We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grubby & not enjoyable”
Review of Chrystalla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chrystalla Hotel
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Grubby & not enjoyable”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner booked this holiday as a anniversary get away but from the minute we arrived in this hotel it was bad! We walked in to a shabby receptions, a lift that barely worked then to a room that had dirty bed sheets, a dirty bathroom and smelt like damp and smoke. Immediately we spoke to the reception who showed us 3 other rooms, 2 not even made up and the third just as filthy and the first, only up side was that it smelt a tad better. In total we had 5 rooms in this hotel, none of an acceptable standard. The food was terrible, we only ate In the hotel once. After one night and one meal we decided to change hotels, this took a few days. The staff were helpful, the location was perfect and the pool area was lovely, the condition of the hotel itself just lets it all down.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank DanniH1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    125
    44
    15
    9
See reviews for
129
237
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Disgusting food, rundown accommodation, filthy rooms. The bedding was dirty, the room had not been dusted for weeks. The bath had green skum round it. The toilet was yellow, and to top it off there was a smell from the sewers in room. Worst ever holiday

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
11 Thank kate t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanzarote, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

First time at 2001 i have been there,After 2002,and 2007..and 2012 love it the hotel and staff,,very friendly atmosphere..Have to try it!!!Go on!!!I I just say to everyone try it!Good location,very close to the beach,but quiet.Clean rooms,with lcd tvs..

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 155Timi155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

First of all - hotel wonderful , very pleasant staff, quick to sort out any problem you may have - adjoining door lock broken but shown not to be assessable from other room - compensated for our worries with free safe and fridge.
Rooms cleaned every day with friendly staff -all areas of hotel very clean.new mattresses are needed for next season though.
Food- I do agree with some points made by the 2 star poster they have to get a new supplier for their bacon far to fatty for any ones heath and they need to cook it in smaller batches not clumped together . But my biggest disappointment was not enough fresh fruit.we never eat out but there are an abundance of restaurant a short stroll away.
We stayed on the 2nd floor with a sea view - they will have to sneak out in the middle of a stormy night and cut a few tall trees from the adjoining hotel vey soon as they do restrict your views and only seem to be there for this sole purpose.

My veggie husband did not starve at all and on the couple of occasions where there was not
enough veggie options the staff were more then willing to make an omelette or two.

Pool area clean - music could well be more chill out type as if you are choosing to stay by the pool that is what you want to do chill and not visit Ayia Napa as the clientele was more 40 plus then 18.
Area - A+++++++ great costal walks , wake up early and walk down to shore line for the most glorious sunrise. Cheap €1.50 per trip or €5.00 daily will take you up and down so you can visit many interesting attractions Including Ayia Napa !!!!! NIcosia beach is filthy with hundreds of cigarets end - why can't some smokers dispose of them correctly as walking on them is NOT nice - many beaches have this problem here.[rant over!]

So all in all highly recommend this hotel for your first stay in Cyprus and I'm sure as we are;you will be coming back to explore more areas of southern Cyprus and then come back here to the lovely Chrystalla Hotel .

Room Tip: Go for the 3rd floor to avoid the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dothraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Myself, husband and 2 friends stayed here in september. The hotel is in a great location for the strip and fig tree bay, myself and husband have been to cyprus before and have always stayed in 5* hotels, which was all great but the location was never as good as this hotel. We only ever use a hotel as a base and this is great fir that. The food was ok but you can pop up the road and eat if you get bored of the food. We will defiantly stay here again. Please don't listen to the bad reviews of this hotel give it a try and you wont be disappointed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Evita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I was here with my family in early October.
Hotel is in a good location without the noise, a short walk from the beautiful beach, a short walk from restaurants, shops and entertainment. Our room was nice, clean, with LCD TV. Cleaning and change of towels without problems. Two pools and a small pool for children - perfectly maintained and clean. Free WIFI throughout the hotel and at the pool. Good dinner, was to choose from. Breakfast is still the same, but a decent selection. The staff and management of the hotel - nice, friendly and helpful people. Everything was fine, we had a beautiful holiday and if I'm going to Cyprus, so definitely in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lucie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Me and my partner stayed at the Chrystalla hotel mid September'13 for 10 days. We have travelled all over Europe and this hotel is by far the friendliest place we have ever stayed in. Nothing is too much trouble for them and if you need anything you only have to ask and it is sorted out straightaway. The rooms were of adequate size, cleaned everyday with air conditioning which we had full control of. The food was also good. We actually missed the meal times one evening and the manager arranged to have a meal prepared especially for us which was very kind and not at all expected!!! The location of the hotel could not be better right next to fig tree bay and 2 mins walk to the main strip. We enjoyed it so much we are going back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 66 in Protaras
1,701 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#3 of 66 in Protaras
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
#19 of 66 in Protaras
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#5 of 66 in Protaras
1,913 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
TUI Family Life Nausicaa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chrystalla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chrystalla Hotel

Property: Chrystalla Hotel
Address: Dimitri Lagiou 6, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Protaras
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#11 Family Hotel in Protaras
#15 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chrystalla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Chrystalla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chrystalla Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing