We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mr and Mrs thompson” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chrystalla Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Protaras
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chrystalla Hotel
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mr and Mrs thompson”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Disgusting food, rundown accommodation, filthy rooms. The bedding was dirty, the room had not been dusted for weeks. The bath had green skum round it. The toilet was yellow, and to top it off there was a smell from the sewers in room. Worst ever holiday

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
11 Thank kate t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    101
    41
    14
    9
See reviews for
112
191
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lanzarote, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

First time at 2001 i have been there,After 2002,and 2007..and 2012 love it the hotel and staff,,very friendly atmosphere..Have to try it!!!Go on!!!I I just say to everyone try it!Good location,very close to the beach,but quiet.Clean rooms,with lcd tvs..

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 155Timi155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

First of all - hotel wonderful , very pleasant staff, quick to sort out any problem you may have - adjoining door lock broken but shown not to be assessable from other room - compensated for our worries with free safe and fridge.
Rooms cleaned every day with friendly staff -all areas of hotel very clean.new mattresses are needed for next season though.
Food- I do agree with some points made by the 2 star poster they have to get a new supplier for their bacon far to fatty for any ones heath and they need to cook it in smaller batches not clumped together . But my biggest disappointment was not enough fresh fruit.we never eat out but there are an abundance of restaurant a short stroll away.
We stayed on the 2nd floor with a sea view - they will have to sneak out in the middle of a stormy night and cut a few tall trees from the adjoining hotel vey soon as they do restrict your views and only seem to be there for this sole purpose.

My veggie husband did not starve at all and on the couple of occasions where there was not
enough veggie options the staff were more then willing to make an omelette or two.

Pool area clean - music could well be more chill out type as if you are choosing to stay by the pool that is what you want to do chill and not visit Ayia Napa as the clientele was more 40 plus then 18.
Area - A+++++++ great costal walks , wake up early and walk down to shore line for the most glorious sunrise. Cheap €1.50 per trip or €5.00 daily will take you up and down so you can visit many interesting attractions Including Ayia Napa !!!!! NIcosia beach is filthy with hundreds of cigarets end - why can't some smokers dispose of them correctly as walking on them is NOT nice - many beaches have this problem here.[rant over!]

So all in all highly recommend this hotel for your first stay in Cyprus and I'm sure as we are;you will be coming back to explore more areas of southern Cyprus and then come back here to the lovely Chrystalla Hotel .

Room Tip: Go for the 3rd floor to avoid the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dothraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Myself, husband and 2 friends stayed here in september. The hotel is in a great location for the strip and fig tree bay, myself and husband have been to cyprus before and have always stayed in 5* hotels, which was all great but the location was never as good as this hotel. We only ever use a hotel as a base and this is great fir that. The food was ok but you can pop up the road and eat if you get bored of the food. We will defiantly stay here again. Please don't listen to the bad reviews of this hotel give it a try and you wont be disappointed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Evita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I was here with my family in early October.
Hotel is in a good location without the noise, a short walk from the beautiful beach, a short walk from restaurants, shops and entertainment. Our room was nice, clean, with LCD TV. Cleaning and change of towels without problems. Two pools and a small pool for children - perfectly maintained and clean. Free WIFI throughout the hotel and at the pool. Good dinner, was to choose from. Breakfast is still the same, but a decent selection. The staff and management of the hotel - nice, friendly and helpful people. Everything was fine, we had a beautiful holiday and if I'm going to Cyprus, so definitely in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lucie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Me and my partner stayed at the Chrystalla hotel mid September'13 for 10 days. We have travelled all over Europe and this hotel is by far the friendliest place we have ever stayed in. Nothing is too much trouble for them and if you need anything you only have to ask and it is sorted out straightaway. The rooms were of adequate size, cleaned everyday with air conditioning which we had full control of. The food was also good. We actually missed the meal times one evening and the manager arranged to have a meal prepared especially for us which was very kind and not at all expected!!! The location of the hotel could not be better right next to fig tree bay and 2 mins walk to the main strip. We enjoyed it so much we are going back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We very much enjoyed our 2 weeks in Protaras as the weather was wonderful, and we always make the best of things. The location is good, with beautiful beaches and a frequent, cheap bus service. Fun boat trips and water sports are abundant, as are pretty little churches to visit. Cycle hire is easy & both cycle and walking tracks are very good. I thought the Dancing Waters show was enthralling, although rather costly; we found Cyprus is no longer a place for ‘cheap’ souvenirs, clothes, or alcohol.
We chose this hotel after reading the reviews here on Trip Advisor, which lead us to expect 4 star standards for a very reasonable price. We should have known better! Our own expectations are not overly high, but the Chrystalla certainly failed to reach them. We dreaded meal-times. We give them only 2 stars, which is all they themselves claim.
Our main complaints concerned the food. On 'Grill Night', our expected 'steak' turned out to be a few dried-up halves of thin burgers, the chops and chicken were all gone when we arrived at 7.45 (dinner lasts till 9.30), when asked for more the chef looked non-plussed but eventually produced some small chicken nuggets. When we asked to see the manager he was said to be out.
Sometimes the evening meal was acceptable, but mostly it was not. My Wiener schnitzel was a pure lump of breaded fat. My partner’s lamb was 90% fat, gristle and bone. The vegetables were mostly frozen mixed veg, sometimes also burned, sliced courgette. Everything was often cold, especially the chips.
Deserts were mostly small hard apples or pears, or frozen bits of pomegranate, or jelly or something like angel delight. Not even ice cream. No cake. No soft fruit whatsoever such as grapes, plums or nectarines, no cheese & biscuits.
Breakfast bacon was mostly thick white fat. Eggs were either boiled or scrambled-swimming-in-water or over-cooked omelette-type in a large tray. NO fried or poached eggs. No 'real' cold meats such as sliced ham, only luncheon meat. No butter, only margarine. I never eat margarine. When asked for butter, the manager produced yet another brand of margarine, as though, despite being in the trade, he didn’t know what butter was. The coffee was so weak I bought my own Nescafé to add to theirs. The fruit juice was so watered down we didn’t drink it. There was no fruit at breakfast such as sliced melon etc. The only bread was sliced.
The music played all day long by the pool was so intensely aggravating that it was impossible for me to stay there. My partner managed to drown it out with his headphones as he is slightly deaf, but I could not. Passing other places nearby, I often heard pleasant music played, I also enjoyed the choice of music played on our boat trip, but Chrystalla’s music was both loud and dreadful. They made no attempt to adapt their choice of music to the guests, but relayed Agia Napa radio all day long.
Our room was basic but acceptable. The balcony was minute. We had to ask for a second bed-side cabinet. There was no chair. All toilet paper had to be put in a bin; the fridge was so loud we had to turn it off at night.
There was NO entertainment. The wi-fi (supposed to work everywhere) didn’t work in the room until half way through the second week.
A card in the room stated the Chyrstalla is 2 star, which we think fair, so how can Thomson or Trip Advisor give it 3 or 4 stars??

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rutamartal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.2 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#8 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#1 of 66 in Protaras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alva Hotel Apartments
Alva Hotel Apartments
#25 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Family Life Nausicaa Beach
Family Life Nausicaa Beach
#16 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#6 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chrystalla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chrystalla Hotel

Property: Chrystalla Hotel
Address: Dimitri Lagiou 6, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Protaras
#11 Family Hotel in Protaras
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#15 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chrystalla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Also Known As:
Chrystalla Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing