We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but fairly clean.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Protaras
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Platomare Hotel Apartments
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average but fairly clean.”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

For a two star hotel I guess it's fine. The pool area is nice enough with comfy sun loungers and the pool itself is a reasonable size.

The food menu or breakfasts it is ok but pretty much everything on their menu is frozen foods. They have some contraption for cooking in which is left in the luggage room and is filthy. I just hope I never ordered anything cooked in that!

The rooms are a decent size but our air conditioning was overhead and the noise was unbearable when trying to sleep. (Even after 10 beers!). My friend got another room with a new air con unit and it was fine. Make sure you don't get the old brown ones!!

The service at the bar was excellent but at reception I found their staff (bar the owner and the older lady) to be cold and unhelpful.

The decor is dated but again it is a low cost two star hotel so overall rating average but I'd rather pay a couple hundred quid more and stay somewhere better.

P.S. found a huge cockroach on the last day and screamed like a girl.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Acrooa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    85
    31
    14
    7
See reviews for
112
162
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was the first time we had ever returned to the same resort let alone the same apartments! Mainly due to the friendly of Pernera; and a delightful 20 minute walk along the promenade away from the lively resort of Protaras
+'s : Good pool and plenty of sunbeds; happy hour every day with cheap cocktails and beer, tennis court and table tennis so you can work off the excess food and drink; good sized apartments; superb views from most rooms; all staff very friendly; Frixos Watersports at end of road very friendly and provided good experience for kids
-'s : Rooms a bit dated; ours smelt badly of smoke due to bin full of fag ends in kitchen cupboard; air con 7 Euro's a day needed but in room A34 it is a very old machine that is not very effective and is very noisy (kids were in room A33 and that was fine); if you have extra people staying on the sofa beds in the living area then storage space is an issue as there is only the one wardrobe

Room Tip: A34 is not recommended due to the old air con unit. Anything else on the 3rd floor seems ideal thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

As usual the Platomare did not disappoint, brilliant staff who always go the extra mile to ensure our holiday was happy ,relaxing and problem free, Thea,Antonia,giannis,Catherine Polly ,Adam,Jean, what a brilliant team/Family, stayed on the top floor block B facing the sea fantastic view ,the apartment was clean ,with the ladies who cleaned the room daily leaving fresh towels and clean sheets every other day, Sean the rep what a great guy he is always available to help.Every one who I spoke to staying that week had nothing but praise for the customer service and the atmosphere with every customer feeling they were important,not like a lot of places were no one says good morning,you are a room number,always impressed by Thea who has an amazing memory for names and gives the warmest of welcomes every morning at breakfast, on top of that the fab cakes that were made fresh daily for all to try so kind,love the place and this fantastic family,if you have not been you have to go and try it for yourself.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jans186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

As we have never been to Cyprus before we where eager to taste the cypriot life for a week and we were not dissapointed at all the platomere appartments were just what we wanted its a family run buisness which are great and always there to tend your needs they cleaned the room daily and we stayed in room b31 overlooking the pool and sea and the view was superb from our room when we arrived sunday afternoon and greeted by our rep sean young who was pleasent , funny and helpful we had such great time we will be coming back an to the same place in the near future protaras is a great family holiday destination and i would reccomend it great beaches great shopping great activities me and my daughter went paragliding and we took a boat trip upto cape greko with its own lagoon were everyone could go swimming in beautiful clear water . We ate out at restraunt which were reasonably priced and the food was great and at night there was more than enough entertainment going on to suit everyones taste the days were very hot so a minimum sun cream would be 30 factor for the first few days would be reccomended at night we did'nt encouter any mozzys all in all for a one week stay it was fun packed but like anywere you make your own enjoyment

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Having stayed in Pernera 6 times previously, we were disappointed that our usual accommodation was unavailable but we were not disappointed with the Platomare. We were so fortunate to have room B36, brill view of the sea from a huge balcony. The room was clean, comfortable and we had everything we needed. The staff were lovely, especially Jean. The location is excellent, being only a few minutes walk to the centre of Pernera, or the beaches and (in the other direction) to Protaras.. We ate out every night , nothing against the Platomare but over the years we have found some excellent eateries and like to revisit. The best is The Steak and Ale (A Taste of Cyprus), great food, loads of choice, charming staff and cheap but very palatable wine! A close second is the Noufaro, just opposite. I do not know why people just walk by, go in, you won't be disappointed. Looking forward to our next trip to Cyprus and will have no hesitation in booking a room at the Platomare. Thank folks, we loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flammbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

As a Canadian living abroad I've experienced my share of hotel stays all over the world for business and pleasure from economical to luxurious. However, never have I wanted to contribute or share my experience with other travelers until now. A week at the Platomare with my husband was not enough. From the moment we arrived we felt such a warm welcome from both staff and other guests - Jean and Marie lit up the place with their smiles and laughter, they always made sure you were happy with your stay each time you saw them. We soon found many folks had returned year-after-year and one couple that were on their second trip that season. I'm so particular and ruthless when it comes to hygiene and we found the hotel VERY clean, in the rooms, the common areas and the pool was sparkling. The menu had something for everyone and breakfasts were particularly amazing - sitting at a table poolside with the ocean view...doesn't get much better. The staff both front of house and behind gave the hotel a real personality of its own - not a sterile resort where you're one in a thousand. At the Platomare you're part of the family! No better value for money, everything you need close at hand. See you next year...

Room Tip: Visit the Shack for dinner and you MUST take the Shirley Valentine cruise only a few minutes walk on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Having read other reviews ,I would agree that the rooms are a little basic but they are very clean.the atmosphere is very relaxed and it is a quiet hotel. About 15 mins walk into Protaras along the boardwalk is a lovely way to start the evening.
The hotel staff are friendly and very helpful.the food at the bar is cooked to a good standard and very reasonable priced.the rooms are cleaned every day although they knock your door around 9 am so not much chance of a lie in!!
A great place to go if you want to relax without a lot of noise but within easy reach of more livelier surroundings if you want.

Room Tip: We were in B34 which over.looked the hotel pool next door so not the greatest view but we spent so l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeeStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Infinity Blu
Hotel Infinity Blu
#32 of 66 in Protaras
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Livas Hotel Apartments
Livas Hotel Apartments
#37 of 66 in Protaras
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Papantonia Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mandali Hotel Apartments
Mandali Hotel Apartments
#51 of 66 in Protaras
59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anais Bay Hotel
Anais Bay Hotel
#20 of 66 in Protaras
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flouressia Gardens
Flouressia Gardens
#14 of 54 in Protaras
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platomare Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platomare Hotel Apartments

Property: Platomare Hotel Apartments
Address: Pernera Beach, Protaras, Paralimni, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Protaras
#21 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Platomare Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing