We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb holiday in Brazil, something different !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Rio Das Pedras
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mangaratiba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have just spent a week at Club Med, Rio das Pedras. It is quite a journey for South Africans but it is worth it when you get there. Its a beautiful, green, lush setting on the beach. Hendel, the Chief of the Village was the best Chief I have experienced, very friendly with excellent customer service. The resort is older than others I have experienced but the Club Med all inclusive experience is very worth while and excellent value for money. Overall a wonderful week away. (Not much English is spoken but you get to understand what it going on).

Room Tip: Deluxe sea facing rooms was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 2,946 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a review of my stay at the Club Med Rio das Pedras, from 4/13 to 4/19, 2014.

What a pleasure! I had not been to a Club Med in almost 15 years. The last time I'd been to Rio das Pedras was in 1990, with my parents. This time, I visited with my family of four, including a 14 year old boy and a 10 year old girl. We were traveling with additional family, a total of 17 between all adults and kids. We all agreed that we couldn't have had a better experience.
While I had been to a few Club Meds with my parents in the past, all others had not visited Club Med before. I had great memories of my stay in 1990, but was wondering if my experience would be different as an adult. I was wrong, since it was far better.

First of all, Hendel Duplessy, what a host! He was funny, caring, entretaining. When my daughter, niece and nephew would want to show him a "dance" they had made (after the evening show), he would have the lights of the stage turned back on as well as the music, just for them. You don't find that at the Four Seasons! He was interesting to talk to, and provided customer service beyond a five star hotel. He even got us the music for the "crazy signs" dance. Again, I've been to the Ritz and Four Seasons, and the team at Rio das Pedras provided a service beyond what I've experienced at those chains. Hendel runs a well oiled machine.

Our children immediately joined the kid's clubs, which were amazing. Juan and Sucesso (mini club and teenager's GO) were incredible. Always in a good mood, energetic, engaging and keeping them entertained. The kids did not even want to have lunch or dinner with us! They made friends from all over, and experienced activities and fun that was age appropriate for each of them.

As far as my own experience, Japa and Fabiano were truly great tennis GOs. They seemed more than just very nice employees of a resort, more like long time friends. Always in a good mood as well, and teaching with enthusiasm. It is truly your GOs that make the experience, and Rio das Pedras has an amazing team. Belen was super nice and made sure we participated in all activities, and Felipe and Marcelo were lots of fun to be around when water skiing.
The only critique I have, is that the rooms are a bit dated, which is something Club Med is kind of known for. However, we did not care, since we spent very limited time in the rooms. I don't think you go to Club Med expecting "luxurious" accommodations, so you should know that I was not surprised by rooms that needing some "sprucing".
The facilities and cleanliness were spot on. Beyond that, food was very good to excellent, far better than what I've seen at other all inclusive resorts in the Caribbean. All our group agreed that we would happily return, or would like to visit another Club Med in the near future. Our children keep saying that this was one of the best vacations they had (and believe me, they have been to many continents and many many great hotels).

Room Tip: If you prefer to have a quiet experience, choose a room near the "quiet pool", no kids bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globulillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed for a long weekend at this resort. We are a family with two young kids, so we reserved two ¨quarto deluxe¨ with ocean view. The rooms were not connected. The ocean view had the ¨quit pool¨ (a pool just for adults) in the middle, so what you see was more the pool, than the beach.
The service at the bar was good, the people there was very nice.
There are two restaurants. One who serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and the other, ¨Jangada¨ who serves snacks and dinner, but you have to make a reservation. We tried to get a table the day we arrived, but in the front desk they told us it was full for all the weekend, so we didnt have the chance to try it! The service was bad and food was average, they had a lot of choices, but they were not good. I tried a risotto and the rice was undercooked.
The location of this Club Med is really beautiful. However, the beach is steep, not good for the kids.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PauUatSaoPao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Attended a business meeting at this resort. While the location is in a beautiful valley opening to the sea, and clearly was a stunner resort, lack of maintenance leads to a distracting tattiness. Cushions on the couches near the bar are moldy, the rooms clearly need a fresh coat of paint. On the plus side, staff are super friendly, and great selection of fresh, well prepared food at the restaurant.
Beach area could benefit from more regular raking of flotsam and the steep pitch into the water would make me concerned to bring kids there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeopolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I really don’t know where to start to write an excellent review on an even more magical holiday. Words cannot describe the warm and happy feeling we had during our splendid holidays.
First of all the location of this Club Med is amazing. The beautiful rocks (pedras) are wonderful creatures of nature. The beauty of the forest around is astonishing. We’ve never seen so many butterflies in our entire life. A lot of gardeners are in charge of keeping the beach and gardens in a superb condition. They certainly succeed; the whole environment is very well maintained and the boys do the best they can to make the club even more beautiful. Day after day after day! They deserve a lot of respect.

We arrived late in the evening, but that didn’t mean that our welcome was less warm. Said and Andressa waited for us and took care of everything very professionally. We immediately felt at home. Said, the responsible of the reception knows his job very well and does everything he can to help the guests and to satisfy them.
Short after we arrived at the reception Jesus the chief of the village ‘ad interim’ came to welcome us personally. During the absence of the chief of the village, Hendel, Jesus did an amazing job. You can tell he does it with his heart. He did everything he was capable of to make the guests happy and to make sure there was a good ambiance. He was everywhere, talked to everybody and made you feel like you were the most important GM!
We really admire him, because taking over the job of a chief of the village is not easy at all. We’re convinced he will have a beautiful career at Club Med, now as chief of sports, but later certainly as ‘real’ chief of the village.
The rooms are very spacious and well maintained. Special thanks to the cleaning ladies, because our room was always very clean and they changed towels twice a day, which we appreciated a lot. During the evening service they closed our curtains, brought flowers and put some chocolate on our bed.

The calm pool was very peaceful and with the beautiful weather our holidays were just perfect. But not only these ingredients made our vacation wonderful, also the GO’s & GE’s made sure our stay was amazing. They all were extremely friendly, but there are some I want to give a more specific comment.
- Andressa works –as I mentioned before- at the reception. She’s a very very happy and adorable girl who smiles all the time and who is always ready to help. She’s also great to hang out with in the nightclub.
- Stefany works just as Andressa at the reception and she is a very sweet, motivated and enthusiastic GO. Also with her we had a lot of fun in the nightclub.
- Fabio is a colleague of the girls that I just mentioned. He’s a social and motivated GO who wants to help you whenever he can.
- Popeye is the chief of the water-ski. He’s a very professional GO who is always there when you need him. He’s working already a long time at the club and it’s a pleasure to talk to him about his experiences in this great village. He’s very friendly and always optimistic.
- Dany boy is a GO at the water-ski. Not only is he very good at teaching and piloting the boats, he’s also a guy who is always enthusiastic and his performances in the show were pretty good.
- Marcelo is Dany boy’s colleague. He is very kind and he borrowed me his own water-ski, this was a very nice gesture I appreciated a lot. He’s incredibly friendly all the time.
- Luan at the bar is a very nice guy; always smiling and always working very hard. The cocktails he invented are really delicious. He has a very good mentality and makes sure that waiting at the bar isn’t annoying at all.
- Daniela is always happy and smiling and during the shows she dances like a pro, it’s incredible. Even during dancing she doesn’t forget to treat the people with her gorgeous smile.
- Fabinho is the responsible of the animation and the way he dances… Fabulous! It just takes your breath away. It’s really impressive. Just as his colleagues I mentioned already, he’s friendly all the time and he never stops smiling. His moves make you dance and put on your dancing shoes even though you aren’t a dancer.
All the shows were certainly worth watching, not just once, but more than twice!
So congratulations to the whole animation team!
- Bomba, the animator. We laughed every day with him. Not only is he a great entertainer, he is also enormously friendly.
- DJ King is one of the best DJ’s we’ve ever had at Club Med. He really can choose the right music and makes the “entire” dance floor move.
- Chris works at the mini club. She treats the little ones as kings and queens, but not only the kids, because she’s remarkably friendly all the time to everybody.
- Patrick is a very amiable guy who works at the restaurant. He’s very professional and wants to make sure everything is perfect. He did a great job.
- Hugo is also a water-ski GO and he is marvellous! He’s so kind and positive. We adored spending time with him. His performances in the shows were awesome. He’s really talented and you can tell he likes being on stage. We would like to see him back as a chief of the village one day, we’re sure he has all the capacities to become one.
- Jel is the responsible of the land sports. He’s always happy, always smiling, always encouraging people to join the fun (crazy signs, pool games). He’s a marvellous GO.
Both Hugo and Jel will have a beautiful career at Club Med, because they are GO’s as it should be: motivated, enthusiastic, talented, happy, smiling… and so on. They also made us feel very welcome in their beautiful country, which is also a very important aspect of being on holidays in a country far away.

I want to emphasize that ALL the GO’s and GE’s were super friendly and did a great job. It’s not because I mentioned only some of the GO’s that it means that the other ones weren’t nice or friendly at all… On the contrary, they all are wonderful and they do their jobs really well with a lot of passion and a lot of ‘joie de vivre’. To know them all we had to stay a few weeks more, but unfortunately we couldn’t.

We want to congratulate the chief of the kitchen, Cyrille, because every day the food was extraordinary. Also the ‘chef de patissier’, Thierry deserves a special thanks. Never in my life I tasted a millefeuille that was so delicious.
Luiz from the kitchen was a lovely and social GO.

After a week at this heaven on earth place, Hendel, the chief of the village arrived. His motto is: ‘If you can’t handle it, Hendel it’. He did Hendel it. It was stunning! How he can make all his guests move and participate, it’s just amazing.
He’s a marvellous chief of the village who had an enormous respect for all the people he works with. For him all of them are colleagues, not his staff. This mentality is magnificent, it is as it should be in every Club Med. We had a lot of luck to experience this as a GM.
He is one of the first chiefs of the villages –just as Antonio on the Club Med 2- we’ve seen performing during the show and yet again it was spectacular.
Hendel is somebody who wants to be close to his colleagues, but also to his guests. He organised a bowls game where we had lots of fun with GO’s and GM’s.
During the game we saw the wonderful capybara that lives there with her three babies. Yet again a magical moment. Nature is so beautiful. The way Hendel talks about the club made you want to stay, for example: the capybaras, the butterflies, the monkeys and the woods.

The last two days before we had to go home (with pain in our hearts), it started raining, but we didn’t mind, because the rain was so incredibly lovely.
What do you do when it rains all day I hear you thinking? Well with or without a clear sky, fun is assured. Hendel started a quiz ‘What’s in my pocket?’ and the hours went even more fast by than when it wasn’t raining. This liquid sunshine has certainly also his charm.

Even the goodbye was highly finished. We left the club with the feeling that we had to go back as soon as possible.


THANK YOU ALL FOR EVERYTHING! YOU GUYS WERE VERY PROFESSIONAL, FABULOUS, WONDERFUL, BRILJANT, MERVELOUS, EXTRAORDINARY! IT WAS REALLY SUPERDUPER! ALL OF YOU MADE US FEEL LIKE PRINCESSES DURING OUR STAY!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thestephson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed for a week during low season and got a very good price for a family with two small children. However the club had just been undergoing renovations which had not been finished in time, so the large swimming pool and parts of the common area were a big noisy building site for the entirety of our stay - this was very disappointing and the staff weren't particularly good at dealing with it.

Apart from that, the location is beautiful and conveniently located for Rio de Janeiro. It is the Mata Atlantica, so there is plenty of nature including nice things like birds, butterflies and capibaras but also serious mosquitoes. The beach is steep and not great for small kids as it gets deep quite quickly. You can see oil tankers cruising past daily - the downside of Rio's oil boom.

Guests were mostly Brazilian with some Argentinians mixed in - if you want quiet nights, try and stay at the far end of the resort, near the "quiet" pool. Although most rooms are far enough from the bar/disco area, people walking home past your room in the evening will make a lot of noise.

Staff was largely very nice - typical Club Med style.

Room Tip: Stay at the end, close to quiet pool to avoid being woken by people walking past at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamcooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The place where the hotel is located is one of the most spectacular in Brazil. Imbedded between the mountains of "Serra do mar" and it's rainforest and the emerald colored sea, this place gets close to paradise.
The hotel itself, accommodations, common areas are already showing its age, but it all get compensated by the gentleness of the staff.
The "all inclusive system" by club med is a bit different from other major hotel chains, but, the quality of the food and service really compensate the sometimes lesser abundance.
I would definitely recommend to friends!
A tip: be prepared for an occasional rain, choose well when to go!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank LeoQueiroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangaratiba
Portobello Resort & Safari
#2 of 5 in Mangaratiba
854 reviews
Hotel Porto Real
#3 of 5 in Mangaratiba
867 reviews
Praia do Jardim
Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis
Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis
#3 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Promenade Angra dos Reis
#2 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
1,447 reviews
Angra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
516 reviews
Portogalo Suite Hotel
#13 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Rio Das Pedras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Rio Das Pedras

Address: Rodovia Rio Santos BR 101 Km 441.5, Mangaratiba, State of Rio de Janeiro 23860-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Mangaratiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mangaratiba
Price Range: £256 - £682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Club Med Rio Das Pedras 4.5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South of Rio de Janeiro, the Village of Rio das Pedras nestles amid lush greenery set at the edge of a long beach in Brazil. The Village's colonial style bungalows mingle in harmony with the surrounding wildlife. The large seafront swimming pool lies next to the restaurant where after a day of water-skiing or excursions, a variety of buffets await you. Here in this unique location, the live music and warmth of the Brazilian welcome will sweep you away into another world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Club Med Rio Das Pedras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Rio Das Pedras Hotel Mangaratiba
Club Med Mangaratiba
Mangaratiba Club Med
Club Med Rio Das Pedras Rio De Janeiro, Brazil - Mangaratiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing