We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swedenfamily”
Review of smartline Protaras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
smartline Protaras
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Protaras
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Vi stay'd att The hotel for two weeks and we had a realy good stay. The room was okey but not super The cleaning was the best you can wish and all personal was working hard and made our stay to the best. Some of the personal is worth to give an extra credit they are Alex in the resturant Radko The entertainer and one of The bartenders forgot his name but it was the one with hair☺. But the food was terrible The chef couldnt heard about spices the food did'nt taste anything and there was' nt any childrens menu as pizzaslices and burgers so our daughter was fed up with the food after three days and there where no sign with the sause that where made from fisheggs so my whife allmost got an allergic reaction. But all in all it was a good stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank PsEngfors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas P, Owner at smartline Protaras, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear PsEngfors,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed the service of our staff and the efforts of our cleaning staff. We are all committed to do our best in order to offer a pleasant stay to all of our guests.

Regarding the food, our menu was designed following our chef’s influence from his experience in continental Europe. Following some comments from our guests we asked them if they would like to see any additions to our buffet. As we value our guests requirements highly we started introducing the food that was requested (such as chips and fish fingers) in alignment with our existing offering.

With respect to the comment you made about the allergy, the usual procedure that we follow is that if any of our guests has an allergy to a specific food they let us know so that we can inform them in advance if any of the dishes served during the day contain any traces of that food. The sauce you are referring to I believe is the Taramas sauce which in all honesty I did not come across someone having an allergy on the specific sauce before. However your remark is very valuable and we will see how best to incorporate it around the procedures we follow regarding allergies.

We look forward to welcome you again to our hotel and we will do our best to offer you an even better experience.

Kind Regards,
Christos Papouis, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Not a bad stay certain areas of the hotel need updating. Nice pool and bar area. Staff around pool and bar were pleasant and friendly. Unfortunately the food at this hotel was absolutely appalling was all inclusive and ended up eating out nearly every night. Stayed in this area before at a different hotel, personally wouldn't choose this hotel again after this visit.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank anni s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas P, Owner at smartline Protaras, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear anni s,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed our service and the facilities of our hotel.

In terms of your comments about the food we understand that some guests are used to different taste so we are making changes in order to please all of our guests. From the responses we have received so far in our questionnaires and the measures we are taking we are certain that soon all of our guests will be satisfied with our service.

We are hoping that you will visit our hotel again and we will do our best to offer you an even better experience.

Kind Regards,
Christos Papouis, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have just returned from a week stay at this hotel. The pool area was the best place in this hotel. The rooms were very poor, they been refurbished but old furniture painted white still old brown inside alough they were clean not exactly what you see in the photos.
Reception staff were excellent.
The food was terrible. It did matter if you were first or last to breakfast or dinner, it was cold and awful, not a great selection.not value for money. I think the issue needes to be looked at quick before somone falls ill due to food poisoning. I would not give this food to my dogs. Not a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas P, Owner at smartline Protaras, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Thomas L,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed the service of our staff and our hotel’s facilities. I am not entirely sure about which furniture you are referring to as we have bought new furniture for all of the 137 rooms and for all of the public areas (restaurant, bar, outdoor restaurant, reception). As I said before the hotel went through a renovation on a very big scale in a very short time frame, less than 5 months, and I believe the hotel has been delivered at a very good condition with the vast majority of our guests enjoying the rooms and the facilities.

In terms of your comments about the food, I believe there are two elements in your comment. The first part concerns the fact that you did not like the food. As stated before we made a lot of improvements in our buffet and we are monitoring what our guests say in order to improve even further. We have been handing out surveys to all of the guests asking them their opinion about the food and 40% replied excellent, 50% said good and 10% said fair. We also asked if they would like anything to be added and we did so straight away. So we have been improving our service a lot and we are aiming to make 100% of our guests to find the food either good or excellent, however from the responses on the surveys so far I can see that we are almost there.

The second part refers to your comment about someone falling ill. This is quite a serious comment which I am not entirely sure if you meant to literally, but just for clarification I would like to inform you that without anyone forcing us to do so we paid for a specialist to come from the UK to verify that our hotel adheres to all the international standards in terms of hygiene and cleanliness. Their report states that our standards are on par with the international guidelines that all hotels (including 5 star hotels) follow. If you genuinely have these kind of concerns then please by all means ask for the management in order to talk to you as our hotel is operating on professional standards.

Kind Regards,
Christos Papouis, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed from 13th July for 2 weeks. Hotel has been very well renovated and looks bright clean and surprisingly chic. The Staff, as others have said make this hotel. Those particularly in the dining room go the extra mile, smiling, cheerful and very helpful. Our room overlooked both the pool and the sea and you can't ask for more than that. The entertainment staff Radio and Steffen work hard and effectively but I can't help but feel that they need extra resource and to buy in some extra evening entertainment, although what we did see was good (despite the frog chorus in the background). The bar needs better organisation and another member of staff although the cocktails were good. Everyone has something to say about food and it is a very subjective thing. For us it was at least as good as the four star we stayed in last year. Some things were very good a few things weren't but most was better than adequate. Looking further afield beautiful beaches, the best we have seen, very impressive boardwalk, and a nearby bus stop. Do visit the north Turkish part of the island for contrast.We found this quite a strange experience particularly at the border.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Trevor656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas P, Owner at smartline Protaras, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Trevor656,

Thank you very much for your review. The staff and I are very happy that you have enjoyed our services and we are glad that you found the facilities of the hotel pleasant as we put a lot of effort into renovating our hotel.

Thank you about your comments regarding the service at the bar. We will look into making the service more efficient so that you can have an even more pleasant time at the bar.

We are glad about your comments regarding the food. We are well aware that our buffet is at least the equivalent of a 4 star hotel as we have made extensive research on how to design it. It is quite surprising that there are a lot of negative comments here regarding the food as we conduct a survey on a daily basis asking our guests their opinion on the food and only 10% respond as the food being poor. Nonetheless we want everyone to enjoy their time at our hotel and we want to offer the best possible service so we will continue to improve things in order to ensure that 100% of the responses state that they are satisfied with the food.

We look forward to welcome you again to our hotel and we will do our best to offer you an even better experience.

Kind Regards,
Christos Papouis, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My other half and I stayed here in June 2014. Due to the poor reviews of the paschilia hotel (the original name for this hotel) we decided that they had done it up, made it better overall so it would be a great place for our first holiday together. Well we were completely wrong!! It's true, the hotel does look like the photos, however what the photos do not show is the parts of the hotel they did not "do up" such as ceiling tiles that were covered with damp and mold, plates and keys that still had the old hotel name on. But the hotel cleanliness was okay. The main problem with this hotel is the food, the food was ridiculously low. If you wanted a certain dish you needed to get there the second the restaurant opened as it would be gone, and believe me they do not replace it in a hurry. There were 6 pans of hot food, 3 of which were carbs and it was the same rubbish food day in day out. Luckily, we decided to go half board, which we thought was even too much for this hotel. You got your free drinks at breakfast and claimed free drinks at lunch or dinner, another lie.. the hotel made you pay for the drinks even though we were not informed of this. When arriving at the hotel there was 2 beds pushed together to make a double bed, you cannot sleep like this unless you like the idea of your bum falling down a hole, so we got moved, luckily. I would never have booked this hotel if there were reviews before the time I went, and we certainly would not be returning anytime soon.

Room Tip: Don't book one at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Barnfield1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas P, Owner at smartline Protaras, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Barnfield1995,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. Our hotel has been renovated on a very big scale from last year to this year and we used services from interior designer specialists to re-design the public areas and the rooms. We have plans to further improve for next year but the scale of renovation that went to the hotel over the past year was very big and I believe like the vast majority of our guests so far that we managed to deliver the hotel at a very good condition.

With respect to your comments about the food, we have implemented changes to our service following additional training and extra staffing of the team. As we mentioned earlier we are committed into improving every single aspect of our service so we constantly monitor the feedback from our guests and we implement changes. In their majority the comments we receive are very good but we are working to ensure that every single person is satisfied.

Finally regarding your comment about free drinks, I am certain that you have received wrong information. You are saying that you were on a half board basis which implies that drinks are not included in the price, only the all-inclusive basis guests have their drinks included in the price. I am not aware who provided the information to you that you were allowed free drinks but in my opinion it is unfair to be accused of lying to you.

Our hotel aims to please all of our guests as it is our priority that all of our guests enjoy their stay. We would be more than happy to have you back to our hotel as we will do our best to offer you a pleasant stay.

Kind Regards,
Christos Papouis, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a week on the 13th of July. When we first arrived, the hotel was even more modern and fresh looking than we thought!
We could not have asked for more when it came to or room overlooking the sea and pool and also a double bed! (which we requested) we had a lovely night sleep every night and the air con in the room was good.
Ivan a member of staff at he reception we noticed is a real asset to the team as he was extent helpful and polite and you could tell he works long hours and works very hard! Always a smile on his face and seems very passionate (:
The breakfast was lovely and we enjoyed the continental and English breakfasts each morning, although the evening meals did let down the food slightly as we went out most nights because the evening meals were repetitive and slightly bland.
The entertainment was good, we really enjoyed the parrot show and bingo etc.
Overall though we couldn't have asked for a better stay and really enjoyed ourselves and this hotel (:

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas P, Owner at smartline Protaras, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Amy S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. The staff and I are very happy with your comments and we are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay. It is our main priority to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their stay and holidays through the service we offer.

We appreciate your comments regarding the food. Our aim is to ensure that our guests enjoy all of our meals so we are implementing changes within our team in order to offer an even better service. Our hotel is committed into providing the best service for everyone and we will work tirelessly to deliver it.

We look forward to welcome you again to our hotel and we will do our best to offer you an even better experience.

Kind Regards,
Christos Papouis, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here in May 2014 for a fortnight. The hotel was very clean and staff were very helpful and friendly, even helped me sort out my mobile phone so I could phone home. The chef accommodated all our food preferences and needs and acquired some goats milk for my husband as he is lactose intolerant. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Rooms cleaned everyday and towels and sheets changed too. Only thing that disappointed us was the gym needed updating, but they were in the middle of refurbishing the hotel, so maybe this will be done for our next visit. Entertainment can be a bit tiresome after first week, but there are plenty of bars in the area for something different. The beach is just a few minutes walk with a fantastic walkway to Figtree bay, which is a lovely stroll. If you need a quiet break this is the place to go. Would recommend hotel and will be going back again next year.

Room Tip: Noisy at back by pool and bar and outside entertainment. Quiet at the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Vanya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas P, Owner at smartline Protaras, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Vanya W,

Thank you very much for your comments. The staff and I are very happy that you have enjoyed our services and the facilities of the hotel. It is our main priority that all of our guests have a pleasant stay and we are always happy to help any of our guests that have any special requests.

During your visit the gym and spa area did undertake a renovation that is now completed. We apologise that you may had some inconvenience using the facilities.

We look forward to welcome you again to our hotel and we will do our best to offer you an even better experience.

Kind Regards,
Christos Papouis, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
1.2 mi away
smartline Lantiana Gardens
smartline Lantiana Gardens
#38 of 64 in Protaras
282 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
#11 of 64 in Protaras
923 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anastasia Beach Hotel
Anastasia Beach Hotel
#36 of 64 in Protaras
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#3 of 64 in Protaras
564 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
#32 of 64 in Protaras
1,339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Livas Hotel Apartments
Livas Hotel Apartments
#24 of 64 in Protaras
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Protaras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Protaras

Address: Mantaliou 7, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range: £95 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — smartline Protaras 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 2 km from Protaras centre, in the resort of Pernera, Smartline Protaras Hotel is within walking distance to the beach, the boardwalk which connects with Protaras and all local facilities. Smartline Protaras' rooms include a satellite TV and are simply furnished. Each includes air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, free Wi-Fi and a fridge. A scenic view of the coast and the Mediterranean Sea can be seen from the balcony in most of the rooms, while the rest have a view to the beautiful gardens of the hotel. Free Wi-Fi in all public areas, a swimming pool and a tennis court are available.International and Cypriot cuisine is served at the Pavilion Restaurant. Beverages are offered in the garden by the pool in the Windmill Tavern.Guests can enjoy a game of squash or relax with a massage treatment. Smartline Protaras offers a well-equipped gym and a sauna.Daily entertaining programme is offered including live music 2-3 times a week. Children playroom and Games room with table tennis and pool table are available.Staff at the 24-hour front desk can arrange car rental. Larnaca Airport is a 45-minute drive away. A bus to the town centre stops 200 metres away. Free private parking is available at Smartline Protaras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your smartline Protaras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing