We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend”
Review of Pharae Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pharae Palace
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Kalamata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Everything was impeccable! the room was very modern, clean, and had an amazing view. The roof garden and restaurant were outstanding and the service excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel for everything including its location!!

Room Tip: best views w rooms at the front overlooking the sea..2nd floor and higher
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank towelrnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Pharae Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear sir & madam,

Thank you very much for your good words,

Best regards,

George Antoniou
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Pharae Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

Wanting to be close to our family we chose Pharae for proximity to family, beach and the city centre. We chose the hotel over staying at our own holiday home not too far away. The room was spacious, buffet breakfast catered to a variety of tastes and we had wonderful views of the beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful from even before we arrived. As someone who is from Kalamata but born and raised overseas I am proud of this hotel and will return in 2014. Well done to the management and staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Pharae Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Miss Maria,

Your good words is really an honor for us.
Hopefully when you come back as you mentioned to visit us.

Best regards,

George Antoniou
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Great view from the roof top bar and restaurant, food was OK but a little overpriced, nothing special and not very Greek. One night I left without dinner as I waited for over an hour and no one came to take my order even though I was the first one there, the hostess was most apologetic when I informed her 2 nights later. The room was lovely and everything worked properly, it was great having a balcony that overlooked the bay. Although the staff were very friendly they didn't really know much about their town, and certainly didn't know anything about getting to Ancient Messene, they rang the bus station and got the time and day of the bus that was it, no further information. They also didn't bother telling me that the post office closes at 2 pm after giving me directions to get there. They had massive wifi problems when I was there so we were without wifi (including their in house computers in the foyer) for 3 days.

All in all a perfectly fine hotel to stay in just make sure you ask every question you can think of when looking for information or directions. Kalamata itself is a little drab but Ancient Messeneis definitely worth a visit and any hiccups along the way.

Room Tip: I was facing the bay and although the road gets very busy at night the soundproofing when the glass...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonshadow2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Pharae Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Miss,

We are very sorry regarding our forgetness to offer you our services on time in dining area and if you please accept my apologies for one more time.
At your disposal,

Best regards,

George Antoniou
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed there in September on arrival in Kalamata. Central location opposite the seafront, easy to find & parked outside. Helpful staff & excellent breakfast. Room comfortable & quiet. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Pharae Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Miss Sandra,

Thank you very much for your good words,

Best regards,

George Antoniou
Hotel General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

we stayed in this hotel after a late flight into Kalamata.Easy drive from the airport and hotel right on the front.The room was very good for the money that we paid as was the included breakfast.Very helpful staff when we asked them to suggest restaurants in the area.Lastly had a drink at the end of the evening on the rooftop which was extremely pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patbrownett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Pharae Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Mr Brownett,

Thank you very much for your good words.
It is really a great honnor for as to have so good reviews from a person who travell around the world and visit hundred hotels.
Hopefully to see you again.

Best regards,

George Antoniou
Hotel general Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

my stay there was about three years ago. there early October. had a 4/3 stay there after doing Athens and cruise. it's on the beach front of the bay, across from beach. beach area to swim ,walk to. I had a room with balcony that faced the beach,so I could sit out oon,get sun. at time ,pool on top floor,as they where fixing it. nice hotel w/ breakfast daily. buses run daily by it. near shopping mall . along the beach walk in along side of hotel, numerous eating places. food was good . also quite a few tourist shops. would like to go back again. any one a fan of "YANNI",its his home town.but he didn't become famous till here in America. can tell by new photos, place has been done over. note: at time ,could not find plane from Athens to there,so was booked on main coach bus. when I got to station at earlier time,as this would put me there ,giving me more time. took 7 am bs. two buses there saying kalamata.got on one. as we were on outside of Athens on thru-way,bus turned off. as we went further,this was a local bus. but glad I took it, as this was most likely the ole road to kalamata. went high into mountains ,real curvy roads. stop at major towns for people. also while enroute, saw some historic monuments. the average tour person would not see this,so if you want to drive or take bus ,recommend you take this route. hotel staff,great, breakfast nice, and the people there polite and pleasant.

Room Tip: my room faced bay front.when sliding doors close to balcony,heard no traffic. on balcony ,yes,but li...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattibaby41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Pharae Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Miss Patty,

I have notice from your profile that your are a very busy traveller and your excellent words for our hotel is an upper value for us.

Best regards,

George Antoniou
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The hotel has been recently renovated, the rooms are spacious with great view to the beach of Kalamata. The location is very convenient, you just cross the road and you are at the waterfront promenade. The quality and variety of breakfast was far above above the usual and the staff very friendly.
The most spectacular part of the hotel is the new roof-garden, with a brethtaking panoramic view to the messinean bay. It is open day and night for coffee, snacks, meals and drinks. Even if you don't stay at the hotel, a drink at the roofgarden at sunset is highly recommended. We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with seaview.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KstsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Pharae Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your good words.
It would be nice to see you again.

Best regards,

George Antoniou

Hotel general Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamata hotels
1.4 mi away
Elite City Resort
Elite City Resort
#3 of 21 in Kalamata
442 reviews
1.7 mi away
Filoxenia
Filoxenia
#5 of 21 in Kalamata
401 reviews
1.0 mi away
Horizon Blu
Horizon Blu
#1 of 21 in Kalamata
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ostria
Hotel Ostria
#6 of 21 in Kalamata
139 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mantinia Bay Hotel
Mantinia Bay Hotel
#4 of 21 in Kalamata
217 reviews
3.2 mi away
Akti Taygetos Conference Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pharae Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pharae Palace

Address: Navarinou Str & R. Rerreou Street, Kalamata 241 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Kalamata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kalamata
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kalamata
#3 Family Hotel in Kalamata
Price Range: £57 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pharae Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the famous Kalamata beachfront, the Pharae Palace is minutes away from fine restaurants, trendy open air cafes, both modern and traditional shopping districts and the Port of Kalamata. The Pharae Palace offers to its quests excellent facilities, together with a high standard of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pharae Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pharae Palace Hotel Kalamata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing