We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good holiday, great location.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Protaras
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Platomare Hotel Apartments
Ranked #31 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“good holiday, great location.”
Reviewed 20 October 2010

nice basic apartments, everything you need.really friendly people working there. jean, terry and catherine were great.good location only five minutes from beach. didnt have any problem from noise slept well every night.plenty of places to eat and drink in pernera, liked mojitos and the only fools and horses bar about five minutes away. had a quiz night and bingo on a monday which is a good laugh but think it should be more than once a week. have already booked for next year, there is 6 of us going as it is my mum and dads golden wedding anniversary. really enjoyed it there and would recommend it to anyone. cant wait for next september.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bookiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    94
    39
    14
    7
See reviews for
121
185
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We stayed at these apartments for one week in May. We booked through Olympic holidays. Yes the hotel is dated, but it is clean, the staff are brilliant and go out of their way to help you, and it is a great base if you want to do more than sit around the bar all day. It is 10 minutes walk either way down the beach to the main resorts where the restaurants and nightlife are. The hotel rooms are basic. Ours had twin beds, table and chairs, fridge, hobs, kettle and toaster. All you need for basic self catering. The pool area was cleaned down every evening and kept spotless throughout the day. There is a small bar at the hotel which serves good food during the day if you just want a snack such as a burger or small local dishes for your lunch. The bar has a great selection of cocktails on offer at happy hour too! The hotel was in a very good position for exploring during the day and there was a small supermarket at the end of the road near the neighbouring hotel to buy water and food which is a lot cheaper than the hotel shop. We would definately come back and stay here as the staff are so friendly and helpful and it is a nice, honest , family run hotel, just don't expect a 5* hotel for a £250 a week holiday!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank treacle1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Hi, we booked the hotel through Olympic Holidays as a last minute deal which was a bargain at £230 each. REed reviews on here which spoke very highly of it. Here's our review:
FLIGHTS - Eurocypria is honestly one of the worst airlines we've flown with. Both flights were delayed, cabin crew were very unhelpful, plane was very cramped, and entertainment wasn't working on the way out there. Will never fly with them again
HOTEL - Hotel is very clean, and we knew it was going to be basic but I think people need to be aware that it's beyond basic. We booked a 1 bed apartment, where the living room consisted of 2 futons and a table and chairs, no telly! The balcony looked out onto another block of privately used apartments which was quite run down. Air Con was in the bedroom only and was VERY, VERY NOISY, we both actually struggled to sleep through it for the 7 nights. The hotel is next to a hotel which at 8pm starts playing very loud music right up until midnight, then started up again at 10am. Ruined a few nights sleep and a few chilled mornings at the pool! Bathroom was falling to buts with tiles coming off the walls, and the shower being the weakest force i've ever seen! Bed was very uncomfy also.
LOCATION - In a decent location, being 10 minutes walk from Pernera and 25 minutes walk from Protaras. We went in October so it was quite quiet and the bars were all empty. Some nice restaurants (Mojito was our fave), but it does get tiring either walking the bus stop or walking the boardwalk to protaras. Got the bus to Ayia Napa a few times which was nice, but took almost an hour to get to.
THINGS TO DO - Loads of things to do, at the bottom of the road which the hotel is on you can catch a 2 and a half hour boat trip for 10 euros which was a real bargain, gave you 1/2 hour to snorkel and swim in the blue lagoon. Also, we went the water park which was 32 euros each but worth it cos had a laugh. There were quite a few trips to the mountains you could do but we didn't bother cos we were only there for a week.

All in all, the majority of people staying at this hotel are older, and enjoy sitting round the hotel bar and talking, which is why it's got such a good review on here, but just beware cos despite it being so cheap, it's hard to stay somewhere so basic. It's the first time I've been away and couldn't wait to get back to my own bed! Weather was great though, in the late twenties every day. Would go back to Cyprus in October but would stay in Ayia Napa and spend the extra money staying in a more decent hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimboLpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Just returned from a week in the Plato Mare and I find the rest of the reviews on here a bit misleading, yes the staff are friendly enough but the hotel itself clearly hasn't been decorated for several decades.

Our apartment was infested with ants throughout the kitchen and the bathroom, there was an extracter fan above the hob in the kitchen with tape over the controls so it couldn't be used (we didnt cook anyway as we ate out, just an observation). Also, the shower wan't great and it seemed to depend on how many other people were using water as to how powerful it would be. You have to pay extra for the air con (5.20 Euros per day) which is pretty much essential. The decor was also just generally very dated

The pool area was one positive, loads of loungers, we never had a problem finding one. Refreshingly there was no poolside entertainment here but the neighbouring hotel had a first choice rep doing his best to ruin any peace and quiet we might have enjoyed and this went on late into the night and we could hear it from our room.

All in all, we paid very little for this holiday and the hotel is exactly what I expected, a 2* (Olympic rate it at 2.5 which I think is generous) this certainly isnt any better than that. If I visit this area again I will probably get a hotel in Protaras as we went there every night anyway and it saves the 10-15 minute walk each way.

Thankfully the weather was great and the nightlife in Protaras and Ayia Napa was so good we didn't spend much time in the apartment anyway.

Its worth mentioning that I have submited several reviews of various hotels over the years on this website and I believe this is the first one where I have given a score of less than 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whittboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

A bit dated but clean(maid came every day). No shortage of sun beds. Most rooms have sea view. Protaras is about 10-15 mins walk along the boardwalk. A very good basic holiday base.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jill118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

My husband & I stayed at the Platomare for the last 2 weeks of September 2010.

Although it is a very basic hotel, the rooms are spacious, and with the pool area are kept spotlessly clean by the staff. It takes just a 5 minute walk to the sea from the Platomare, and only a 10 minute walk to the tavernas and restaurants in Pernera.

The boardwalk from Pernera to Protaras is perfect for exploring both resorts.

Overall an excellent holiday for the bargain price that we paid - the only downside was the appaling flights and inedible meals served by miserable and surly cabin crew on Eurocypria Airlines.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LynnR60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
looe
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We have been coming to this hotel for the last 17 years, so that should tell you something, it is clean, comfortable and you feel that you are part of one big family. This is due to Catherine, Yannis, Thea, Jean and Terry. We have been all over the world and stayed in some fantastic hotels, but not one is nicer than this one. Okay its not five star but you are not paying for five star. The welcome you get is 5* and that is what you want when you are away from home. We count all these people as our friends now and wouldn't stay anywhere else. Jean and Terry are the most fantastic couple and we spent our anniversary with them, Catherine, Christos and Marie we couldn't have had a more special anniversary and will go back next year with a whole host of friends who have also stayed at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunshine25Looe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.4 mi away
Livas Hotel Apartments
Livas Hotel Apartments
#36 of 65 in Protaras
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Papantonia Hotel Apartments
0.5 mi away
Seagull Apartments
Seagull Apartments
#45 of 65 in Protaras
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anastasia Beach Hotel
Anastasia Beach Hotel
#35 of 65 in Protaras
1,361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anais Bay Hotel
Anais Bay Hotel
#19 of 65 in Protaras
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flouressia Gardens
Flouressia Gardens
#17 of 53 in Protaras
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platomare Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platomare Hotel Apartments

Property: Platomare Hotel Apartments
Address: Pernera Beach, Protaras, Paralimni, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Protaras
#21 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Platomare Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing