course since there was hot water only for one hour each day!!!

Last but not least, remember one thing never never never again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank salonica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

First time in Cyprus and if i do go back i would not stay at the Windmills
my reasons are

1, The staff are so miserable its untrue apart from Stelios on the pool bar and the Morning receptionist, The staff at breakfast time are so miserable and unwelcoming they really need to look for another job.

2, Air conditioning at 9.00 euro per day per unit is nothing short of extortion, I was under the impression that A class hotels that Aircon was free, If Windmills is Aclass as it claims to be then they are ripping customers off

3. Freezing cold showers , there seems to be a window between 8-9 am and 6-7 pm when the showers are warm, then they were cold constantly

4. Choice at Breakfast is pathetic, Scrambled eggs, cold meats, cheese, tomatoes, cucumbers,
olives toast or cereal. extremely poor

5, Water supply was off for two days intermitentley

6, Entertainment, if you like Karaoke, celeb lookalikes and dodgy hypnotists you probably still think 1980's working mens clubs are cool

plus points were the rooms are a decent size and the cleaners did a good job although we did have to ask them to change the towels after the first 4 days



Cyprus is a stunning place to go unfortunatley Windmills falls well short

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.2 mi away
Anais Bay Hotel
Anais Bay Hotel
#20 of 64 in Protaras
499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Polycarpia Hotel
Polycarpia Hotel
#63 of 64 in Protaras
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Debbie Xenia Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mandalena ApartHotel
Mandalena ApartHotel
#24 of 64 in Protaras
427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Artemis Hotel Apartments
Artemis Hotel Apartments
#47 of 64 in Protaras
358 reviews
1.1 mi away
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
#30 of 64 in Protaras
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmills Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmills Hotel Apartments

Address: Pernera Ave 75, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Protaras
Price Range: £26 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windmills Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windmills Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing