We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel, Warning when using the lift!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vrissaki Hotel Apartments
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basic hotel, Warning when using the lift!!!!”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I have just returned from my second stay at the Trizas hotel. Nothing had changed from the last time but you get what you pay for. The rooms as basic but there not bad. It can be noisy at times as its right on the main road but thats all part and parcel of the location. It is right in the heart of the resort. You could not wish to be in a better place. There is a down side though!!!! The lift. It looks and feels like it was installed the 70's. It is soo small inside and feels like a rollercoaster going up in it. I was actually trapped in there with two other people for 20 mins at one point. The motor burnt out and it stopped between floors. No light, no air getting through. It was awful. When we did eventually get out there was no apology from the staff at all!!!!! To wrap up, its a decent hotel, just use the stairs!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    24
    21
    2
    8
See reviews for
24
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ioannina, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Cleanliness:
The room was extremely dirty. Towels and sheets were stained with blood and wine. We asked for sheet replacement but the new ones were even worse! There was hair everywhere (tables, sheets, floor, etc). The bathroom was smelly and the sink was clogged.

Sleep Quality:
Sleeping was difficult due to the music and noise coming from the bars across the road.

Rooms:
The room was really dirty and old. Renovation is needed!

Location:
The hotel has a central position in Protaras. Nice beaches are within a walking distance.

Service:
Staff at the reception was friendly and helpful. On the other hand, we are not satisfied with the cleaning service (sloppy and infrequent).

Room Tip: Avoid "promo" rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Helpful?
6 Thank N1k0la0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Protaras hotels

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Hotel set right on the strip closes to the two noisiest bars in the town, impossible to sleep until after 2am. The rooms were very basic and could do with a good clean. Bathroom even worse, the bath had scum marks all over. Watched the cleaner in the bathroom one day all she did was spray the bath and not even wipe it . Towels and bed linen were dirty when we arrived these were changed with another set of dirty towels were told there was problem with the laundry. Even though the air conditionig was free the controller had to be asked for. Towels were changed three times and bed linen twice in 14days the showers and toilet for the pool broken while the pan was plastered.
Their were no rooms advalible to book while waiting for transport in the evening.they had a shower room downstairs which was absolutely discusting and did not look like it had been cleaned from the start of the season. We book bed and breakfast we never exspected to have to walk 400 meters through bulldozers,cranes and cement lorries along a dirt road to get there. The Flamingo bar which I believe is part of the hotel was very good and the breakfast was really good. The beach is really good to and the sun beds are reasonbly priced. The staff at the hotel had different attitudes some were offhandish and some seemed ashamed. The shop next door staff walk through the hotel I assume that it part of the hotel. The old lady is ignorant and rude. There is a new Liddlels open just up the road with product is cheapet by quarter and more just adobe min walk.
Its a pity about hotels like this because Protaras is really a nice place.

Room Tip: Book some ware else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffrey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My wife and I absolutely love Cyprus. Its a country we have been visiting here for 12 yrs. This is without doubt the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. We was told it was a bit lively this is an understatement it was very noisy. Local bars and clubs were all open so the noise was very clear till 2am plus the loud Russians in the corridors. The room was in very poor shape needs a complete over haul. When looking in the Cosmos brochure there is a picture from a balcony showing a clear view of the sea, well things have changed since the photo was taken about 15-20 yrs ago there are now 3 hotels behind the Trizas. so much for an upto date brochure, I will be taking this up with Cosmos. The beds, they were terrible so hard we found the sun loungers more comfortable. The cleaners did a pretty good job but there was only 2 of them for the whole hotel and pool. The desk staff one woman was so miserable and un-friendly the bloke was quite good. We did find a dead cockroach on the stairs and it was there for about 3 days ?. The swimming pool was the best part of the hotel. In the brochure it mentioned a pool bar, pool table and a dart board. Well no bar, dart board or pool table but no-one to ask about the cues and balls. The hotel reception was dreary and un welcoming we tried to spend as much time away from the hotel as possible. My advice pay a bit more go to a better hotel. We also felt that the price we paid was far too much it was vastly overpriced not good value. Since Cyprus joined the euro it has become quite expensive. The people generally are very friendly and helpful because of this we are going back again next April, but we are going to Penera.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Honest opinion from a travel agent.
We went to this hotel in June last year. The hotel room was basic but it had everything we needed i suppose, it was cleaned every other day and our towels was changed every other day. we didnt go around the pool often we went to the beach which was only a minuite walk away and the beach is beautiful.
Protaras itself is the mos beautiful place iv ever been and we are getting married here in 2014 in the Capo Bay hotel.
Lots of nightlife for familys/couples/groups, not far from the waterpark and there are plenty of trips to do.
If i went back and i was on a budget i would stay in these apartments again, if i had a little more to spend i would choose somewhere more like a 4* but other then that, these are fine if ur not fussy and just want it clean with clean towels/bedding and room.

Room Tip: Side sea view room, you can see the sea and the strip, good to have a nosy whilst on the balcony hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeanneRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2012

After reading reviews for the trizas apartments i was a bit worried about going to these apartments .. ..but was pleasantly surprised ..yes they are a bit dated and need modernising ..but all in all they were clean, decent size and in a great locaton ..staff pleasant and very helpful maid service came in and made beds and changed sheets and towels twice a week.(To me thats all that matter is the cleanliness) Our balcony looked over to the beach at one side and the main strip at the other so was in a great spot ... The pool is nice but it is used by all the local cypriot teenagers and heard they did cause a few problems around the pool annoying holiday makers ..but we used the beach so didnt have any problems.....Cyprus(Protaras) is a beautiful resort with plenty to do for all ages and the weather was scorching .... cheap and cheerful holiday and if your not expecting 5 star you'll be surprised.....

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stopped at the Trizas as a family my ex husband myself and my two daughters. It was our first holiday abroad and it was a last minute booking....as we had booked to go to new york but it was the year the twin towers was hit. My daughters freaked out so we spent the money on a sun sand and sea holiday instead. It was the beginning of my love affair with cyprus. Protaras at the time was an up and coming tourist place and therefore was very quiet. Most of the hotels were being built and to be honest the whole place looked like a building site. The main road you see now wasnt event there. ~The hotel was basic.....but it was clean. It rained for about the first three days but that didnt stop my girls from jumoing in the pool. On the third day my youngest girl slipped on rainwater on the balcony (the drainipes werent working so water had gathered) and went through the glass patio doors. Wat a mess.....she was bleeding the glass which was didnt have stickers on and was non safety just shattered like a glass being dropped on a marbled floor...i went to reception and told them....i may as well have been talking to the wall. The receptionist went out the back and brought me a brush and shovel.....i said .... i need a first aid kit...when i eventually managed to get through to them what had happened all hell broke loose! The manager was called he rushed up to our room...checked my daughter who thankfully by this time i had sorted out and she just had a cut to her knee....then turned to me and said "your rep is here tomorrow....no no no need to tell him whats happened....!"...I was like.....up yours mate....i took pictures of the water puddle on the balcony and the glass doors smashed with no safety signs on it...took pics of my daughters knee just in case. I feel bad writing this cos as a holiday up till that point we had had a really good time....the location of the hotel was central and the bars and restraunts were fantastic. I was lucky eniough to go before all you tourists found out about it lol......protaras i mean ....not the trizas.....but even tho we had a semi good semi bad experience it didnt put me off cyprus and i have been back many times. As a footnote i think we booked with thomas cook....but when i looked it up again.....it wasnt n their brochure and again to be honest ive only found out it still exists by being on here ....so i dont know who is taking bookings for the place now.

Room Tip: get a pool view....reviews on here are different to when i went...but thepool is at the back....so l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisah561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.2 mi away
Vrissaki Beach Hotel
Vrissaki Beach Hotel
#10 of 65 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#15 of 65 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#1 of 65 in Protaras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vrissaki Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vrissaki Hotel Apartments

Property: Vrissaki Hotel Apartments
Address: Protara, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus (Formerly Trizas Hotel Appartments)
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vrissaki Hotel Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vrissaki Hotel Apartments has been established since 1989 and fully renovated and upgraded in April 2013, and since May 2013, it is under new management. Over the years we have maintained a quality service and excellent facilities for our customers to enjoy. We have also ensured that your stay with us will not only be pleasant but a holiday for you to remember. Enjoying a central position in Protaras, right on the main shopping strip, one of the best holiday properties on the east coast of the island, Vrissaki Hotel Apartments is just two minutes away from the lovely Protaras Beach and a short walk from Fig Tree Bay. A variety of shops, bars, restaurants, and tavernas are located within walking distance from the apartments, making sure your holiday is one that will make you want to come again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Bookcyprus.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Vrissaki Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing