We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astreas Beach Hotel Apartments
Ranked #54 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
lytham st annes
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very pleased”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

After reading mixed reviews went with a very open mind. When we arrived were met by a very pleasant lady on reception and yes we did have to pay extra for air con and a safe but was prepared having read previous reviews. We were given room 222 and apart from a couple of cracked tiles in the bathroom we could not fault the room although air con in the main living room as well as in the bedroom would have been nice. Every day the room was cleaned, every other day fresh towels and every third day fresh bedding. The first week we were there we didn't have any problems getting a sun lounger round the pool but towards the end of the second week by 11 am they were all taken (nobody on them just towels!) there were a few older ones to oneside but you had to be careful how you lay on these. The lady behind the bar was very friendly and worked very hard. The hotel itself is in a perfect position overlooking Fig Tree Bay and 2 minutes walk to the start of one end of the strip with all the bars, shops and restaurants,(would recommended Georgia Steak Restaurant staff friendly, food lovely, good choice and huge portions and also The Greek evening at Romeo Taverna) . The sea is beautiful and clear and plenty of water sports to choose from. We went on the two trips provided The Red Bus (open top double decker bus) and would recommend both of these, we also went on the Sunday trip to the market and Camel Park we were very disappointed with the market and certainly would not recommend this. I travelled with my 2 daughters ages 15 and 19 and all of us loved our holiday to Protaras and would certainly return to Cyprus in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chidgLythamStAnnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    50
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
47
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here August 2012, we arrived late at night so were amazed when we woke up the next morning to see the the beach was right on our doorstep, a quick skip across the car park and you were there. The food served in the bakery was lovely, we were so close to the strip. Everybody was friendly, we didn't need a car. Went on lots of boat trips and the BIG RED BUS (highly recommended) we did the tour over to the north and the village tour, both very informative, interesting and entertaining. We couldn't hear the strip once in our room. The hotel was clean but basic.

Room Tip: We went with friends and asked if we our rooms could be next to each other, we thought we had side v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeoJo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Its wasn't the Ritz but it was clean, friendly. Brilliant location to the beach and the strip of shops and eating places plus bars. Some nights were loud with music but once door was shut no problem sleeping! No trouble, no nasty smells no bugs or insects. Great time was had by all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Co-operative Travel

Helpful?
4 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed 7th – 21st July The Astreas is perfectly located for easy access to the beach which is fantastic, sea is warm and shallow the snorkelling is great around the rock just remember to take some bread to feed the fish. There are plenty of restaurants. Near by. The rooms are clean and comfortable if a little dated, The rooms are cleaned and towels replaced daily, minor cosmetic issues with cracked tiles and switch blanking plate.
The air con is only located in the bed room and costs 6 euros per day and the safe is 2 euro per day we didn’t use the air con as were on the 4th floor with a side sea view so benefited from a breeze so left the window open which provided a cool breeze.
The pool area is fine and surprisingly we didn’t have to be up early to reserve sunbeds with towels the swim up bar is good o2.50 euro for Amstell and serves food such as toasties etc
The apartments have a bakery attached which is great my 16 year old son loved the chocolate croissant.
The Astreas doesn’t have courtesy room but if they can they will let you keep the room on until 6:00pm for an additional charge of 35 euros or you can use the shower under the bakery which are good better water flow than in the room and if you ask politely they will let you have towels.
We would go back to Astreas again

Room Tip: Tip high floor Best way to feed the fish is use a plastic bottle with bread in it and a coupe of h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pg94boat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Was better than we had expected. Stayed here for first 2 weeks in June 2013. On arrival late evening we were shown to room 25 or 28, anyway it was ground floor and not what we had asked for. Had asked for top floor side sea view. On arrival into room I went to balcony to check out side sea view. View was obstructed by side of bakery. Went to reception to say did not have sea view as booked, could not see the sea and was told by manager that is because it’s dark!!!! Ignoring his sarcasm I said that even in daylight I felt would not be able to see the sea and I had requested a high floor room from Thomas Cook.
He agreed to change us to room 228 which wasn't top floor but did have a side sea view and a very nice view of sea and surrounding area.
Was very quiet, couldn't hear any noise from outside. However, usual problem with the dreaded 'chair and table scapers' in apartments above - one of my pet hates! Do wish some people would be more considerate. Why always try for the top floor but we can't all be up there!
We had one bed roomed apartment, was a good size very light and clean and airy. The beds were large singles and firm but very comfortable mattresses. Good size wardrobe with hangers and also extra full length wardrobe in living room.
Only aircon in the bedroom which we had set at 16 degrees the lowest setting as it wasn't very effective and was noisy. It was very windy whilst we were there so with the balcony doors open
all day until we went out it did keep living room cooler. However as you cannot leave aircon on
whilst you are out you do have to come back to a very warm room at night which takes long time to cool down.
The bathroom was the let down - very small claustrophobic and smelt of bad drains most of the time. Was nice to have a bath with shower over head. Shower had good pressure and always had hot water. But you wouldn't stay in bathroom very long due to drain smell.
Rooms cleaned very well and clean sheets and towels every other day.
Balcony faced the pool area and had sun in early morning, but then it moved over to back of hotel during the day. This was good as meant the room did not heat up during the day.
Cost of aircon was 85 Euros for 2 weeks. You pay 105 Euros on arrival and get 20 Euros back when you leave.
Pool - was Ok we only spent last day there. It is open to public so do get non residents using it, Security might be an issue, especially if you have small children.
Lots of holiday reps spend their free time during the day. But as most people go to beach getting sunbeds around the pool didn't appear to be a problem. Seemed to be clean and well maintained, there are toilets with changing room and full shower underneath the bakery which you can use- good for people who check out of room but have late flights.
Fig Tree Bay
Most amazing beach have visited in Europe - very beautiful clear sea and soft sand. When its calm is like swimming in a huge pool. But does get very busy - especially on Sundays when all the locals visit and come from far away. Cost of sunbeds are 2.50 each bed and 2.50 for umbrella. So total for 2 people with umbrella is 7.50 Euros per day. You find yourself a bed and help yourself to umbrella from outside hut. The beach man comes round lunchtime and afternoon to collect the money. There is a good quiet area where families with small children went because of natural rock pools and safe area for splashing in sea without being in the actual sea. It’s just below Astreas apartments by the Water sports hut.
Beach Restaurant -
The best is the Blue Peter Restaurant which is first one overlooking Fig Tree Bay and closest to Astreas Beach hotel. Very nice family owned restaurant, excellent service, genuine friendly staff - great food, home cooked specials each day. Highly recommend. Much better than others close by.
Protaras town and Restaurants bars
We found it a little one dimensional - as really only has one main street which has many Karaoke type bars. There were a couple of better bars selling quality cocktails but not many.
Vento’s on the seafront promenade was very nice, and The Brewery in main high street was also good- young barman Andreas very good cocktail maker and great to talk to about Cyprus and local culture. Didn't eat there but food looked very good.
Restaurants - some were good others just Ok. Will do some reviews on these.
Pernera - great walk along the promenade, on hot summer evening with a warm breeze must be heavenly, very romantic but it did take 40 minutes, not 20 minutes as some have said, and we are not slow walkers. With a few more decent bars and restaurants along the way this could really make it very special.
Even though temp was 33 degrees daytime and 23 evening, Most nights we were there we had very strong winds actually quite chilly which they said was unusual. Would recommend taking cardigan or shawl just in case. Was a shame as was too windy to sit outside in restaurants some evenings.
Mozzies
No sign of any mozzies, I used Avon Skin so Soft dry oil spray which always works for me. But there must be some around, don't think they like the wind so this might have kept them away.
Overall good holiday - Being so close to the amazing beach was by far the best part and reason why we chose protaras and hotel and local people very friendly, but wouldn't return due to lack of decent bars and range restaurants. Good for families with children and those who like Karaoke type bars and tribute acts.
If you need any more detailed info on anything please just ask.

Room Tip: Go for higher floor with side sea view. They have 2 lifts to all floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WendySeahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stopped off here after a busy Beach day at Fig Tree Bay (Protarus).........& used their Swim up Beach Bar & nearby (50 yds away)brand new changing facilities/ toilet block.....
Nicos the barman was Second to none for his friendliness & anyone can use the quiet secluded pools & Facilities.......regardless of whether or not you're staying there..... Will return........

Room Tip: Any dress code accepted at this swim up beach bar....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorwichLucyLocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beith, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Cheap and cheerful. Had a week here at the end of July 2013. The hotel had just opened and the attached Bakery/Restaurant had not opened for the season yet, but the pool and pool bar had. Room was on ground floor and looked out over a car park but was cool as it never really was in the sun all day. A plus point when it is very hot. The apartment consisted of twin beds room and a large sitting room and kitchen. Kitchen well equipped and everything had been painted in the close season. Getting a bit long in the tooth but everywhere kept very clean and everything worked!
Only down side was that other than the pool there wasn't much by way of a play-park or similar to entertain children.
Beach over the other side of the car park, sic, and it was blue flagged.

Room Tip: Ground floor or top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trouserpressblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
2.2 mi away
Amore Hotel Apartments
Amore Hotel Apartments
#44 of 65 in Protaras
55 reviews
2.2 mi away
Alva Hotel Apartments
Alva Hotel Apartments
#26 of 65 in Protaras
419 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vangelis ApartHotel
Vangelis ApartHotel
#56 of 65 in Protaras
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jacaranda Hotel Apts
Jacaranda Hotel Apts
#41 of 65 in Protaras
98 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mandali Hotel
Mandali Hotel
#50 of 65 in Protaras
66 reviews
1.1 mi away
smartline Protaras
smartline Protaras
#32 of 65 in Protaras
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astreas Beach Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astreas Beach Hotel Apartments

Property: Astreas Beach Hotel Apartments
Address: Dimitri Lagiou No 8, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Astreas Beach Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Astreas Beach Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astreas Beach Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing