We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and comfortable”
Review of Hotel San Jose

Hotel San Jose
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Jose
Ranked #2 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Piura
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We have stayed a few times at this hotel and have been satisfied each time. We like rooms 208 and 209 at the back on the second floor which have tv, private bathroom, hot water showers, matrimonial bed, fan. Owners are always friendly and the breakfast - juice, eggs, instant coffee and some bread dores the trick. 20 minute walk to center of town but located on a main thoroughfare - 4-5 sole taxi to the center. 10 minute walk to plaza de la luna shopping mall down av. Grau, 15 minute walk to plaza vea plaza on sanchez cerro, both of which have supermarkets and many retail options.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djdgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    20
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
13
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This hotel has the basic in the bedrooms: TV, comfortable bed, decent bathroom. It is near to a shopping mall, where you can find many things: supermarket, food court, banks, and cinema. They helped us contacting the taxi from and to the airport. I recommend it, but if you want to be near the Piura's main square, then you may need to find another place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
104 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Arrived late,without any local currency.Got a taxi which charged us $5 to hotel,a rip off, but needs must! Hotel staff were helpful enough and changed some money for us,so we could eat.
We then just crossed the road,to a Chinese restaurant. It was ok! The room was fine,hotwater,a large flat screen tv. quiet enough.Found the breakfast was ok,same as everywhere.
The lady serving breakfast was very pleasant. Then we were gone on the bus to Chiclayo. So for just a one night stop over.No complaints.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngandsixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Ok area. Ok ish room (internal room). My problem is with the staff. Unfriendly when I arrived like I was disturbing their evening. I was told breakfast wasn't included ( it turned out to be) but I could upgrade, if I really wanted. The next day the lady owner tried to pull a fast one. I had paid a deposit on booking.com of 10% but they were charging me the 10% in their bill. I drew this to their attention. She said that was the booking fee and the full bill was due. I showed her the email to the contrary and suddenly I got a 'special' price. And lots of smiles. And suddenly breakfast was included after I showed them that too. I declined. I felt a bit cheated by it all if I'm honest. Especially as it oat 60 soles. Expensive for a nowhere town in northern Peru. Rant over. Go there if you want but be weary.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Piura hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed here for 1 night while transiting from Ecuador to Lima. It was a very comfortable hotel with a flat screen tv, aircon and decent breakfast the next morning. There is a large new shopping center about 500 metres away that has an excellent shopping centre to buy supplies. We ate dinner there as being a Sunday nothing else was open. FYI, be cautious of the taxi drivers waiting at the bus stations and make sure you agree on a price before leaving.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We paid 60 Soles for a double room with fan and attached bathroom with hot shower. For 4 Soles more you can have your breakfast there which includes also a large glass of great fresh fruit juice. The staff was friendly and could help us with our questions. It's located out of the centre, so it may be not very convenient, if you want to discover the city centre. There are lots of different restaurants just in front.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChMBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

It was tricky finding a reasonably priced hostel in Piura, in a good location. The hotel (not hostel as titled) is at least a 15 min walk to the centre (plaza de armas) but is an excellent choice. We paid s60 for a matrimonial room with private bathroom in total. Breakfast of fresh bread rolls, butter, jam, coffee and freshly made juice was included.

The free wifi is really fast and our room (304) was pretty quiet for Peru, and included a fan and TV, and was generously sized. Marcia, the manager, was incredibly helpful with a map of the city and recommending places to eat.

The hotel is very close to a big shopping mall, so it's pretty convenient and the area is pretty safe too.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heygepetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Piura hotels
1.1 mi away
Costa del Sol Wyndham Piura
1.3 mi away
LP Los Portales Hotel Piura
1.2 mi away
Intiotel
Intiotel
#4 of 15 in Piura
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
El Principe Hoteles
El Principe Hoteles
#8 of 15 in Piura
59 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Piura
1.8 mi away
Hotel Gran Palma
Hotel Gran Palma
#6 of 15 in Piura
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Jose

Property: Hotel San Jose
Address: Av. Grau 1737, Piura, Piura --, Peru
Region: Peru > Piura Region > Piura
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Piura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Jose 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing