We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Good fun for a group of girls”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Protaras
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
SunConnect Protaras Beach - Rising Star Hotel
Ranked #44 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Reviewed 25 October 2010

I stayed with two friends, all in our early thirties in a one-room apartment and we had a great time here. Our balcony overlooked fig tree bay, the main beach in Protaras.

The room was nice, although possibly a bit crammed if we'd had four people. The free air con in our room was absolutely essential as it was around 36 degrees and we were really hot without it. There's a kitchenette, fridge, hob, toaster and kettle - everything you need for a week or so.

The pool is quite nice and we spent a few days lazing by it/in it. The only downside is the entertainment - if you fancy having a lie in you'll be woken by the Thomas Cook entertainers running quizzes, bingo, pool aerobics etc every day, and then live music/entertainers until really late at night - gone midnight. It does get a bit annoying after a while, especially as it's the same every day.

The staff were really nice and friendly. It's a few minutes' walk to a nearby supermarket, turn left and you can walk along the seafront to some nice bars or turn right and it's just a few minutes' walk to the main strip.

We liked being here rather than Ayia Napa as it's not so full on. It's lively enough at night for food and drinks and there's one club - Boogies - which is ok. We got a taxi to Ayia Napa for a banging night out! You can also get a bus from the main strip to Ayia Napa and a few other towns, a day ticket is only 2 euros - bargain!

Top tip: there's a tourist information centre on the main strip too so go there at the start of your hold for a map and bus timetable.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2010

My girlfiend and I spent 10th to 17th October 2010 at this location and would not go back to these self catering apartments.

We were allocated room 133 on arrival and protested that we had requested and confirmed via email and fax for a 3rd /4th floor apartment. The receptionist was very rude and un-helpful saying that they did not receive any request on our behalf.

The floors in the apartment were not moped by the cleaners, all they did was empty the bins and make the beds.

Back to another member of staff on reception and requested the room be moped as the tiles were dirty. Not done on our return that evening and when I asked for a mop to be supplied to me as I was prepared to mop the floor, she said she could not help.

My personal opinion is they just stick the Irish into the crap rooms as we had a poor sea view with our view obstructed.

Dave the English rep from Tomson Holidays said he would request an apartment when people moved out on the Wednesday, this never happened either.

That said I could not fault the location as it was beside the beech, we did not give any business to the Hotel bar and did not give the hotel any further business.

We loved Cyprus and did 2 coach tours, one to Paphos and one to Nicosia and Troodos Mountain region.

The entertainment team was very tacky and reminded me of a Butlins holiday camp but the English appear to like that kind of thing.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dublinguy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

friendly staff,restuarant excellent, nothings too much trouble.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

my girlfriend and i spent a week all inclusive at the rising star, a brilliant hotel, excellant location and the service of the staff was always very good, but the room we got allocated was nice but the noise from the fans and kitchen was unbearable (room number 112) we spoke to a few people who stayed on the first floor and there said the same, it must be a first floor thing because other guests said they was no noise. We met dave the rep(thomas cook) and asked for a room change he said he'd ask the manager but never came back too us, so if you need any help from your rep sorry but dave isnt going to help. the free drinks end at 11 but the entertainment didnt start until 10 so you end up forking quite a bit of money to stay and watch. Other then that everything was perfect nice food, entertaiment was good for everybody. highly recommend but avoid the first flloor.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We have just returned from the Rising Star & needed to share our experiance with you.

We have been to Cyprus many times and usually stay in one of the largest popular hotel group on the island. This hotel in our opinion was the best we have stayed in.

From the moment we arrived we were greeted with warmth & friendly service - we had booked a high floor room with seaview & we were not disappointed again best view by far you can get. The room was lovely & clean very spacious, great with it being an apartment although we were H/B the fridge keep our drinking water well chilled.

It was great every morning did not have to set my clock to get a sunbed, there are plenty to go round but with this hotel exclusive to the UK Thomas Cook group so no competion to rush for a bed. Breakfast is not served till 8.30am & again never a people rush - there was a small selection of food, but for us plenty to eat with real sausages & yes selection was the same everyday but thats breakfast!! Evening meal was served at 7pm apart from BBQ & carvery night when it was 7.30pm. All these meals were excellent with a good variety from salad bar, main meal - only comment was could of been more of a selection on the sweets.

All the waiters & bar staff were great & very customer friendly & they soon got to know who you were & what you liked to drink. Local beer at hotel was only 2 euros & happy hr was from 6.30-midnight when all cocktails were 3 euros.

Well now the entertainment - what can one say but hilarious from Andy & James. Once you hear them play the song" Good moring to you" from Singing in the Rain you know they have arrived for another fun packed day around the pool for all ages. Although we did not do some games it was great just watching them pair bouce off one another to keep the holiday makers entertained. One day when we had just returned from a dip in the sea to find them pair doing YMCA with everyone from in & around the pool with Andy dressed as the cowboy & James as the builder doing all the dance actions on top of the bridge across the pool, it was so funny but all young & old were doing the actions. If thats not enough they are back for the night entertainment too apart from Sundays on their well deserved day off -- hope you guys are back again in 2011 as you make this hotel extra special as we never know what you have up your sleeves for your guests.

The hotel has a great location right on the beach front & just far enough away from the main strip of Protaras shops bars etc so lovely & quiet at night once hotel entertainment has finished for a good night sleep.

Like any hotel some guests you can please & others you can't for what ever reason. All I can say is you will not be disappointed with the Rising Star, we weren't & will deffo return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewcastleLush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

First visit to Rising Star, went on all inclusive which was also a first for us. The breakfast was ok but same everyday, a litle more variety as far as fruit, meat & cheese would have been appriciated, and an alternative to orange juice. The lunch time was great where you picked from the menu, loads of choice and was all freshly cooked. The evening buffet was not up to much, food is spoilt when it is kept warm in bain marie buffet servers. I think a lot of the people on all inclusive had a decent meal at luch time, then just snacked at night time. All the restuarant and bar staff were really friendly and helpful as was the day and night receptionists. The downside to all inclusive for us was that you tend to stay around the hotel most of the time and don't get out and about to explore the same, although we did do a boat trip on Captain Pannikins (think that was how you spelt it) which we really enjoyed, although rather pecarious getting on and off the boat on the wibbly wobbly jetty. The room was lovely and spacious with all the facilities for self catering (better than most places we have been self catering) We have never had a toaster and oven before). I think if we go back it will be either self catering or bed and breakfast. The room was serviced five out of seven days when the towels were changed weach time, rubbish was emtied all seven days and sheets changed three times in the week wse were there. It tended to get rather hot round the pool as it was very shelterd so we wandered down to the beach were there was loads of sunbeds available at 7.5 Euoros for 2 loungers and a parasol. Mete plenty of nice people to chat to . Well done Andy, James, Ros & Lynsey for your Caberet.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wadeypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

weve been back a week now and wish we were still there! we had a 1 bed apartment overlooking the pool, for 2 adults, a toddler and a baby on all inclusive. we had plenty of space and were able to pick and choose food easily as it was all delicious.
food - breakfast and tea were buffets and at dinnertime we chose from the menu. there wasnt a huge choice, as most people are self catering, but they had 3 cereals, usual sausage, egg etc and fruit for breakfast and meat, veg, salad, soup, pasta and dessert for tea, which were fine for all of us, including our 6 month old. dinner was our favourite meal, as you chose from the menu which had plenty of choice and large portions!
the pool area was excellent. very clean, plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas all day and shade if you wanted it. the entertainment was great - we didnt join in, but enjoyed watching!
staff - everyone was fantastic, couldnt fault them. the night receptionist (man with glasses) was lovely when we arrived after midnight, not miserable. sergei in the main bar was great, waiting for our daughters milk order every night! pool bar and restraunt staff also fantastic, with a high chair always at the ready and remembering my daughter had apple juice every morning!
the location is fantastic - a lovely beach 5 mins away (toddler pace!) with shallow waters. lots of sunbeds to hire for 7.50 a pair with umbrella, or space on the beach if you prefer. 10 min walk uphill and youre on the main strip of shops, restraunts and bars.
overall we had a brilliant time and would definitely stay there again. our only slight negative is that the night entertainment is loud and keeps going til midnight. not really a problem unless youre trying to get a 2 year old to sleep!
if youve booked this hotel - enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.0 mi away
Evalena Beach Hotel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Mandali Hotel
Mandali Hotel
#37 of 65 in Protaras
105 reviews
0.8 mi away
smartline Lantiana Gardens
smartline Lantiana Gardens
#35 of 65 in Protaras
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#5 of 65 in Protaras
1,992 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vrissaki Beach Hotel
Vrissaki Beach Hotel
#16 of 65 in Protaras
495 reviews
0.8 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunConnect Protaras Beach - Rising Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunConnect Protaras Beach - Rising Star Hotel

Address: 6 Feidipidou Street, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Protaras
#19 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SunConnect Protaras Beach - Rising Star is situated directly at the sandy Flamingo Beach of Protaras, which invites the whole family for a swim. Most of the facilities are shared between the two sister hotels SunConnect Rising Star & Golden Star. The whole complex disposes of 215 family-friendly rooms with one or two bedrooms. All facilities can be used by guests of both properties (Rising Star and Golden Star). The large sundeck with sun loungers and parasols and 3 pools invite you to relax. The Hotel's reception is available 24/7 and provides currency exchange. The hotel has 2 lifts. Throughout the hotel you enjoy free Wifi. Parking is available. Pool towels can be rented against a charge and deposit. In our Sunny Skies Restaurant a rich variety of foods is served buffet-style for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Yianna Marie a la Carte restaurant, which is located between the two buildings Rising Star and Golden Star, offers international and cypriotic dishes, fresh fish and shell fish between 11:00 and 22:30. You have the possibility to choose between half board (breakfast and dinner) and holiday inclusive which includes breakfast, lunch, dinner (buffets) and selected drinks. The ConnectBar at the Rising Star is opened between 10:00 and 21:00. Here you can enjoy delicious drinks while recharging your mobile devices and getting in contact with other guests. Moreover, you can also enjoy a drink at our Lobby Bar at the Rising Star Hotel. There's a supermarket for basic necessities at the Golden Star Complex. If you would like to stay active during your stay with us, you can enjoy a game of football, table tennis or beach volleyball with your family or other guests. Your ConnectScout organizes numerous sports activities for the entire family, for example water polo. Besides the hotel has a tennis court and tennis rackets can be rented against a charge. There's also a fitness center for you to keep fit during your holiday (against a charge). For guests seeking relaxation and wellness, our Venus Massage Center has lots of different treatments to offer, which will for sure leave you relaxed and revitalized. Treat yourself with a back massage or enjoy a Thai Massage (against a fee). Alternatively you can relax in the sauna or steam bath (against a fee) or use the indoor swimming pool. Our kids club invites children under 7 for diverse and fun activities like different pool games or creative time. Play games, read books, watch movies and meet new friends! There's also a playground which will for sure be enjoyed by your kids! For kids from 8 years on there are also a lot of water activities like water polo, a pool race or swimming competitions. Or what about a game of football, volleyball or basketball? There's also table tennis, billiard and air hockey - so it's for sure not going to be boring!For teenagers, the ConnectTeenLounge invites to hang out with new friends or play video games. There's a mini disco on several days a week. There are life shows with music every day. The hotel offers family-friendly apartments with one or two bedrooms for up to 4 guests. Those are equipped with air conditioning in the bedroom, TV, kitchenette with cooking rings, microwave or mini oven, fridge, kettle and toaster, a bathroom with bath/shower and WC and a furnished balcony or terrace. Apartments in the Rising Star have a side sea view. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rising Star Beach Hotel
Rising Star Beach Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing