We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel with a great location”
Review of Auberge des 21

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auberge des 21
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Baie
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
252 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“nice hotel with a great location”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

the hotel is nice and comfortable. but the restaurant is one of the best table in Saguenay.
Food is excellent. Wine list is amazing. Who is up for a bottle of Petrus??? A little expensive for the area, but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skippounet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    37
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
47
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Already disappointed and surprised by a rather suburban location and the proximity to the sights and sounds of the nearby aluminium works, we were very sad to discover that the hotel had closed the allegedly special restaurant for the province of quebec's national day. This had not been mentioned on their website nor had we been advised in advance. If either had been the case we would not have chosen what is essentially a motel with tired and mismatching 1980's decor, preferring some of the many rural (and cheaper!!!) auberges around the beautiful Saguenay fjord. On the plus side, the view of the fjord was perfect ( if you ignored the works!) and the breakast good but this was not worth the $220 that we paid

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurreyBirder2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Went to La Baie for an acroroping competition and stayed at Auberge 21, room 106. The room was recently renovated. clean and quiet. The front window looked out on the Fjord. The front desk staff was friendly and attentive. I thought it was great that the hotel took smoking in a non smoking room seriously, having me initial and acknowledge the possibility of a $75 fine during sign in. Beds were comfortable. Though wi-fi was a little slow, there were not outages or delays.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Went for an afternoon at the spa, no one to bother us, cheap to enjoy the outdoor spa and saunas! No great ambiance like at a ski resort, but at least it's very close from Saguenay and cheap. About 30$ for the day! I truly recommend and I'm planning a stay there in a few weeks!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

20 minutes from the bustle of Chicoutimi, this lovely hotel is made event lovelier by its staff.
If you look for a super modern trendy hotel with all the whistles, it is not the place. The rooms are a bit outdated and the Wi-Fi slow but they are huge and beds are great. It is a very relaxing place, with gorgeous view of the fjord, well worth the extra. The spa was relaxing and the food incredible.
We ate at three different places in LaBaie and I was very impressed ! I will post reviews of the restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The hotel was nice and has a decent spa, but the reason for the "Excellent" rating is the restaurant. It was delicious and the waiter was awesome. He spoke very good english for the area and he definitely knew his wines and foods to pair them with. My group basically gave him the run of the show and let him bring us what he thought was best. Definitely dine in this little hotel. It's pricey, but worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor (only two floors) and with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NateLeben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My group and I plaaned an employee appreciation event at this Auberg and had a wonderful time. The chef did an exquiste job of preparing and presenting the multi course meal. Everyone in the group enjoyed the experience.

We will do this agian next year.

On the personal side, the room was clean, big and well laid out. I would stay here as a tourist the next time I am in the Saquenay region.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Baie
3.9 mi away
L'Auberge des Battures
L'Auberge des Battures
#2 of 2 in La Baie
106 reviews
9.4 mi away
Le Montagnais Saguenay
Le Montagnais Saguenay
#1 of 9 in Chicoutimi
271 reviews
9.3 mi away
La Pourvoirie du Cap au Leste
La Pourvoirie du Cap au Leste
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Rose-du-Nord
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel du Fjord
Hotel du Fjord
#3 of 9 in Chicoutimi
64 reviews
9.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 9 in Chicoutimi
79 reviews
14.1 mi away
Delta Saguenay Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge des 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge des 21

Property: Auberge des 21
Address: 621, rue Mars, La Baie, Saguenay, Quebec G7B 4N1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean Region > Saguenay > La Baie
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge des 21 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the majestic Saguenay Fjord and the Marine Park, Auberge des 21 will be fascinated by its warm family atmosphere, the quality of its services and the finesse of its cuisine. The Auberge des 21 Country Inn & Spa is member of the Quebec Resort & Country Inn Network. With our 31 comfortable rooms and relaxing SPA, you can fully enjoy your holidays or your business meeting. Spend them all with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Auberge des 21 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Des 21 La Baie, Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing