We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Royal hotel in Gwalior”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Gwalior
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I went to Gwalior on official trip form Delhi, but i managed to accompany my wife & daughter also to the place. we stayed in Taj Usha Kiran. At first site itself i got impressed by the hotel..huge lawns, exceptional heritage design of building. I booked a superior room at 5K+ taxes but when entering the room i requested them to offer me some room with good view of property but at that moment they said no Superior room is vacant with property view. but they said they will check if anything was possible. with 15 min i was upgraded & offered a Deluxe room. i was amazed to see the size of room. Room size must be more than 20"x20"x20" . even room was double height. The dresser room was as big as normal room sizes of any good hotel & same size was bathroom.. this whole room was actually royal...
the property has many things to see & take pics with. City itself has many forts & old monuments to see. The service guys were also good at hotel
The Buffet breakfast had descent amount of options & taste was good.
we also had lunch once at hotel only.. the taste was good & price was high as expected.
but overall it was wonderful experience staying at Usha Kiran..
would love to stay again at same place.

Room Tip: First floor Deluxe rooms are HUGE...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dijjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usha Kiran P, General Manager at Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior.

Thank you for sparing your precious time to post great review on Trip Advisor about our hotel.

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the very best of the Taj to our guests.

Thank you so much for appreciating our property, rooms and food. Your words of appreciation have been conveyed to the concerned staff members and especially to the restaurant staff for the services rendered by them during your stay. We value guest feedback as it motivates us for further improvement.

We look forward to welcome you back at Taj Usha Kiran Palace on your next visit to Gwalior and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
There are newer reviews for Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

this was a palace now a hotel.. this is my second stay.. rooms are nicely decorated.. staff is groomed... the food was really amazing... i ate chicken chettinad... the garden is amazing... specially if you like nature... breakfast was decent not very very tasty.... rest everything was perfect!

Room Tip: all rooms are diff... luck matters ! :P
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anujdubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usha Kiran P, General Manager at Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior.

Thank you for sparing your precious time to post review on Trip Advisor about our hotel.

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the very best of the Taj to our guests.

Thank you for appreciating our property. Your words of appreciation have been conveyed to the concerned staff members for the services rendered by them during your stay. We value guest feedback as it motivates us for further improvement.

We look forward to welcome you back at Taj Usha Kiran Palace on your next visit to Gwalior and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The building and grounds have an understated elegance and a very interesting history but is lacking in amenities to qualify as a luxury hotel. Anyone expecting Taj Hotel standards will be disappointed. Our room had a moldy damp essence which caused some breathing problems. Our primary complaint was the restaurant. They served very small portions and the driest chicken tandoori I ever had. Breakfast was insulting. The buffet was meager and 6 people are standing around for 10 minutes waiting to use an old, two-slice toaster. I could not tell if the waiters had a bad attitude or just untrained. The property has a great deal of potential but needs an infusion of cash and professional standards. I do not understand the glowing reviews.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usha Kiran P, General Manager at Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior.

Thank you for taking out your precious time for posting your valuable feedback on trip advisor.

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the very best of the Taj to our guests. There are times however, when even the best of intentions are not good enough and therefore, it is only through our guests that we get a feedback of our services, which in turn helps us to improve our standards.

We have taken note of your feedback regarding the room, amenities, taste of food, restaurant - breakfast buffet and the staff; will work on the same to improve upon it.

We look forward to welcome you back at Taj Usha Kiran Palace on your next visit to Gwalior and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The Usha Kiran Palace is an elegant and stylish building located in a green and pleasant part of the city, there are a huge number and range of trees in the extensive gardens which are host to many tropical birds notably parakeets. Our room was large, comfortable, quiet and well equipped and room housekeeping is attentive and efficient. The staff all have the approach we have learned to appreciate at Taj hotels - attentive, very conscious of good customer service, efficient and personable. Food was excellent, and Rakesh and his catering team are keen to please and interact well with guests. There are a lot of attractive public rooms and spaces in which to re-energise after sightseeing, and Parwan in Guest Relations did a superb job in helping us make the best of this in an interesting city. The Fort complex is an absolute treasure in terms of varied history and cultural gems - Vijay is a top guide if available. We particularly enjoyed Sula Mandir too, and Amba Vilas gives a real insight in terms of the Scindia's influence. Parwan also organised smart, reliable and good value transport. Overall, a quality experience in an interesting place at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nige and Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usha Kiran P, General Manager at Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior.

Thank you for sparing your precious time to post great review on Trip Advisor about our hotel.

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the very best of the Taj to our guests.

Thank you so much for appreciating our landscaping, rooms and services. Your words of appreciation have been conveyed to the concerned staff members for the services rendered by them during your stay and especially to Chef Rakesh for taking care of your dietary preferences and to Pawan for helping you with the sightseeing.

We look forward to welcome you back at Taj Usha Kiran Palace on your next visit to Gwalior and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed 3 nights while sightseeing in Gwalior, and thought this was excellent for location, relaxation and great ambience. We had very good rooms (think 304 and 305?) on first floor, extremely spacious and nice to see welcome flowers as taj gold circle members. Great to be close to the sights (can walk next door to the main palace), super pool, (though in common with many city Taj's lack of pool bar means a wait for drinks), but what really makes this is the quality of staff from check in to room attendants (Anish) to chef Rakesh and his desire to provide interesting food and rotate the settings for guests eating in on a number of nights. We really felt the stay in the Taj complimented our overall experience in Gwalior, which was definitely worth the visit, though few other tourists seem to make it there. Only negatives are - as usual - really annoying to pay for wifi, and would be good to provide speedier service to people sitting by the pool. Otherwise first class.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usha Kiran P, General Manager at Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior.

Thank you so much for posting review on trip advisor about our hotel.

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the very best of the Taj to our guests.

Thank you for appreciating our property, rooms and services. Your words of appreciation have been conveyed to Anish and Chef Rakesh for the services rendered by them during your stay.

We have taken a note of your feedback regarding the wi fi, will be working to improve upon the same. Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We look forward to welcome you back at Taj Usha Kiran Palace on your next visit to Gwalior and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The Usha Kiran palace Hotel was a fantastic stay, everything that we could have asked for, Full of character and originality. The grounds are excellent, Food experience was first class! Well worth visiting. The Managers attention to detail was to perfection, the staff in the restaurant were very friendly, The whole team is commended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usha Kiran P, General Manager at Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior.

Thank you for sparing your precious time to post great review on Trip Advisor about our hotel.

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the very best of the Taj to our guests.

Thank you for appreciating our property and food. Your words of appreciation have been conveyed to the concerned staff members and especially to the restaurant staff for the services rendered by them during your stay. We value guest feedback as it motivates us for further improvement.

We look forward to welcome you back at Taj Usha Kiran Palace on your next visit to Gwalior and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The stay was a great and the property is very good. Spent four days and enjoyed the hospitality and service.

The food was great a special thanks to Rakesh the chef who took special care of us.

Enjoy the peaceful and quiet atmosphere and with Taj service.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are better. Do ask for rooms on the upper floor
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devdutt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usha Kiran P, General Manager at Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior.

Thank you for sparing your precious time to post great review on Trip Advisor about our hotel.

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the very best of the Taj to our guests.

Thank you so much for appreciating our property and services. Your words of appreciation have been conveyed to the concerned staff members for the services rendered by them during your stay and especially to Chef Rakesh for taking care of your dietary preferences.

We look forward to welcome you back at Taj Usha Kiran Palace on your next visit to Gwalior and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gwalior hotels
0.5 mi away
Clarks Inn Suites - Gwalior
1.5 mi away
Neemrana's Deo Bagh
Neemrana's Deo Bagh
#2 of 26 in Gwalior
344 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Gwalior Regency
Hotel Gwalior Regency
#5 of 26 in Gwalior
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Central Park
The Central Park
#19 of 26 in Gwalior
174 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Surbhi
Hotel Surbhi
#11 of 26 in Gwalior
33 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Grace
Hotel Grace
#4 of 26 in Gwalior
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior

Address: Jayendraganj Lashkar, Gwalior 474009, India (Formerly Usha Kiran Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Gwalior District > Gwalior
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Gwalior
Price Range: £70 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Usha Kiran Palace has played host to the King of England and is now a heritage hotel. Set amidst 9 acres of beautifully landscaped lawns, this 120 year old regal palace, rich in history, is outfitted with artistic stone carvings and delicate filigree work. Conveniently located, the hotel has 40 beautiful rooms including Villas with private pool and suites, a dining room truly reminiscent of royalty, a Bar and the award winning Jiva Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usha Kiran Palace Gwalior
Usha Kiran Palace Hotel Gwalior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing