We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit - lovely little hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Konnos Bay Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Konnos Bay Hotel Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Second visit - lovely little hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We have just returned from two weeks staying at the Konnos Bay Hotel and I can thoroughly recommend it and will be returning next year! The hotel is quite basic and the decor is a little tired, however, it is very clean. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, the pool is lovely, cleaned every day and the restaurant / bar is very nice. The view from the hotel is amazing but it is a bit of a walk down to the beach!
There are buses to Protarus and Agia Napa from the outside of the hotel which run regularly until about 4am so you can use it as a base to go and explore / party!
There are some nice restaurants within walking distance, a bar and a little supermarket over the road.
It depends what you look for in a holiday as to whether or not this is for you, it is a two star hotel in a quiet location with no nightlife but that suited us perfectly.
You have to pay extra for the air-conditioning (which I would recommend) and also pay a deposit of 10 euros each for the air conditioning remote control and the tv remote control!
The Olympic representative will give you a list of trips but the boat trips, red bus tour (which is definitely worth going on) but these are cheaper if you go into Ayia Napa or call the Red Bus company and book them yourself, likewise car hire.
Last year we stayed in the studios which are over the road from the main hotel, these are nice but we preferred the one roomed appartment.

Room Tip: I would opt for one of the 'round the house' rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    84
    33
    16
    9
See reviews for
55
95
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
CHESTERFIELD
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

i went to konnas bay 2 years ago with a friend the apartments were spotless clean mr spirrillas was fantastic the location is superb we are going back in october for 2 weeks rather than go to the carribbean it was that good

Room Tip: we stayed in the studios across the road we did struggle with the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChesterfieldBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Just come back from two weeks in Cyprus stopping for our very first time at the Konnos Bay Hotel Apartments. We have been staying in Cyprus around the Protoras area since 1995 only missing two years so know this part of the island quite well. This is such a lovely part of the island with a jaw dropping beach surrounded by a hillside of green, not what you would find in many places on the island, if any. What a shame the hotel did not match up to this.
On arrival at the hotel we were allocated room 213 on the third floor which we were told was “the best room in the hotel”, just what we wanted for our first wedding anniversary.
We purchased a safety deposit box for 10 euros a week and air conditioning for 6 euros a day, not cheap when you’re staying for a fortnight but must haves never the less. Unfortunately the a/c failed to work for two days, the first night only the fan on the a/c worked which was an unbearably wet night, the second with the help of the Olympic rep we got placed in temporary room for the night but on the third night it had finally been fixed after much confrontation with the staff. They didn’t offer to refund us until I asked for it on checkout day.
The second issue with the room was the mess which had been left in the draws both in the bedroom and kitchen. If you could pull the draws out without the fronts nearly falling off or bottoms falling out then you could empty them, but not what you expect from the “best room in the hotel”. The units were very tired.
The kitchen as I mention previously was very tired but not without other issues more serious. The main cooker socket was faulty and you had to twiddle about with the plug pushed into it to make a connection. There was also a travel adaptor which connected to the toaster this also had a broken pin on it so had it changed. The fridge had been replaced at some time and had been relocated to a different area but by doing this the cable had been extended. Both ends of the cable had been twisted together and wrapped with red electrical tape, the joint sitting directly on the floor below the sink. I don’t think there are any regulations worldwide which would permit this?
The bathroom had its issues to with the toilet just freestanding on the tiled floor so whenever you sat on it you had to very careful it didn’t fall over. This was fixed by the maintenance guy who squirted a bead of silicone sealer around it, what he thought this would achieve was a little beyond me but it did help slightly for the first week then had to be reported and fixed again the second week.
Another issue with the room was a noise coming from the roof above which I can only explain as sounding like a bass speaker in a boy racers car. When this noise started it shock the room and made all the windows vibrate but only seemed to happen around breakfast and tea times. Not pleasant so we reported it starting from day one to three separate members of staff on the front desk, but it didn’t seem to be of any concern to them as nothing was done. At the beginning of the second week this noise woke us up at 5am so down to reception I went for one final confrontation. The night watchman came up to the room and listened to the noise then went up onto the roof. He said the bearing had gone in the generator which pumped the hot water around the hotel so turned it off until it could be fixed. Peace and quite at last.
We had asked to be moved but were told there was nothing available and that the temporary overnight room was to big just for the two of us.
On the day prior to leaving we filled in our questionnaire and handed it in to our holiday rep Siobhan at the poolside and receive our pickup time. Where I mentioned the issues with her she obliged by viewing the room and said that the issues I had pointed out were not unreasonable and would be pointed out to the hotel management who she would also have a word with about keeping the room until the pickup time, just as a good will gesture but once again this must also have fell on deaf ears as they said the hotel was completely booked out the morning of our checkout.
It is such a shame but talking to other couples staying in different rooms it didn’t seem like our room was on it own with its issues. The hotel is in such a lovely location but was spoilt by the quality of amenities for which it offered and the attitude of the staff. I know Cyprus is a different country to the UK and don’t intend to compare them in anyway but there must be a standard of some kind to adhere to where public safety is involved. It seemed like everything you mentioned to the staff fell on deaf ears or they just didn’t care or want to fork out to repair any problems reported to them.
If this was “the best room in the hotel” I would have hated to have been placed in the worst.
All things being what they were we did venture out on most days and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday with the exception of the issues in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

The apartments are basic and functional and were cleaned every day. There are not many bars/restaurants in the immediate vicinity but buses are every 20 minutes during the day to Protarus and Aiya Napa and cost 2 Euros. The 101 goes to Protarus and the 102 to Aiya Napa with a journey time of approx 10mins to both destinations. Konnos bay is beautiful and has great water sport facilities. The water is clear and reasonably shallow although care should still be taken with youngsters. I went on a last minute deal through Olympic holidays and found it to be good value. However, a word of caution if you are flying with Small Planet airlines! The cabin service was poorand the toilets were disgusting.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bertierboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

The hotel is just normal if you just look from outside, but this hotel has the great view to the beach! Very beautiful, very peaceful.

Hotel itself has a swimming pool, 1 restaurant and few computer in the lobby for internet.
The whole hotel do not offer any wifi internet connection, but this is good to us because we just can wholly relax in the natural surrounding.

Check in: Check in process is slow due to the female staff just 1st day to work, but she is friendly and try her best to fastern the process. We just knew is the hotel policy for retaining our passport during our stay.

Room: We booked a suite room. Big and brighten living hall with mini kitchen which allow you to do light cooking, big balcony overlooking the great view to sea. I even fall sleep in the balcony under the cooling winds and peaceful surrounding.

Bed room is simple but clean, also has a balcony to sea view.

Bathroom: Shower on the bathtub, but the weakness is the lighting is not enough, toiletries also very basic. Then no hot water in the late night.

Restaurant: This is the highlight of this hotel. You can seat next to the window and enjoy the great sea view throughout the meal.
We had few meals here for the dinner and daily breakfast. The manager work at evening is so charming and service was great. He explain and recommend some nice seafood dishes for us, the food was great. The male staff worked in breakfast/evening time also lovely, good service.

Check out process is fast and they will return the passport to you without reminding.

Room Tip: Choose those room with sea view, just additional of Euro 8, maybe. But really worth it. You may pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We spent the same week last year at Konnos Bay and decided to go back again as we really enjoyed it last year. Going with my elderly mother and knowing the layout I e mailed to ask for a room round the actual hotel building but this was ignored. Upon arrival we had to go over to the annexe again. Exactly the same apartment at last year, funnily enough. The staff were the same with some new additions and we found them really friendly and helpful and they remembered us. The lady in the supermarket also recognised us and was very helpful. The one big let down was the maid service, She came to us on saturday morning before 9am to do our room and would not give us time to get out but said she HAD to clean then. She skimmed over the bathroom and left a black bin liner saying she would not come on Sunday and we had to use the bin liner. The second day there she changed top sheet and towels then nothing else until I went to reception to ask for clean towels etc. Hence she did not get a tip. Air con was a nightmare and constant 33 degrees all one night. but this was then fixed but no refund offered.
But we did enjoy the holiday, the location, view and friendly staff make it special. We may go there again in a few years time.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAB1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

we stayed here on a cheap deal through thomas cook and olympic holidays, if you stay here there is a good bus service to protaras and paralimini one way and ayia napa and the waterpark the other, its cheap about £1 each, or you will need a car as its not far from cavo greco, there is a supermarket onsite, a little overpriced but when needs arrive, in protaras is a brand new lidl and the food is about as cheap as it gets, the apartments are split into 2 blocks, the reception and across the road, we stayed across the road, basic with air conditioning at a price of about £5 per day, these apartments get the morning sun on the balconies and they do get hot, walk down to the beach is nice..... bu8t dont forget what goes down must also go up !!! it is a beautiful beach with water sports and sunloungers you can put in the water and relax on

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Grecian Park Hotel
Grecian Park Hotel
#10 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
2.1 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#8 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
#14 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Narcissos ApartHotel
Narcissos ApartHotel
#47 of 66 in Protaras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#1 of 66 in Protaras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coralli Spa Resort
Coralli Spa Resort
#4 of 56 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konnos Bay Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konnos Bay Hotel Apartments

Property: Konnos Bay Hotel Apartments
Address: Cape Greco Road, Protaras, Paralimni, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Konnos Bay Hotel Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Konnos Bay Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing