We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic..... Clean...... Friendly...... Def not the worst”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mandalena ApartHotel
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Just back and although the apartments were very basic they were also very clean and spacious. Staff were very friendly, never failed to smile and say hello. Swimming pool was a good size and there was always plenty of room around it, the pool its self was never too busy and was quiet and private. The main strip was roughly a 10-15 min walk and supermarkets where near as was restaurants, STEEN's had the best food by far. The Mandalena is perfect fot those who aren't fussy or are just needing a bed after a heavy night out....Im sure there are better apartments in Protaras but im certain there are much worse as well.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew_Gibson_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for Mandalena ApartHotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2010

We arrived at 6am not knowing what to expect as we had booked a holiday in Cyprus allocated on arrival.The Olympic Rep informed us that we were staying at the Mandalena Apart hotel .When we arrived there we were greated by Georgio (what a lovely man).He dealt with our check in promptly as we were all tired, and gave us two sets of keys.Myself and my husband had an appartment for ourselves and my two girls had their own appartment next door.This place was great value for money...... The rooms were very spacious and had air conditioning if you wanted to pay a little extra.They were spotless clean and the cleaners came every day to clean , change the towels ,and remove the rubbish.The linen was changed every other day. What more could anyone ask for.Nikki and Maria (the two daughters of Georgio) worked in reception and were very helpful if you had any questions about the area.Their brother Costas worked in the bar and got to know everyone by name .He took time out to teach my husband Seamus backgammon !!! Thanks Costas .......The whole set up was managed excellently by this amazing family even the mother was seen to help out on occasions.The Hotel wasnt far from the main strip and you could go to the restaurants nearby .We found an amazing Restaurant The Anatolia.The food and service there was excellent . They were so efficient it was unreal .They had up to 150 people eating at a time and managed to do it without a blip. We had a fantastic holiday and are hoping to go back .Thanks again to all in the Mandalena Aparthotel for making our stay so enjoyabe..................


From The Cullen family
Seamus and Margaret
Heather and Anna
xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaretwicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We just got back from a week at the Mandalena. We booked it online and were not sure what to expect. It was very clean and our room was cleaned most days. The rooms are big and have balconies. The pool is a good size and clean and there is a bar that serves food and drinks all day. There are magazines and books that you can borrow too, which I thought was good. Staff are very friendly. I would say book the air conditioning, as it was very hot there, and would be impossible to sleep at night without it! We paid 18 euros for the week, so worth it!! The hotel is quite dated, and is not that modern, but is good value for money.

It is close to the main strip - about 10 mins walk. However, that walk can be hard going in the heat!! There are loads of excellent bars and restaurants and shops on the main strip. Our favourite bar was the Red Indian, which do the best cocktails for 2 euros and massive meals. Everywhere does set menus, for about 10 euros per person and that is a 3 course meal. The Square bar is also very good - all drinks are again about 2 euros. There are also quite a few acts that you can watch, Elvis and Michael Jackson impersonators etc. Although, don't go to the Square bar 2 nights in a row because the entertainment act is exactly the same every night!! A man who is a dj goes on about this amazing Elvis act you are going to see, and it turns out its him!

The beach at Fig Tree bay was fantastic. Sandy with clear blue water. We loved it down there, and there are plenty of places to eat and drink right on the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneSed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday to Mandalena and we had such a lovely time.

LOCATION
When we arrived, we was not sure what to expect as it felt like we were far from the strip, however on our first night we ventured to the strip and was pleasantly surprised that the top of the strip was only 10 minutes away. There were plenty of supermarket's or kiosks close by, and lots of lovely bars and restaurants central to protaras. I would reccomend Bell's Bar, Greenery and Spinx, who all do lovely cocktails at a bargain price on 2 or 3 euros during happy hour. For food I would reccomend the Red Indian, Anatolia which is always very busy and Hippo Campus.
The hotel is too just a short walk from the beach.

HOTEL
The hotel is small and fairly quiet even during peak season, but has a lovely atmosphere.

STAFF
Check in was very quick, and staff will do their upmost to help you. The admin girls, Nikki and Maira are so friendly and lovely, George is amazing and bent over backwards during our stay to help us and other guests who had some difficulties. He was like a protective father to some of the younger guests staying at the hotel. He would happily cook us food at 3:00am when we got hungry, and would open the bar at that time even though everyone else had gone to bed.
The bar staff Andreos and Kostos were very friendly. Andreos is especially funny. The hotel is family run and are a lovely family.

ROOMS
The hotel is very clean, and rooms are spacious. The staff will do their best to get you anything that you dont have in your room that you need. Air Con is available but is currently charging at 3 euros a night. Maids attend on most days, and are too very kind and helpful. We had a pool view room on the first floor and was in a studio.

POOL
The swimming pool is small, but spacious enough, and there are plenty of sun beds for everyone. The pool area was usually quiet as there was few children there, but those who were were not a problem.

FOOD
The hotel serves breakfast which is good value for money, and also does simple bar food such as pizzas, hot dogs, chips, burgers etc.

OVERALL
We paid more than mosts guests at the hotel. We paid £400 each for 2 weeks self catering. I do however feel that it was good value for money. We had such a lovely holiday. Protaras is a lovely place to visit with a lot to do. This is a really lovely hotel run by a lovely family

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sianc91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

we booked last minute, so it was quite cheap, but we were pleasantly surprised at the size of our room. Basic but clean. Arrived 5a.m. and georgio, the father of Niki, Maria and Costas, (who run the whole hotel) was so friendly, polite and helpful. Nothing was too much for this family, who even offered to drive us to larnaca market as we missed the bus. I would recommend anyone to go to this apart-hotel, may not be 5 star in looks but the service of those running it was 10 star. Thanks costas, nikki, maria and georgio. x x love from the Yates' 7.7.2010 - 14.7.2010

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juanitayatez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

me and my friend booked a late deal to cyprus,which was allocated on arrival and ended up in the mandalena hotel protaras.when we got there we didnt know what to expect,but fair play it was really nice.check in was quick,are room was very spacious,not much of a kitchen but then who cares when you have so many restaurants on the strip.the pool was very clean,not huge but big enough and quiet enough.the hotel is run by a family who are just lovely.it is a short walk to the strip.it would take us about 8mins to get there but u had shops and the odd restaurants on the way.the strip can be quite busy but the bars are brill.its not rowdy which is a good thing.most drinks are 2euros's which i wasnt expecting cus of the euro rate at the moment.cocktails on happy hour were 3euro's.there was ampfull there for us and we are aged 23-27.but there are loads for all ages.so i would definatly go back :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisewilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShazCoAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.4 mi away
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
#29 of 65 in Protaras
140 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amore Hotel Apartments
Amore Hotel Apartments
#49 of 65 in Protaras
60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seagull Apartments
Seagull Apartments
#47 of 65 in Protaras
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Livas Hotel Apartments
Livas Hotel Apartments
#40 of 65 in Protaras
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artemis Hotel Apartments
Artemis Hotel Apartments
#50 of 65 in Protaras
347 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alva Hotel Apartments
Alva Hotel Apartments
#22 of 65 in Protaras
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalena ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalena ApartHotel

Address: 303 Protaras-Cavo Greco Avenue, Protaras, Paralimni, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Protaras
#13 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#17 Family Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: £22 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mandalena ApartHotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mandalena ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalena Apart Hotel Protaras
Mandalena Aparthotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing