We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic value and lovely staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandalena ApartHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mandalena ApartHotel
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic value and lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Best holiday yet maybe for me and my family. Actually still at the Mandalena and I was shocked at the last two reviews. If you want Hilton then go pay for it but I'll tell you one thing or maybe more, the staff are not Hilton quality, they beat Hilton staff hands down. They cannot do enough for you. Bob, Christina and their family including Nicky and new helper Emma are all fantastic. It's like being here with family. Wifi does work and it is free after all. The air conditioning works if you use the remote right! The food is very good especially the Cypriot food. The rooms are basic but very clean and adequate for the price you pay. This is a five start experience for not much money. BBQ night is 1st class and Bob, his family and staff work hard to make it work. He's keen to get you to attend because it is so good. Well done all at Mandalena. Still here for another week and a bit and will struggle to have to leave. Will be back though

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank doc9999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    135
    32
    8
    8
See reviews for
92
185
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks in July 2012. Overall, I would rate the hotel as being very satisfactory but there were a few points that brought the rating down slightly.

Pros-
Generally very clean. Maids were always very friendly and smiley. SOmetimes little bits of cleaning that appeared to be overlooked but in general it was to a good standard.
Good location. Only 10 minute walk from the main strip which has lots of bars and restaurants. The beach is also about 15 minute walk away so it is in an ideal location which is nicely located away from the main hustle and bustle of the strip.
Staff all very friendly, especially the two girls on reception and their brother. Bob was great in that he never forgot anybody's names.
We were in room 219 & this side of the hotel is where you have a pool/sea view which was nice :)
Even though the pool looks small in the pictures, it is more than adequate. We never once struggled to get a sun lounger during our stay. (Stay on the side furthest away from the apartments as this gets sunlight the longest!)

Cons-
Have to pay extra for air con (although this may be associated with the fact that it is cheaper to stay there in general) We used the air con for the first 4 days and it was terrible, basically like a fan that blew moderately cool air directly out of it. Air con is meant to cool the whole room by circulating very cold air. AFter 4 days, we cancelled the air con. On our 6th night it was unbearably hot so after struggling to sleep, we thought we would get the 'air con' (FAN!) back to see if it would help. However, when we got the air con again- it had improved massively and was actually working as it should have done. We believe the staff may have re-gassed the air con in our room or done something to fix it because we definitely noticed a massive difference afterwards. We felt a bit cheated that we had paid extra for the first 4 days and it hadn't worked to its full potential as it should have done. After it was sorted however, it was very good and cooled the room brilliantly.
Towels were sometimes not changed frequently enough.
We were told upon arrival that there were no double rooms so we had 2 single beds pushed together... not too much of an issue. Beds however were horrifically hard! Most uncomfortable I think I have ever slept in. Often woke with a stiff neck/back. Beds where you can feel every spring!
No hair driers in rooms?! Bit of an inconvenience if you forget to take one or don't take one because you assume they will provide them standard.
Mould gathering on the bottom of the shower curtain and quite grubby around the bathroom floor (see pictures)
Absolutely ridiculous policy that you're not allowed ANY drinks/food by the pool or bar area unless bought from the bar there.... In theory, this just doesn't make sense because they are self catering apartments... Where's the logic in that?! I could understand food and perhaps fizzy drinks/ice cream to an extent, but you weren't even allowed water bought from elsewhere. Before we realised this, we were quite rudely spoken to in Greek by Christina for having a bottle of water by the pool. Why would we want to pay 90 cents a bottle when we could get 6 for less than 3 euros... ALthough minimal savings, it soon adds up and just seems bizarre when it's self catering apartments!
Originally taken aback by the fact that the safes aren't in the rooms but actually in the hotel reception right by the front door?! Never have we stayed in a hotel that operates in this way and initially we were a bit apprehensive about using the safes. However, they operate in a process in that you keep one key and the reception keep another so you can only access it with both keys. The practicality of it wasn't the best- bit of a nuisance having to go and ask for the key to access your stuff. Normally we are used to just being able to access a safe in the room and it is much more convenient this way. At least they had a safe facility however, although again- this was at an additional cost of 15 euros for 2 weeks (COSTS SOON START TO ADD UP!!).
Wifi- nice that you can use their wifi for free but you can only really get it in the reception area- the signal isn't brilliant at all.
We didn't really find the same attitude from Bob as everyone else. Don't get me wrong, he always said hello and was friendly but we didn't get the same impression of him as everyone else did. He introduced himself to us on our 3rd day there & seemed to make more effort when he wanted us to attend the Kareoke night... then the effort died down a bit. But he was always very polite and nice- just seemed to make a bit more effort with others.
Don't understand why people are raving about the food.... My boyfriend got a full English from there and said it was awful. The bacon looked barely cooked and the tomato and beans weren't nice either.... We only had that from there and wouldn't eat there again after that. Others may have tried different dishes from there which may have been better though? Also wasn't very appetising to see Christina the chef come out of the kitchen and wipe her face on a kitchen towel?! Hoping she didn't use that again in the kitchen?!?!?!?!
Our balcony doors didn't even lock properly. Weren't secure but luckily with being on the second floor this wasn't as big an issue.

Overall, the apartments are very basic but do the job nicely. If you're not too fussy about where you stay and aren't looking for luxury then they are good. The location is ideal, friendly staff (with the exception of the one occasion with the water bottle incident by the pool and being slightly accosted!) If you like your luxury accommodation and like to be a bit spoiled on holiday, then I wouldn't recommend it. The resorts like Capo Bay on the main strip seemed more suited to this kind of holiday (although come with a much heftier price tag!)

Ps- thoroughly recommend Hobo to eat (just by Mcdonald's), really lovely food and deserts there :) The Love Boat pub is also good to watch the comedy hypnotist on certain nights!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Me, my boyfriend and another couple stayed at the Mandelena from the 2nd - 11th July. We stayed in room 312 + 315 on the top floor, the rooms were massive with high ceilings. We paid 56 euros for the air con for 9 days (one in the bedrooom and another in the dining area.) The aircon was worth the money, it worked so well we had to turn the bedroom aircon off everynight before we went to bed it was that cold.
When we arrived at the hotel (2am in the morning) Bob was there to welcome us at the bar, very friendly bloke, explaining the best places to go in Protaras. He helped us out quite abit ringing up mini bus firms to see where they was etc and never forgot our names (Laura, Olly, Jeremy and Lisa). His wife Christina is lovely, very funny.
Went to the BBQ night on the Thursday, food was really nice, the karoake was a laugh never seen so many people get up and sing.
The pool area is clean and tidy, and drinks at the bar are very reasonable, a massive bottle of water is 90 cents and small 60 cents and cans are 1.30.
A real gem, would love to go back.

Room Tip: Top floor, if you want the view of the pool try and get a odd room number.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

we stayed at the mandalena 19th june to 29th june and the moment we set foot through the door we knew we would love this place. bob and christina and wendy went out of there way to make everyone welcome. the bbq night along with karaoke are a must and are not to be missed. bobby makes a tremendous cocktail but doesnt like to tell you whats in them. (whatever) cant wait to revisit the friendliest place we have ever stayed at, were everybody knows each others names, especially bob. see you soon.look after yourselves dave&carolyn.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roundy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Just came back from 11 days stay at the Mandalena hotel this morning. Went with my boyfriend Reece for our first holiday together. The mandalena apartments are very very clean, rooms spotless, pool area very clean and nice sunbathing areas. The sun stays all day which is a bonus. Bob is so lovely and cant do enough for you always up for a good conversation and always good to be around on a Thursday night (karaoke,bbq). Christina his wife is such a nice person and the food she makes is beautiful ate there lots of times. Also Wendy who works behind the bar is a lovely woman too. All of the reception staff also. Such a friendly place to stay and would definatley reccommend these apartments to anybody who is wanting a lovely holiday in Cyprus. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the main strip if that. Brings you out near the McDonals for anyone whos been before. Once again I would definiatley reccommend people to stay here. BOOK YOUR SUMMER 2013 HOLIDAYS AT THE MANDALENA!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Try ask for second floor pool view !!!! gives you a view of the pool/sea and all over protaras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyS09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I have just returned from a 10 day holiday at The Mandalena and oh boy was I impressed!!! I have previously lived and worked in Cyprus and cannot believe I have missed this gem of a hotel!! Firstly I can't believe you would find warmer or friendlier staff anywhere on the island... Bob is just awesome, he remembers everyones names from the off and the BBQ night is a must... Christina is a star and the food is exceptional... all the staff are real characters!! the girls on reception are so entertaining and young Costas is charming and very easy on the eye, also the nightsman was just so chatty and warm... I came out alone and met so many new friends here, a lovely place, infact I loved it so much I'm about to book a week in October!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank princessjulie186418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed at Mandalena 9th June to 23rd June and it is our best holiday yet. We adore Protaras and Bob & Christina and the other staff at Mandalena were brilliant. The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels and bedding and all staff were very friendly and accomodating. This day last week we were getting ready for Bobby's Krazy BBQ and Karoke night, we went to 2 and they were both brilliantly entertainig with amazing food cooked by the best chef in Protaras, Christina. There is nothing bad to say about Mandalena Hotel or Protaras and we cannot wait to go again, we would live there if we could!!!! Roll on retirement!!! Big kisses to Bob & Christina :) xxx

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank zoe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.8 mi away
Debbie Xenia Hotel Apartments
0.8 mi away
Anais Bay Hotel
Anais Bay Hotel
#20 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
#24 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Livas Hotel Apartments
Livas Hotel Apartments
#37 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alva Hotel Apartments
Alva Hotel Apartments
#25 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artemis Hotel Apartments
Artemis Hotel Apartments
#45 of 66 in Protaras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalena ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalena ApartHotel

Property: Mandalena ApartHotel
Address: 303 Protaras-Cavo Greco Avenue, Protaras, Paralimni, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Protaras
#13 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#17 Family Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mandalena ApartHotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mandalena ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalena Apart Hotel Protaras
Mandalena Aparthotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing