We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandalena ApartHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mandalena ApartHotel
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

No complaints about the Mandalena, our room was massive and cleaned daily. Yes you have to pay for the air con but what do you expect when the rooms are so cheap? The pool/bar/restaurant area is nice and you can set up a tab while you are sunbathing around the pool so you don't have to keep running backwards and forwards to the bar to pay for drinks etc.
It's about a 15 min walk to the start of the strip and another 10/15 mins to the beach (this was in 35 degree heat though). The beaches are lovely but the beach front restuarants are quite expensive compared to the ones on the strip. We had so many lovely meals and would recommend The Raj (set menu for 2 is fantastic), Super (looks a little run down from the outside but the service is fab, the owner can't do enough for you) and Nikolas tavern (terrific Greek food). Even just a quick bite in the pubs on the strip were gorgeous, massive portions though so 2 meals a day was all we could manage.
Don't believe all you read about Bob - he made an effort to get to know us even though we didn't arrive at the hotel until nearly midnight, we didn't attend the BBQ but this made no difference to how he treated us. We didn't spend every day round the pool but he remembered our names and came to say bye when we left the hotel. I think the negative comments about him have made him feel a bit sad and from our experience are unjustified. The staff work really hard and you can't be surprised that sometimes they have an off day, if I worked with my family every day I'm sure they'd be an argument or 2!
We have already rebooked for next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    135
    32
    8
    8
See reviews for
92
185
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taplow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

I have just returned from 10 days in Protarus and found the Aparthotel excellent value for money. The family who run the reception were fantastic what lovely people nothing was too much trouble, The rooms were very spacious and exceptionally clean, The cleaning girl came everyday and worked very hard. I have read the recent reviews about Bob and feel they are a bit harsh he is a character and 'part' of the place. We went to the BBQ and what appeared to be possibly going to be a bit of a boring evening ( it was the smallest attendance of the season 17 people) turned into a very good night largely thanks to Bob getting things going!. I would recommend this as a great base to explore Protarus and the surrounding area. We had the odd meal in there (breakfast/lunch) It as average and ate out in the evening The Nameless bar being one of the best value for money and quality of food. Would also recommend a trip to Lidyl as soon as you get there which is not that far from the hotel turn left and keep walking along the main road and it is on you left no more than a mile.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Heather4011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggin Hill, Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

We arrived late and being half board would have expected a cold plate at least. There was nothing prepared so my hubby paid for a sandwich, which was good. A little disappointed in room at first, but it grew on us. However it could be noisy as next to the bar but we got used to the noise. Objected to paying for a/c which we have never done before so made do without it, a bit warm at night. Very spacious and cleaned every day by a lovely lady. Pool area was good, if a little small, but enough for us. We were on half board and although food was nice, there was a very limited selection, which got smaller as the week went on!. Breakfast was usual english, but small portions. Fine for me but not really adequate for men. Only other choice was cereal. I can't understand why everything, except for one meal, always comes with chips. We might be British but we don't live on them! Bar area ran by Bob and family. He could be a little overbearing, but no complaints really. Hotel was an easy 20 mins stroll into Protaras - usual variety of bars, restaurants and shops and very reasonable prices. Easy walk to the beach and boardwalk. Beaches lovely and sea warm and loads more restaurants along here also. Hired a buggy - great experience. We also took one of the boat trips - very good value. All in all we had a lovely holiday and would definitely return to Protaras, perhaps to a different hotel though. All the Cypriot people we spoke to were lovely and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Avoid one next to bar - very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janny0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Arrived home from Mandalena on Saturday 22nd September. Hotel is run by George and his family,.Maria Nikki and Costas .They all made us welcome and are a lovely friendly family . Mandalena is a great place to stay for a base to visit the island but do not stay half board or bed and breakfast.The bar and is run by Bob and has nothing to do with George and his family. Menu is limited for half board guests and very basic. There are plenty of places nearby that are good value and offer varied menus.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgie848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We arrived late to the hotel but was met by the lovely George :) check in was super quick, no messing about too! Our room was on the second floor and was huge and extremely clean... The cleaners came in every day, even waiting in the corridor for you to leave so they could come in and do their thing- the self catering facilities aren't brilliant but you can get by, no oven just two hobs, we ate out mostly just had the odd breakfast in. George and his family run the actual hotel side of things and what a lovely family they are, nothing too much trouble and always a smile on their faces :) if things were different we wouldn't hesitate going back to this hotel.....
We booked the hotel back in feb of this yr and have been watching all of the reviews and the steady decline of good ones!!! We can see why... We went with an open mind about "Bob" but to be fair things just got worse and worse making it very difficult to feel comfortable in the bar area. We are really shocked that people are saying the food is good- it's average at best and we are not fussy people... Whilst the alcohol prices are reasonable for a hotel bar, it had no effect on us, we had a couple of nights on Bobs cocktails and stayed completely sober, yet go round the corner into Paralimni and just 2 sends you on your way... Bob didn't have much time for us leaving my husband stood at the bar waiting to be served most mornings for at least 15 mins. This was very frustrating as you can't take your own drinks to the pool so you have to stand around waiting for him to get to you. Bobs BBQ night is all about Bob and this becomes tiresome. My husband is allergic to cheese which we did tell them but still his plate came out with a cheese dish on- someone will get hurt as they have no regard for allergies and just dump the plate in front of you not saying what it is. We didn't go to the BBQ the second week as we found it boring, but we were shunned and outcast! Bob made me pay for an adults meal for the BBQ for my 11 yr old son... So much food wasted! On the second week my mum went to the BBQ with my son and was still charged for an adults meal but a child's portion on a small plate came out- outrageous!! Normally happy hr in the bar starts at 6pm but not on BBQ nites, it starts when Bob decides, usually when people start going!! Bob is far to over familiar, my brother didn't get on with him, Bob began calling him In front of our Dad and things went downhill from there!! The bar name should be changed to Bobs sports bar!! There was no consideration for people's happiness, u got sport on the tv, like it or lump it, constantly! It was really embarrassing when Bob argued with Christina, his wife, slamming about screaming and shouting- we felt so uncomfortable and didn't know where to put ourselves! We were a large group and out of all of us only 2 people have a good word for him.
Christina was really good with our son and often went for a game of pool with him, he really liked her- thank u Christina :)
It's a real let down for the actual hotel which is fantastic value for money. We've travelled a lot, been to different countries but we can honestly say we were disappointed and won't be returning here.
Thanks for making us feel welcome George and family but please sort the bar situation before you get put out of business, it's obvious something isn't right, this hotel had gone from being rated no 4 to no 7 now in just a few months.....

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SuellenWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Well i respect all the reviews negative or not... hotel was great... which is run by one family... the bar on the other hand is run by bob and his family... his wife daughter and volunteer are great happy to meet people. BOB on the other hand well... u either lover him as many do or just cant stand the guy as i could not. He is too familiar and he seems to be your holiday. You will come home not with I've been to Cyprus but I've been to see bob... trust me it isn't a holiday memory u want to treasure... as for the BBQ night... u may go the 1st week but most don't make it for the second... unless it rocks you lol... it is tacky and bob does like his own voice... they do start cooking BBQ meet very early and happy hour is not that happy... he will tell you many times on the mic happy after next song... hour later still not getting it... and it 10% cheaper so not that cheerful really... the strip is lovely can get breakfast for 5eur evening meals are from 7 to 15eur pint is around 3eur so all priced very well... we found the hotel was much more expensive and food amount was not great... hotel i ordered tuna baguette with salad... cost 5eur... gods honest truth no underestimate the tuna was less than a desert spoon full also was not on a baguette it came on a pita bread... that was on the 3rd night... did not eat there again better quality and better price on the strip or turn right out the hotel 1st left and down to sea front that way it is lovely down there... hotel great for price what do u expect... bob... get new job... u don't go his famous BBQ night u'll be enemy number one cold shoulder no smiles not one of his clang... should be called bobs holiday lol

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Miller1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

Mandalena hotel was very friendly bob Christina and all the rest of the staff was absolutely brilliant and every Thursday there was a BBQ followed by a crazy karioke where u cud win shots and the food was cooked to perfection all a can say is u won't b disappointed in the mandalena hotel

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Garethwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.8 mi away
Debbie Xenia Hotel Apartments
0.8 mi away
Anais Bay Hotel
Anais Bay Hotel
#20 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
#24 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Livas Hotel Apartments
Livas Hotel Apartments
#37 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alva Hotel Apartments
Alva Hotel Apartments
#25 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artemis Hotel Apartments
Artemis Hotel Apartments
#45 of 66 in Protaras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalena ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalena ApartHotel

Property: Mandalena ApartHotel
Address: 303 Protaras-Cavo Greco Avenue, Protaras, Paralimni, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Protaras
#13 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#17 Family Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mandalena ApartHotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mandalena ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalena Apart Hotel Protaras
Mandalena Aparthotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing