We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Halloween: Incident at the Bunker: A Zombie Adventure”

Diefenbunker: Canada's Cold War Museum
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Carp
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Visit one of the most unique tourist attractions in Canada! Built to protect top officials of the Canadian government from nuclear attack, this once-secret underground bunker is now a museum & National Historic Site of Canada. Explore over 100,000sq ft of bunker secrets and relive the experience of the Cold War. With its extraordinary engineering and architectural features, the Diefenbunker is a poignant reminder of one of the most turbulent periods of modern history.
Northern Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Halloween: Incident at the Bunker: A Zombie Adventure”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We attended the “Incident at the Bunker: A Zombie Adventure!"
Prices were reasonable per person and the adventure was fun. We were a couple in our 40's plus 21 year son.
The staff working the event were very knowledgeable, funny and did a super job. It appears alot of work goes into the presentation and it was very busy with guests.
I would recommend this adventure in the Halloween season...for ages above the very young. It wasn't super scary but I could see how the 4-9 year olds may not find it interesting but indeed scary at times.
Drive out is a bit far but in the end, worth the gas.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mondavi7270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    264
    40
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cold Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Pure Speculation”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I thought this one hr tour was a waste of money to be honest lol. More like an hour of pure speculation from an unrealistic perspective. Many great ways to spend time in our nations capital and this one just doesn't seem of any value to me. If you love soap operas then this is your tour however :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenCWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly E, Manager at Diefenbunker: Canada's Cold War Museum, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hi Warren,
We're very sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to the Diefenbunker. While there is still some speculation regarding some of the activities that occurred in this once Top Secret facility, the information that is shared with visitors on tours is factual.
If you would like to discuss this further, we are always looking to improve our visitor experience and additional information from your visit would help us with this. Please email me at k.balmer@diefenbunker.ca.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a step back in time”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Quite the interesting "time capsule". It really is like going back in time.
Avoid the lame "gift counter" but the self guides audio tour is definitely interesting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BGolden67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
681 reviews
332 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,758 helpful votes
“Fantastic find - a mystery of its own making”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A fantastic experience and not often visited as it is a little bit of a drive off the tourist trail. Listen to the tales of shipping in the toilets in secret, imagine the world war commentaries going on in the operstions room and imagien the canteen filled with hundreds of worker hidden from view of the outside world. Such a hige site as well and you take as much or as litle time as you like and even at $40 it is great value and even the T-shirts have 'amusing doubel meaning logans' to commerate your visit

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SurreyGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's surreal and definitely a place to visit ...”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

... if you are visiting Ottawa. What you see and experience at Diefenbunker is from a time (crazy time I should say) before. I have to say it for my own experience that I never expected it to be what it turned out to be .... its massive, and it makes you think and reflect ... definitely worth spending a few hours. It is only about 25 mins out of downtown Ottawa, and you should plan to spend 4-5 hours in total ....

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Manu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Diefenbunker: Canada's Cold War Museum also viewed

 

Been to Diefenbunker: Canada's Cold War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing