We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Toxotis Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Protaras
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Toxotis Apartments
Ranked #58 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Reviewed 7 October 2008

just got back from this hotel after 2 weeks there it was brill lovely food friendly staff and very clean no faults at all went with my partner and will be going back next year as this was our 3rd time back but stayed in protaras the other times pernera lot more quiet but plenty to do all restaurants were good and the location of hotel was just right .!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank cazza394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2008

Stayed in this hotel for 1 week, 16 July - 21 July. Apartments - clean, food was not too bad, pool clean and lots of sunbeds. It was the week after the school holidays had finished so there were no kids around. We were on the second floor directly above the entrance so we had an absolutely huge balcony (Room 204).

Location - This is just outside of Protaras center and is known as Pernera. A fair half hour walk into the center of Protaras depending on the speed you walk and whether or not you window shop on the way. Taxi into the center was 8 euro through the day and 9 euro at night. A right rip off for the distance, but unfortunately ther is not much around the Pernera part of Protaras to keep you there. Windmills was ok but you don't want to spend all of your holiday in one place.

Car hire - We used Thisvi (second time we have used them). Heather is great and will do all she can to help. We had a brand new Lancer for 5 days and it cost us 150 euros.

Northern Cyprus - I really recommend that you have yourself a day trip over to the other side of Cyprus. It's beautiful and unspoiled. You will hear alot of "Turkish occupied Cyprus". This really irritates me as there is a lot of history about this separation and the reasons why this happened and disagreements work 2 ways. It's best to hear both sides of the story before you make a judgement. Greeks [--] about the Turks but the Turks just simply get on with it. They are all nice people. (Anyway that's another story)

We were in Protaras center (kapetanios Bay) in July and I would recommend this area of Protaras to stay in as it is better nightlife and better location for everything.

Would I go back to Protaras? Definitely. Would I go back to the Pernera area? No.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainerory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2008

Me and hubby just came back from here and we loved it . we done a latebooking and paid £181 each self catering for a week each .

the flight was delayed going out half hour and coming back 4 hours but thats luck of the draw we were just unfortuante !

the apartments were great clean and spacious didnt have a pool veiw but who care wedidnt look our balcony 24 7 !!
the pool was spotless the sunbeds were clean and the floors in the lobby were always gleeming !

everyone was very happy to help food was ok in hotel eat there of a dinner time for snacks and was all fine went out for evening meals

go to waterloo pub out the hotel turn left then right and if you eat there make sure you ask for some garlic mayo its lush ! also ask for a [--] cocktail there lush !
make sure you see the comedian in there hes well funny oh and if you like italian make sure you get it here and not across the road in the proper italian restaurant as there owned by the smae people but your paying half the price ssssssh !!

go to kokos or kikis ?? cant remember out the hotel turn left then left again on the left hand side half was up and try there home made burgers !! heaven !

windmills have entertainment every night make sure you see robbie and cher there pretty good but kylie not so good but each to there own !! and fish behind the bar knows how to make great cocktails we triedmost of them for free and when the dj shouts noisey tables screem and bang as loud as you can and if you win you will get a fish bowl !!

didnt really do mush else like boat trips as we just chilled for the week but we had a fab time would go back again to the same hotel and at the end of the day its your holiday and its what you make it !! have a great time xx

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 123chelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2008

These are basic apartments, They are very clean as is the whole site. There is an excellent pool area with plenty of sun beds, again this area is spotlessly clean. Food in the restaurant was very good as was the service from the bar and restaurant staff.
The location is superb with good restaurants nearby. There is also a good local beach.
I would totally recommend the Toxotis one of the best self catering holidays we have ever had.
We will definetly return.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank uptheclarets2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2008

We had a great 2 weeks at the toxotis in may 08 very nice room overlooking the pool. Very quiet location very big pool area plenty off sunbeds. We ate at the pheniex just past the knights bar. the food was the best in protaras . if you go make sure you try the full english , try the fried bread . There are great beaches and lovely walks on the beach.It is very expensive now due to the euro.but dont let that put you off. We will be going back .

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2008

We booked to go to these particular apartments because of the reviews we had previously read. We were after a cheap last minute break where we could relax and enjoy the surroundings and considering we booked on the saturday morning and flew out of the sunday this is pretty much what we received. One thing to note is if you are after a booking for this time of year - after speaking to another couple while there if you book through Libra holidays (and at present this is a Libra only hotel - unless you book directly) in the months of may and sept/oct you can book one week and get another one free! - always worth remembering! We paid £308 for the pair of us and after speaking to others while their it transpires that they paid that each - this could be classed as a bit expensive for one week - even with the fantastic weather.


The hotel staff are really friendly and extremely helpful no matter what time day or night. It is a 24 hour manned reception and they do ask you to leave yuor keys with them when you go out as they are very expensive to replace and you will be asked to pay for them - without them you can't work the lights in your room! The rooms themselves are basic but very very clean - the cleaners come around daily to clean, replace towels etc and the communal areas are always spotless. The rooms are all exactly as the pictures appear on this website (that other have included) whether you are looking at a studio or an apartment. The only difference is the wall between the living area and the bedroom - the actual size is exactly the same. While we were there we had friends come to visit for a f ew days with their four year old and while we had an apartment they had a studio which actually felt more spacious - even with an extra bed! One thing to note about the beds - they are all single- just pushed together to make a double!

The pool area is also very clean and they are always checking to make sure that the water is as it should be. If you don't fancy moving from this area during the day the food at the restaurant is highly receommended - especially the Jacket pots and the all day breakfasts. You can also get meals here in the evening and while we did not eat there we were often down at the bar and the food did look lovely - people did recommend the curry to my husband especially if you like it spicy! The bar is always a good meeting place and is where you will find many people during the hours of 7 - 8:30pm - as this is happy hour - my husband can recommend the Long Island Iced Teas and I know that there are several people out there who would strongly suggest that you try a viagra or two. Personally I liked the Perfect Love cocktail as it wasn't too sweet! All cocktails at this time of day are 2 euros - along with pints and local spirits - however be warned if you are not a drinker this is a place to avoid when George and Anthlea decide everyone should have another drink - as it then becomes shots time and this includes a very strong 70% shot of absynith known as cannbis - and it is strong!

A couple of things to be aware of - in the months of may and oct the wind does pick up around 3pm and is then in for the evening so therefore pack a jumper for the evenings or you will be cold.

Something else to note is that there is currently a lot of building work taking place in the local area and although this is advertised as Protaras it is actually a twenty min walk down this road - the apartments are based in a place called Parlimini - It will cost you about 10 euros in a cab to Protaras. It quite a nice walk along the beach with a couple of hidden cafes along the way or if you walk along the main street again there are plenty of places to stop off. If you do walk along the main road - one place that is a must is Woody's bar run by an english family who have all the locals visiting them - especially on a tuesday evening as it is bingo time with the opportunity to win 200 euros a time.

Near the apartments you do have several places to eat in the evenings but perhaps the most popular of all is Knights Pub - the food there is fantastic and well worth a look in - portion sizes are not for the faint hearted. You also have Spectrum next door that offers buy one get one free on all local spirits between 8 - 12. Windmills across the road always has entertainment in the evenings and while Elvis and Robbie Williams are worth a look stay away from Girls aloud unless you want a head ache.

Overall this was a great week away and well worth a visit - however the building work on both sides of the apartment block make this quite a noisy area at the moment and if you are someone that wants peace and quiet when sunbathing i would either head to the beach (where you have to pay for all sunlounges) or one of the other hotels - Anastasia on the beach front is open to non-residents and always has plenty of sunbeds!

The building work runs from monday to friday and is only a digger - so it does not spoil the views and if you have an ipod lying by the pool really would be fine. There are always plenty of families around the pool area and is therefore a great mixing place for youngsters.

We would recommend this holiday to young families, couples wanting to relax away from the hassle of a big resort or retired couples.

Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ptguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2008

Well where do I start.....I booked this hotel having read reviews on this site and also noting it was number 2 in Protaras.

Needless to say I was excited at the thought of stopping at this hotel.

We arrived about 9pm on the sunday and found the hotel in the middle of a building site, JCBs and diggers, skips etc left all round from the days graft.

We got the keys to our bedroom which was fine except the water was orange coming out of the taps for 24 hours. we did not require a/c however if we did it costs 10 euro per day (2 units).

So the morning came, no need for an alarm clock!!! we were woke up by the sound of the digging and banging at the building site - no bother tho, at least we were up!!!

So we headed to the pool, well if you like the music being drowned out by the digging and banging thats fine, oh I forgot to say the occasional wave of dust and mess across the pool area when there is a gust of wind is not the best!!!

Never mind, we got ready and headed out on the night time to the local bars in pernera!! wow if you think the west end of London is expensive, think again. 4 euros per drink is standard at the local bars.

However, i recommend that you walk (not taxi as its 8 euro for a 1.5 mile drive) into protaras. There you will find bars where they have happy hours at reasonable prices. for example the greenery for good quality cocktails!!

Also, very very good restaurants, for example Antaolia on the main road, Georgias on the strip and Cheers for breakfast lunch.

Overall, very nice holiday but Toxotis is not up there with the best!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank grafter999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.2 mi away
Seagull Apartments
Seagull Apartments
#45 of 65 in Protaras
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jacaranda Hotel Apts
Jacaranda Hotel Apts
#46 of 65 in Protaras
123 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vangelis ApartHotel
Vangelis ApartHotel
#53 of 65 in Protaras
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anastasia Beach Hotel
Anastasia Beach Hotel
#37 of 65 in Protaras
1,489 reviews
1.6 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Livas Hotel Apartments
Livas Hotel Apartments
#23 of 65 in Protaras
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toxotis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toxotis Apartments

Address: Pernera area, Protaras, Paralimni, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities: 24 hour reception, Self service laundry, TV/games room, Restaurant, Pool bar serving snacks, Weekly barbecue and karaoke, Outdoor swimming pool, Children's pool and playground, Pool table, Table tennis, Tennis court (Payable Locally), Volleyball court, Gymnasium, Sauna (Payable Locally). Accommodation: 55 Apartments, Studios with twin beds, bathroom, air-conditioning*, kitchenette & balcony, Studios sleep 2/3 persons. Apartments with one bedroom, bathroom, air-conditioning*, separate kitchen and balcony. One bedroom apartments sleep 2/4 persons. Extra beds are sofa or camp bed style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Toxotis Apartments Protaras
Toxotis Apartments Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing