We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best place to stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Protaras
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Platomare Hotel Apartments
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Not the best place to stay”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I had previously added a review with photos but it was removed, I can only imagine that the truthfulness of my honest review wasn't acceptable.

This is not the best place, you get what you pay for. It's very old and dated and to an extend dirty, bathroom was dirty and old. Cupboards in kitchen were broken and shower hardly worked. Beds are uncomfy and no real space to unpack. It's disappointing and its not a place I would stay again. It's more of a place for the regular people who go year after year.

So on the whole no I wouldn't stay here again, there are far better looked after places around the same area. On a positive the complex next door is excellent and the pools are cleaner than the platomare pool.

Room Tip: Don't have B33 as the spotlight from complex over the road will blind you at night time, so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauly44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    85
    31
    14
    7
See reviews for
112
162
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We've just returned from a brilliant week in Cyprus, and this friendly family run hotel was located in a perfect spot to explore.
No - we've not been before so the reviews that say it's only people that have been going since the 1970s/80s that like it, are wrong. We loved it and will probably return again very soon. I agree with the reviews that say it's a little dated but the hospitality we experienced made up for it! It could do with a bit of a refurbishment but we don't go to the beautiful island of Cyprus to spend our time in a hotel room! The staff were so friendly and made us feel really welcome, Adrian (bar) and Alena (night reception) were lovely. Feya, Paula, Polly and Catherine (sisters/ sister-in-laws) plus the youngsters - George and ?? (sorry I've forgotten Feya's daughter's name), reception staff too. Sadly you don't get this sort of hospitality at the larger 'plastic' hotel chains and we've experienced a few of them. The Platomare is a 2.5 star rated hotel.
The pool area was clean and well maintained, perfect for a swim after a busy day out and about!

The only thing I would say is the cleaners should move the furniture and mop/clean into the corners!! this would make a difference.

All in all a great week in Cyprus and a lovely little place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RosieandYamYam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This was our second family holiday to Protaras and again we chose to stay in the Platomare, we decided to come back to the Platomare as the previous year the staff were very friendly and the apartments are in a perfect location. Again we were pleased with the apartments and the staff were very friendly, our room had a lovely view of the sea as we were on the second floor. However we only had one wardrobe in our apartment which was designed for 4 people, the second wardrobe was padlocked and looked as though damp had run into the wardrobe. Another problem we found was that the maids came into our block very early, maybe the blocks should be cleaned on an alternative basis so one block isn't constantly woken early. The apartments are located in Pernera which is just outside Protaras, but can be walked too. Brilliant tavernas in the area (Polyxenia, Cannes and Zafeiros) which are all well worth a visit. The staff were very friendly and we had a breakfast and snacks which you couldn't fault. Enjoyed our stay at the Platomare, but feel that the hotel needs a bit of an update for fear of being left behind to other hotels/apartments.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura_jayne312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east sussex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed here for a week from the 11th September. The location of the hotel is really very good, short walk in either direction along the boardwalk takes you either in to Pernera or Protarus. The boardwalk is lovely in the evenings.
The hotel pool, which we only used on a couple of occasions seemed very clean and well maintained, the water temperature was good as well. Hotel bar was run by a young man called Adrian who was very nice and friendly. Reception staff were also polite and helpful.
The room we stayed in A22 was of a good size for a studio, it was a corner room so we had a lovely big window along with patio doors out on to the balcony, which was an ok size. The furniture is a little dated and could do with an upgrade but it was perfectly clean.Maid service was good, but they do come early in the morning and when we asked to keep our room for an extra hour on the last day we were told the cost was 25euros for 1 hour or all day, I did find this a bit strange.
All in all we liked the hotel, but I think it would benefit from having some money spent updating it a little.
We ate out every evening and by far the beat restaurant we found was the Ifalos in Pernera, great food and excellent service. Also went on the Shirley Valentine boat trips which for 5 euros each were great value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loisEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The problem when using tripadvisor is that you tend to look at the places that have good reviews and avoid those with bad ones. However, this can result in misleading reviews on hotels caused by people who are happy to return to the same place year on year because they either have a good relationship with other returning holidaymakers or have never been anywhere else.

We got a last minute deal for the Platomare although it wasn't booked through the last minute section of the website and the price we paid was the price you would if you booked at any point of the year. It seemed too good to be true based upon the reviews we read. The Platomare is a very basic budget accommodation but I wasn't too worried as for the price we paid we thought that as long as it was a base toio sleep and wash then we couldn't really have room too complain. However...

The room was a good size for a one bedroom apartment but very, very dated. I doubt it has had any facelift whatsoever since it was originally built I guess sometime in the early 70's. The rooms did not smell good and the furniture/decor resembled how I would imagine a Butlins chalet would look today if it had never been updated.

The reception / bar area was full of old pine cladding that should have been ripped out years ago. There was supposedly a supermarket in the reception area but it looked like thic closed down a long time ago.

The bathroom was filthy. The bath had streaks that were ingrained into the colour. The shower pressure was terrible and you were lucky if it stayed hot for more than a few seconds.

The beds were creaky and mattresses lumpy making it difficult to sleep. Our room was opposite the neighbouring complex so we didnt have a view. However, we did have a spotlight shining in our room all night that was akin to something you would see on an airfield.

Aircon was 7 euros per day and whilst I appreciate that not many hotels include aircon these days, the price is at the higher end of what I would expect to pay so I didnt bother. From reading other reviews I didn't want to chance it any way. Safety deposit boxes were behind the reception in a drawer? Again, we didnt bother to use these.

We had a problem with ants in the room although not bad enough that I could be bothered too complain. This is Cyprus, not the UK and you will get these sorts of problems.

The room service was vert basic. On two occasions over the week all the maid did was come in and take our rubbish. The towels we were left were all different colours and some had been bleached. I think the linen was changed once over the course of the week.

In the living and bedroom areas there werre bolts sticking up from the floor which were a safety hazard in my opinion, especially if you had children staying in the room.

The size of the balcony depended on which room you were staying in. Some were very large but ours was tiny and you could only just about fit two chairs and a small table on it. The only positive was that it got the sun most of the day.

The pool area was grotty. It is one of the darkest pools I have seen on holiday. There was a tide mark all round the pool and I am surprised that my hair didnt fall out after using it on the first day. There were enough sun beds but the regulars all got up early and got the best ones. In some cases it seemed that the towels never moved all week and were even there through the night. I didn't see the pool get cleaned. The longers were left all over the place and lilos / balls were left in the pool. The area around the pool was a 70's style bumpy stone flooring which made it uncomfortable to walk on.

I can not comment on the food / bar service as we didn't want to chance using it.

After the first day we decided to try the Papantonia pool area next door and I must say what a difference! They had three good size pools, great food, activities all day long, music, comfy loungers etc. This made our holiday and without it we would have had a dire experience.

The Platomare is pretty close to the seafront which is a positive. The Pernera centre is only a 5 / 10 minute walk away and there are a few nice bars and restaurants although the better choice is in Protaras which is about a 20 minute stroll along the seafront.

In summary you get what you pay for at Platomare so dont complain if you have read my review, still decide to give it a try and end up disappointed. Don't be fooled by the great reviews from the people who come here year on year and probably have never experienced anywhere else. You get what you pay for although I am sure that for just a few more pounds extra you could stay somewhere infinitely better.

Would I stay here again - no unless it was for free!

Room Tip: Choose one at another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alanw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have just returned home from staying at the Platomare and would like to thank all the staff. This is our 2nd time to stay with them and again we where delighted with the hospitality. From the moment we arrived we where welcomed by the girl at reception (Adrian's girlfriend), we where allocated room A14 (Thanks Catherine), it overlooked the pool/sea view. We arrived quite late and Adrian was happy to offer to make us sandwiches/chips which went down a treat! The room was basic but clean, maids came in every day (a little early but not complaining). Plenty of sun beds and warm outdoor pool. Grounds kept well (very tidy). We had breakfast here a few mornings and it was good, staff all helpful and pleasant. We went to the BBQ on Thursday night which was very enjoyable (Food was lovely) and would like to commend George who was a very pleasant young man. The lady who owns the Platomare is very nice (sorry not sure of her name) but remembered us from our previous visit and was always very pleasant. We would recommend only fools & horses, Knights in Pernera and Anatolia for food. We visited the Greenery bar in Protaras and enjoyed. The restaurant which was our number 1 for us was Molti located on the main strip, food and service outstanding! The Platomare is in the perfect location approx 15 minutes walk from both Pernera and Protaras along the beach walk. We stopped at Zaffaros for breakfast on a few mornings & lunch a few days, overlooks the sea, again good food and pleasant staff. Went on 2 boat trips (Submarine and Coca Cola boats), both I would recommend. Weather was fabulous (bit hot at 46 degrees on one of the days but no complaints!). Overall a perfect holiday, we hope to return again in 2014! Louise & Geordie.

Room Tip: A14 room with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyou11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cyprus
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

as usual platomare did not disappoint the people there are lovely thea ,antonia,yiannis,catherine and polly all made us feel very welcome . we had a great room top floor of block b great view.rooms are clean and tidy maid service daily .the pool is great and cleaned daily will be back next year .

Room Tip: b block facing pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raver2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Infinity Blu
Hotel Infinity Blu
#32 of 66 in Protaras
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Livas Hotel Apartments
Livas Hotel Apartments
#37 of 66 in Protaras
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Papantonia Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mandali Hotel Apartments
Mandali Hotel Apartments
#51 of 66 in Protaras
59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anais Bay Hotel
Anais Bay Hotel
#20 of 66 in Protaras
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flouressia Gardens
Flouressia Gardens
#14 of 54 in Protaras
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platomare Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platomare Hotel Apartments

Property: Platomare Hotel Apartments
Address: Pernera Beach, Protaras, Paralimni, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Protaras
#21 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Platomare Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing