We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Konnos Bay Hotel Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tired”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Just got back from konnos bay apts and the place could do with a good make over. It looks tired and little or no money spent at all. Views from the main building are lovely overlooking the bay, however it is not a place for people with walking difficulties as there are a great number of steps down to the beach which is lovely and very clean. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel and a small pool area which can be shady.
There are only a couple of bars in the area but you can catch a bus into Aya Napa and Protaras directly outside the hotel which only cost a euro. A little bit more if you return late. It is possible to walk into Protaras but it is a good 45 minute walk to a hour. Protaras is excellent with plenty of shops and many bars although because of the time of the year many bars were closing down due to the end of season.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the main building and not the annexe across the road. Ask for sea views in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank brian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    85
    33
    16
    9
See reviews for
55
95
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a week and found the hotel was basic but clean and functional. We had a twin room with a very large living area, TV , kitchen, shower, bath and balcony.

The hotel is located right above the Konos bay beach giving it a fantastic view. The beach which has to be the best beach we saw in the area although the is a very steep walk up and down to it.

There is a small pool area and a restuarant that does reasonably priced food.

There are some small tavernas and shops near to the hotel. There are bus stops right outside the hotel whihc come every 15-30 mins. It costs 3 euros for a day ticket and Protaras and Ayia Napa are only a 10 minute journey away.

I would rcommend this hotel to anyone who wished to just have place to sleep and eat.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Have just returned from Konnos Bay apartments in Cyprus. What has happened to this little gem of a place. It is now mainly Russians that are holidaying there and the staff are just not interested in the customers. The apartments are dirty and desperately need a refurbishment. We had dirty footprints on outside of our curtains and paint splased on the inside. The maids did not do a good job of cleaning and their idea of making the bed was to fold down the top sheet but not to straighten the bottom one. I took my mattress protector off as it was highly uncomfortable and it was heavily stained. Location fantastic but it is desperately tired now, please spend some money on this property.

Room Tip: You don't have a choice in the rooms you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LynneHumberside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This was our 2nd visit to the Konnos Bay Apartments, on our first visit they were basic and clean and the location in terms of the beach is superb. I honestly think it all depends on the room you are allocated, we visited last July 11 and had a room facing out to the road which was fine. This year however we were allocated room 107 which was the pits. During our previous visit we used to comment on how amazing the sea view rooms would be because the outlook is stunning as such I emailed the hotel on approx 6 occasions asking for a sea view and even offered to pay the extra supplement...my emails were never acknowledged, in my opinion their customer service needs vast improvement, they have a real don't care attitude. On arrival at 5pm we were given the key to 107, right away we noticed the top of the door had a massive gap and the door was not secure, one shove and it would have gave way. The patio doors were also on their last legs and not securely fitted either. the balcony was completely shaded by trees and as it looked onto the pool there was no privacy. Disappointed with the room we began to unpack only to then notice the constant noise from the cistern in the bathroom, my husband tried to take a look and then we noticed the water from the cistern was all over the floor. Enough was enough we went back to reception and told the woman our issues and asked for another room. Unhelpful doesn't begin to describe her attitude she wasn't interested and made it very obvious we were bothering her, no other rooms available. We told her the doors we could put up with but the toilet needed sorted. Despite being the only person there she said she had no authority to move us. She said it was inconvenient to get the toilet fixed because it was a Sunday. Not giving up she eventually called maintenance. My husband and I went to the restaurant leaving them to fix the toilet and returned 3 hours later to a building site. We went back to reception and told her to get us another room, we had been travelling all day and 3 hours after we arrived we still had no room, unable to cope with the confrontation she started shouting at us saying," if you would have just waited till tomorrow but oh no you had to get it fixed tonight" as if it was so unreasonable to expect a working toilet in your room, she also said " I've had enough of this, I get it all season"......at which point I'd had enough and went through her and demanded she call the manager. Maintenance then advised the toilet was fixed, tired and upset a great start to our holiday, we went to our room and then got kept awake half the night with the sound of water running through the pipes in the bedroom. The apartments are old, tired, uncomfortable and falling apart I will certainly not be returning. Saving grace was my husband spoke to the owner in the morning and eventually after a lot of persuasion they moved us to 104 which was a sea view room and much better.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We have just returned from two weeks staying at the Konnos Bay Hotel and I can thoroughly recommend it and will be returning next year! The hotel is quite basic and the decor is a little tired, however, it is very clean. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, the pool is lovely, cleaned every day and the restaurant / bar is very nice. The view from the hotel is amazing but it is a bit of a walk down to the beach!
There are buses to Protarus and Agia Napa from the outside of the hotel which run regularly until about 4am so you can use it as a base to go and explore / party!
There are some nice restaurants within walking distance, a bar and a little supermarket over the road.
It depends what you look for in a holiday as to whether or not this is for you, it is a two star hotel in a quiet location with no nightlife but that suited us perfectly.
You have to pay extra for the air-conditioning (which I would recommend) and also pay a deposit of 10 euros each for the air conditioning remote control and the tv remote control!
The Olympic representative will give you a list of trips but the boat trips, red bus tour (which is definitely worth going on) but these are cheaper if you go into Ayia Napa or call the Red Bus company and book them yourself, likewise car hire.
Last year we stayed in the studios which are over the road from the main hotel, these are nice but we preferred the one roomed appartment.

Room Tip: I would opt for one of the 'round the house' rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESTERFIELD
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

i went to konnas bay 2 years ago with a friend the apartments were spotless clean mr spirrillas was fantastic the location is superb we are going back in october for 2 weeks rather than go to the carribbean it was that good

Room Tip: we stayed in the studios across the road we did struggle with the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChesterfieldBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Just come back from two weeks in Cyprus stopping for our very first time at the Konnos Bay Hotel Apartments. We have been staying in Cyprus around the Protoras area since 1995 only missing two years so know this part of the island quite well. This is such a lovely part of the island with a jaw dropping beach surrounded by a hillside of green, not what you would find in many places on the island, if any. What a shame the hotel did not match up to this.
On arrival at the hotel we were allocated room 213 on the third floor which we were told was “the best room in the hotel”, just what we wanted for our first wedding anniversary.
We purchased a safety deposit box for 10 euros a week and air conditioning for 6 euros a day, not cheap when you’re staying for a fortnight but must haves never the less. Unfortunately the a/c failed to work for two days, the first night only the fan on the a/c worked which was an unbearably wet night, the second with the help of the Olympic rep we got placed in temporary room for the night but on the third night it had finally been fixed after much confrontation with the staff. They didn’t offer to refund us until I asked for it on checkout day.
The second issue with the room was the mess which had been left in the draws both in the bedroom and kitchen. If you could pull the draws out without the fronts nearly falling off or bottoms falling out then you could empty them, but not what you expect from the “best room in the hotel”. The units were very tired.
The kitchen as I mention previously was very tired but not without other issues more serious. The main cooker socket was faulty and you had to twiddle about with the plug pushed into it to make a connection. There was also a travel adaptor which connected to the toaster this also had a broken pin on it so had it changed. The fridge had been replaced at some time and had been relocated to a different area but by doing this the cable had been extended. Both ends of the cable had been twisted together and wrapped with red electrical tape, the joint sitting directly on the floor below the sink. I don’t think there are any regulations worldwide which would permit this?
The bathroom had its issues to with the toilet just freestanding on the tiled floor so whenever you sat on it you had to very careful it didn’t fall over. This was fixed by the maintenance guy who squirted a bead of silicone sealer around it, what he thought this would achieve was a little beyond me but it did help slightly for the first week then had to be reported and fixed again the second week.
Another issue with the room was a noise coming from the roof above which I can only explain as sounding like a bass speaker in a boy racers car. When this noise started it shock the room and made all the windows vibrate but only seemed to happen around breakfast and tea times. Not pleasant so we reported it starting from day one to three separate members of staff on the front desk, but it didn’t seem to be of any concern to them as nothing was done. At the beginning of the second week this noise woke us up at 5am so down to reception I went for one final confrontation. The night watchman came up to the room and listened to the noise then went up onto the roof. He said the bearing had gone in the generator which pumped the hot water around the hotel so turned it off until it could be fixed. Peace and quite at last.
We had asked to be moved but were told there was nothing available and that the temporary overnight room was to big just for the two of us.
On the day prior to leaving we filled in our questionnaire and handed it in to our holiday rep Siobhan at the poolside and receive our pickup time. Where I mentioned the issues with her she obliged by viewing the room and said that the issues I had pointed out were not unreasonable and would be pointed out to the hotel management who she would also have a word with about keeping the room until the pickup time, just as a good will gesture but once again this must also have fell on deaf ears as they said the hotel was completely booked out the morning of our checkout.
It is such a shame but talking to other couples staying in different rooms it didn’t seem like our room was on it own with its issues. The hotel is in such a lovely location but was spoilt by the quality of amenities for which it offered and the attitude of the staff. I know Cyprus is a different country to the UK and don’t intend to compare them in anyway but there must be a standard of some kind to adhere to where public safety is involved. It seemed like everything you mentioned to the staff fell on deaf ears or they just didn’t care or want to fork out to repair any problems reported to them.
If this was “the best room in the hotel” I would have hated to have been placed in the worst.
All things being what they were we did venture out on most days and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday with the exception of the issues in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Grecian Park Hotel
Grecian Park Hotel
#10 of 66 in Protaras
1,017 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
#13 of 66 in Protaras
778 reviews
2.1 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#8 of 66 in Protaras
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Narcissos ApartHotel
Narcissos ApartHotel
#48 of 66 in Protaras
190 reviews
1.1 mi away
Adelais Bay Hotel
Adelais Bay Hotel
#43 of 66 in Protaras
28 reviews
3.0 mi away
Artemis Hotel Apartments
Artemis Hotel Apartments
#45 of 66 in Protaras
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konnos Bay Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konnos Bay Hotel Apartments

Property: Konnos Bay Hotel Apartments
Address: Cape Greco Road, Protaras, Paralimni, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Konnos Bay Hotel Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and LoveHolidays so you can book your Konnos Bay Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing