We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SunConnect Protaras Beach - Rising Star Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Flokkas Hotel Apts.(Protaras)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mandalena ApartHotel(Protaras)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Livas Hotel Apartments(Protaras)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kapetanios Bay Hotel(Protaras)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Astreas Beach Hotel Apartments(Protaras)(Great Value!)
US$351
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capo Bay Hotel(Protaras)
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Antigoni Hotel(Protaras)
US$197
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
151
109
46
17
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
109
46
17
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main strippool areasea viewbuilding workshort strollbad pointsbars and restaurantshalf boardvingcyprusholidaysunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We have just returned from the Rising Star & needed to share our experiance with you.

We have been to Cyprus many times and usually stay in one of the largest popular hotel group on the island. This hotel in our opinion was the best we have stayed in.

From the moment we arrived we were greeted with warmth & friendly service - we had booked a high floor room with seaview & we were not disappointed again best view by far you can get. The room was lovely & clean very spacious, great with it being an apartment although we were H/B the fridge keep our drinking water well chilled.

It was great every morning did not have to set my clock to get a sunbed, there are plenty to go round but with this hotel exclusive to the UK Thomas Cook group so no competion to rush for a bed. Breakfast is not served till 8.30am & again never a people rush - there was a small selection of food, but for us plenty to eat with real sausages & yes selection was the same everyday but thats breakfast!! Evening meal was served at 7pm apart from BBQ & carvery night when it was 7.30pm. All these meals were excellent with a good variety from salad bar, main meal - only comment was could of been more of a selection on the sweets.

All the waiters & bar staff were great & very customer friendly & they soon got to know who you were & what you liked to drink. Local beer at hotel was only 2 euros & happy hr was from 6.30-midnight when all cocktails were 3 euros.

Well now the entertainment - what can one say but hilarious from Andy & James. Once you hear them play the song" Good moring to you" from Singing in the Rain you know they have arrived for another fun packed day around the pool for all ages. Although we did not do some games it was great just watching them pair bouce off one another to keep the holiday makers entertained. One day when we had just returned from a dip in the sea to find them pair doing YMCA with everyone from in & around the pool with Andy dressed as the cowboy & James as the builder doing all the dance actions on top of the bridge across the pool, it was so funny but all young & old were doing the actions. If thats not enough they are back for the night entertainment too apart from Sundays on their well deserved day off -- hope you guys are back again in 2011 as you make this hotel extra special as we never know what you have up your sleeves for your guests.

The hotel has a great location right on the beach front & just far enough away from the main strip of Protaras shops bars etc so lovely & quiet at night once hotel entertainment has finished for a good night sleep.

Like any hotel some guests you can please & others you can't for what ever reason. All I can say is you will not be disappointed with the Rising Star, we weren't & will deffo return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewcastleLush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

First visit to Rising Star, went on all inclusive which was also a first for us. The breakfast was ok but same everyday, a litle more variety as far as fruit, meat & cheese would have been appriciated, and an alternative to orange juice. The lunch time was great where you picked from the menu, loads of choice and was all freshly cooked. The evening buffet was not up to much, food is spoilt when it is kept warm in bain marie buffet servers. I think a lot of the people on all inclusive had a decent meal at luch time, then just snacked at night time. All the restuarant and bar staff were really friendly and helpful as was the day and night receptionists. The downside to all inclusive for us was that you tend to stay around the hotel most of the time and don't get out and about to explore the same, although we did do a boat trip on Captain Pannikins (think that was how you spelt it) which we really enjoyed, although rather pecarious getting on and off the boat on the wibbly wobbly jetty. The room was lovely and spacious with all the facilities for self catering (better than most places we have been self catering) We have never had a toaster and oven before). I think if we go back it will be either self catering or bed and breakfast. The room was serviced five out of seven days when the towels were changed weach time, rubbish was emtied all seven days and sheets changed three times in the week wse were there. It tended to get rather hot round the pool as it was very shelterd so we wandered down to the beach were there was loads of sunbeds available at 7.5 Euoros for 2 loungers and a parasol. Mete plenty of nice people to chat to . Well done Andy, James, Ros & Lynsey for your Caberet.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wadeypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

weve been back a week now and wish we were still there! we had a 1 bed apartment overlooking the pool, for 2 adults, a toddler and a baby on all inclusive. we had plenty of space and were able to pick and choose food easily as it was all delicious.
food - breakfast and tea were buffets and at dinnertime we chose from the menu. there wasnt a huge choice, as most people are self catering, but they had 3 cereals, usual sausage, egg etc and fruit for breakfast and meat, veg, salad, soup, pasta and dessert for tea, which were fine for all of us, including our 6 month old. dinner was our favourite meal, as you chose from the menu which had plenty of choice and large portions!
the pool area was excellent. very clean, plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas all day and shade if you wanted it. the entertainment was great - we didnt join in, but enjoyed watching!
staff - everyone was fantastic, couldnt fault them. the night receptionist (man with glasses) was lovely when we arrived after midnight, not miserable. sergei in the main bar was great, waiting for our daughters milk order every night! pool bar and restraunt staff also fantastic, with a high chair always at the ready and remembering my daughter had apple juice every morning!
the location is fantastic - a lovely beach 5 mins away (toddler pace!) with shallow waters. lots of sunbeds to hire for 7.50 a pair with umbrella, or space on the beach if you prefer. 10 min walk uphill and youre on the main strip of shops, restraunts and bars.
overall we had a brilliant time and would definitely stay there again. our only slight negative is that the night entertainment is loud and keeps going til midnight. not really a problem unless youre trying to get a 2 year old to sleep!
if youve booked this hotel - enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Just returned from another amzing visit to the best apartments in Protaras.

This is the third year we have stayed here and once again we could not fault them.

All staff were very welcoming as usual, including the night receptionist who we often spoke to (we had a common interest the cats around the hotel). He is very friendly if you take the time to speak to him.

The entertainment team were fantastic and really made our holiday. Andy & James thank you for keeping us amused. Your cabaret was fantastic. Hope you get your placement back at this hotel next year.

Lots of lovely food with our favourites being Yianne Marie who's staff were as welcoming as ever especially Leo who is a lovely man. Astoria is our second favourite with great food and staff who can't do enough to welcome you.

We went on the Red Bus Village Tour for the second time. Once again it was a good day out and very informative. I would highly recommend this trip.

Very sad to be home again as I would have gladly stayed longer. Already priced for next year.

Can't come quick enough.
Donna

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmacphee555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Another lovely stay at the Rising Star, hotel spotless, staff lovely including Costas the night receptionist who seems to get a bad mention. If anyone took the time to get to know him instead of slating him you would find this out. If any of you blokes like a bet on the football go speak to him, he will supply you with all coupons, leagues and any tips he may have.
Loads to do of a night time,must visits are the Brewery for food and cocktails. Also for a good drink go see Adonis at Karacus (spelling) opposite the Sphinx. Other good restaurants - Anatolia, Hippocampus, Red Indian, Mr Cod, Mexican in Eden Sq and Nissiotis.
Work improvements are being made along the beach but no bother at all, workmen are friendly and even though the new Jetty was sealed off they still let us in to fish off it.
Like most have said about the Entertainers around the pool, they are very good, keep the day ticking and make it a good laugh.
Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bez3789STHelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews