We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business in the midst of beauty.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Los Dos Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Jocotepec B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We needed a place to gather 4 families for a yearly meeting. Los Dos B&B was the ideal place. The beautiful grounds and charming villas were a wonderful backdrop for our time together. Phyllis and her staff did an outstanding job making us feel at home. The breakfasts were delicious. Phyllis helped us find interesting places to eat in Jocotepec.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Los Dos Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

Los Dos B &B is a truly unique place to stay, on the edges of the picturesque village of Jocotepec, Jalisco. I have stayed there several times in the past. Beautiful apartments and studio, pet friendly. Breakfast is outstanding ! From the patio, you look out over Lake Chapala and the beautiful mountains on the other side of the lake. The swimming pool is great after a warm day exploring the waterfront, restaurants, and scenic plaza ! The hostess is a wealth of information and friendliness.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and have good views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooks775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindoyquerido, Owner at Los Dos Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Brooks, We are so glad you have enjoyed your visits to Los Dos! My staff and I continue to do our best to make Los Dos even better! When you return you will see the new "sitting circle" by the front gate. It is a perfect place to sit near the new palm tree and flowers while you wait for a ride or catch your breath after walking up the hill. We are also working on a new, improved wifi system so that our guests may enjoy stronger internet reception on their laptops, or tablets. Most of the citrus and other trees on the property have received professional pruning and are showing their appreciation with thousands of new blossoms and green leaflets. Mari, Manuel, Jose and I look forward to your next visit and the chance to spoil you with one of our new breakfast recipes. Until then, Saludos, Phyllis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stay with Phyllis at Los Dos just about every year going back to the late 80s. Los dos is very comfortable and you have your own kitchen, bath and bedroom as well as a delicious daily breakfast. The apartments, you cannot call them just rooms, are comfortable and each is nestled among the most amazing flowers and visited by every kind of bird you can imagine. Mari, the maid helps Phyllis serve truly good Mexican breakfasts and keeps our rooms spotless for us. It is a virtual Paradise, one of the most beautiful, if not the most beautiful place we know of. We love it and Phyllis. It is well located for visiting all over Western Mexico as well as the beautiful Lake Chapala area. Please try it you will not be sorry!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nahid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindoyquerido, Owner at Los Dos Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you so much for your warm and wonderful response to Los Dos and all of us. We have also very much enjoyed your frequent visits and some of the wonderful gifts you have shared with my staff and village. Our conversations are always fun and interesting,and I look forward to your next visit! We have two new part time staff members, just as wonderful as Mari and Manuel. Young Jose helps with those jobs that need youthful strength and enthusiasm, and Don Pedro's qualities are very special. He has created a new shed door and fence near the pool, utilizing the ubiquitous carrizo bamboo that grows on the south side of the property. His most recent creation is a sitting area near the gate. It has wonderful rock walls and a salmon colored slate top. It is the perfect place to wait for a ride, or just sit and take in a new view. It seems a long time since you were last here. Hope we will see you soon this year, Phyllis and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Los Dos B&B is all you need if you are in wanting a refuge to rest, unwind, relax and recharge. Phyllis welcomes you to her beautiful villa, her lovely gardens full of native plants, and her carefully built and decorated apartments full of little details and impressive original art painted by herself or her late husband Georg. We stayed at the little but charming 3-story house with a balcony that offers a spectacular view of Lake Chapala and its surrounding mountains. The view is breathtaking, the host is gracious and the whole ambiance is peaceful and inspiring. We feel honored to have met Phyllis and we highly recommend Los Dos for a relaxing stay away from it all!!

Room Tip: The Deluxe 3 story little house with its balcony and charming decoration allows you privacy and its...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We are soon heading back to Los Dos for three weeks, our third extended stay in this beautiful and relaxing compound on the hill above Lake Chapala. Phyllis is a welcoming and interesting host, all of the apartments are well equipped and lovely, and the extensive and very private garden (with a great swimming pool) is absolutely enchanting. We spend our early mornings watching dozens of hummingbirds swarm around the feeder as we have a leisurely breakfast; our days are spent shopping in the local markets and wandering along the Malecon to watch the myriad pelicans, herons and ibis. We often explore, on foot, the villages along the lake. Los Dos is a treasure just a little removed from the usual tourist routes. We love it there!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Laurie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Los Dos B & B is a slice of paradise. The grounds are absolutely amazing, the pool pristine and the view of Lake Chapalla as we ate breakfast on the upstairs balcony was amazing. Mari served wonderful breakfasts each morning - much more than we expected and quite a variety of delicious foods. Loved watching the hummingbirds as we ate breakfast. We were fortunate to be there the night the Queen of the Night was in full bloom - absolutely stunning - lots of pictures were taken. Phyllis came over to tell us about them as we were relaxing outside our room. Phyllis was a gracious hostess!

Room Tip: Be sure and choose a room on the lower level if you have any type of special access need. Phyllis wa...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have been to Los Dos at least 10 times. It is our place to recharge, renew, relax. All the apartments at Los Dos are beautiful and well equipped. We find it hard to choose which one to stay in next time! Phyllis and her staff are welcoming and responsive to our needs. The gardens are very lovely, the view is divine, and the weather at Lake Chapala is never too hot, never too cold. There are over 180 varieties of birds ( according to one bird watching guest) visiting the gardens. A favourite thing to do on arrival is to hang up the hummingbird feeder! You can get dozens at a time! Los Dos is a little off the beaten track, but close enough to town, and shopping and markets to leave your car behind. And check out the Malecon, a beautiful park at the Lake, perfect for those morning walks, for bird watching.

Room Tip: For the best views of the lake, choose the Balcony Suite or the Aerie.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jocotepec
1.1 mi away
El Chante Spa Hotel
El Chante Spa Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jocotepec
81 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Balneario San Juan Cosala
10.8 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 7 in Ajijic
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 7 in Ajijic
331 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 7 in Ajijic
169 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 7 in Ajijic
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Dos Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Dos Bed and Breakfast

Address: Calle Rico Norte 191 | Nestipac, Jocotepec 45800, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Jocotepec
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Jocotepec
Price Range: £76 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a hillside overlooking Lake Chapala, and just a few lakeside miles from Ajijic and Chapala, Los Dos B&B offers visitors a tranquil location with 4 separate suites offering private bath and kitchen, a heated pool, and secure parking. Over thirty years of living in and loving Mexico make writer and artist Phyllis Rauch the perfect host for sharing insights and experiences as well as for answering your many questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Los Dos Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Dos Bed And Breakfast Jocotepec, Mexico - Jalisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing