We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rushed through and no Father's Day events to speak of”

Diefenbunker: Canada's Cold War Museum
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Carp
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Visit one of the most unique tourist attractions in Canada! Built to protect top officials of the Canadian government from nuclear attack, this once-secret underground bunker is now a museum & National Historic Site of Canada. Explore over 100,000sq ft of bunker secrets and relive the experience of the Cold War. With its extraordinary engineering and architectural features, the Diefenbunker is a poignant reminder of one of the most turbulent periods of modern history.
Smiths Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Rushed through and no Father's Day events to speak of”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Not sure the $40 we paid was worth it. The venue is amazing but we were rushed through on our tour and the so-called Father's Day events were not there when we arrived at 2:45 pm, despite all the signs telling us there were events until 5:00 pm. Very disappointed. The tour alone would not be worth the money we paid.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LouiseBeckwith329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    264
    40
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good, but was looking for more....”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were looking forward for to spending some time roaming the tunnels of the Diefenbunker Museum since we are interested in the Cold War. But there is no longer self-guided tours, and the guided tour only lasted under an hour. The tour was informative and the young lady interacted with the kids very well, but because it was rushed and skipped many of the rooms, I feel that there was a lot of information not presented. We were not allowed to walk through at a more leisurely pace and actually read all the posted information. Unless they introduce self-guided tours, we would not be returning.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AdventuresWithAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly E, Manager at Diefenbunker: Canada's Cold War Museum, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hello,
I'm very sorry that you didn't thoroughly enjoy your experience here. We're reviewing our visitor policies at the moment, and have put self-guided tours on hold during that process. Once the review is complete, we plan on opening the Diefenbunker back up to self-guided visitors, and would love for you to come back and experience the leisurely visit you had hoped for.
Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, MI
Level Contributor
152 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Funky”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Hidden away behind the community library outside the town, this museum is a good introduction to cold war government protection. The narrated tour is good, but you can do it on your own as everything is well signed. It is fun to see how plans for survival for 30 days in the case of nuclear war developed. It is terrific that they never had to be tested.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tenormary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Dr. Strangelove Revisited”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Walking into the blast tunnel of this Cold War museum brings more than a chill to your skin - it can chill you to the bone. This bunker is a relic from the Cold War era that is accessible and understandable to everyone. Right at the outset, there are replicas of nuclear weapons as your guide explains warhead yield, survival radius from blast centre, comparisons to Hiroshima & Nagasaki and the design & purpose of the bunker. In some ways, very reminiscent of the famous Cold War movie starring Peter Sellers.

As we progressed through the floors of the museum, careful explanations of each room/exhibit provided us with context and some of the thinking that went into the construction and operation of this facility. Maps of blast areas, emergency broadcasting facilities for government, diagrams of the readiness and operational capabilities in case of attack - all makes a person consider that we are most fortunate to have survived this period of our history.

All that aside, the re-creations of many of the offices and rooms have many authentic artifacts and shows older visitors a window on their office lives from back in the 60's & 70's. It is a credit to the museum staff that they have been able to assemble and maintain such a collection of memorable collectibles from our recent past.

This is a worthwhile place to visit - informative, accurate and cause to pause for thought of some of the history that many of us have lived through. Very worthwhile to visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cool Retro history”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

There were very interesting and sometimes disturbing displays and information about the cold war. The whole place has a very authentic feel, like you walk into a time portal to the 50's-60's-70's

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Diefenbunker: Canada's Cold War Museum also viewed

 

Been to Diefenbunker: Canada's Cold War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing