We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelling from BC to Montreal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travel Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hearst
Penticton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Travelling from BC to Montreal”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I've been very well welcomed, and had a very large room with all the comfort. At as low a price as very simple rooms I had along my trip through Canada ! I'll come back without hesitation ! Just make sure you know where it is situated from the main street.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOICSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    6
    5
    7
    13
See reviews for
14
9
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Another mistake, We are travelling from BC and stayed at another Howard Johnson after
Red Deer, Calgary, AB. Where are the inspectors, worst Howard Johnson experience.
Dirty, smelly, mouldy, bugs. THANK TRIP ADVISOR FOR YOUR REVIEWS!!

Room Tip: DO NOT GO to any HOWARD JOHNSON, they are dirty and mouldy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Super E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hearst hotels

HAMILTON ON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We traveled all across Canada this summer and stayed at a lot of Wyndham chains hotels. We were very satisfied with most of them. Every hotel was clean and each hotel excelled expectations in some way or another. The most disappointing was the Travelodge, which doesn't participate in any Wyndham rewards. The HoJo in hearst gave us a beautiful room at a bargain price, but the reception left something to desire. First of all we had to be buzzed in, then the owner boasted how lucky we were to have the "Steam Room". We had to prepay for the room and we didn't get a printed receipt the next morning, just a little scrap of paper on which he put the regular price of the room to show us the bargain price we got. The continental breakfast was terrible, instead of the usual packaged food products, he had three big jars of jam about half full and nobody knew how old they were and anybody could dip in with their own knife. Again upon leaving the owner insisted we would write a good review. Well here is my honest opinion.

Room Tip: Reserve in advance through Wyndham group. This hotel is not very busy, so you are given an upgraded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kris-kras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2012

After checking in First thing NO Hot water in bathroom. Secondly Bed side lamp was NOT working. Third and the worst is disgusting STAINS on bed sheet and on blanket. So i had to sleep in car. Badly need a renovation. Last DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samsoni34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

After checking into this hotel and seeing the state of the room I decided to read the reviews on tripadvisor. A bit backwards I know, but we were traveling and didn't have internet. All the comments about bed bugs had me feeling like I should have spent the extra $10 and stayed at the Queen Motel on the highway. I'm happy to report we manage to get a room without bed bugs but the condition of the carpet was terrible. There were stains throughout the room. The shower and other bathroom fixtures were very clean, thankfully!!! The condition of the rest of the building is terrible. The halls are dark, the carpet, paint etc. very old....the whole motel is very TIRED to say the least!!! I will not be staying in this hotel again. Take my advice, stop at a McDonald's or Tim Horton, use their internet and check tripadvisor, once you know which city you will be staying in at the end of a day's travel...that is exactly what I will be doing in the future.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motherdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojohearst, Manager at Travel Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thanks for taking time to highlight the problem areas at our property during your recent visit, we highly appreciate your comments, all the rooms rented or not rented are checked thoroughly by the house keeping staff on daily and weekly basis, I am happy to hear that you did not have any issue with the cleanliness of the room, bathroom, and your bed/bed linens.
Please do also consider the positive comments left on this site by quite a few valued guests, this is to assure you that you would have a positive experience on your next stay, as we at Howard Johnson Inn Hearst are committed to provide the best service and the most comfortable stay to our guests. Your comments have prompted us to take an immediate action on areas needing attention.Thanks again and we look forward to welcome you at our property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We went across Northern Ontario and stayed at various chain hotel/motels during the trip. This hotel is by far the worst place we've ever been to.

We were settling into bed when we saw bed bugs crawling on the night stand. I freaked out and pulled the sheets and mattress off. There were pieces of food, old ear plugs and random crap under the mattress. It was disgusting!!! Stained carpets, smelly and dusty we could do, but this motel topped it off with bed bugs and random disgusting crap in sheets. We ended up sleeping in the car. If we didnt have a car, it would have been cleaner/safer to sleep on the street.

This place was also terribly unorganized; when i went in to complain about the bed bugs the next morning, the receptionist didnt have record of our payment from the night before or anything. Good thing, I kept a copy of my receipt.

This place is horrible, absolutely DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 932LorraineY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojohearst, Manager at Travel Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
First of all we apologize for the inconvenience you had to experience during your stay with us, at the same time we are thankful to your comments which prompted us to take an action on an emergency basis, The Housekeeping staff definitely did not perform to the required standards due to which you had to go through all the hardship. We can assure you that your next visit would not be the same. All the problem areas highlighted in your comments are fixed.
we are therefore requesting you to please provide us another chance and your stay would be on the house, Your FREE night has been entered into computer records and you could redeem at any time until June 30th 2013. We look forward to welcome you at our property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel last week on a trip across Canada. I always read these reviews and think that people are overreacting. Well, this is hands-down the absolute WORST hotel I have ever stayed at.
Our dog was travelling with us, so we were given a "pet friendly" room. We were put in a room that is in a closed off part of the hotel- you have to drive down the street and on to a back road to get there. There were no other people staying in any of the rooms around us (totally deserted). The deadbolt on the front door did not work and the light switches did not work either. Carpets looked like they had not been cleaned ever. It was apparently a "non smoking" room- but reeked like cigarettes and ceiling stained yellow. Holes in the walls that had been filled in.....I could go on but you probably get the picture by now!
Do not book at this hotel!!!! Howard Johnson should be embarrssed that this is one of their properties!!
P.S. We ended up opting to sleep in our car instead of the room (as all other motels in town were booked)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJHtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Travel Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn & Suites

Property: Travel Inn & Suites
Address: 915 George Street | P.O. Box 823, Hearst, Ontario P0L 1N0, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Hearst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hearst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Northern Ontario getaway. Located just off of Front and 9th Streets, the hotel is situated away from highways, railroad tracks and the pollution and noise associated with both. It is right in the heart of Hearst -- close to the most attractive shopping and across from the best restaurants and bars in town. Our comfortable lobby is equipped with a seating area where you can relax or just watch television. The lobby also offers an internet equipped computer and printer for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travel Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing