We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base for seaside holiday and for exploring the Peloponnese”
Review of Filoxenia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Filoxenia
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Kalamata
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ideal base for seaside holiday and for exploring the Peloponnese”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

An efficiently run hotel with charming and helpful staff. Right on the beach (stones) with beautiful swimming in Kalamata bay and stunning views of the surrounding mountains. The buildings are set round the central pool and the dining/bar area is to one side of this which makes for very pleasant al fresco dining. The food is good with a large choice to suit all tastes. The wine is outrageously expensive (28euros) and pretty grim. We longed to have a caraf of local wine (which was very good and 2-3 euros in local tavernas) with our dinner each night, but this is not available at the hotel.
There is a very pleasant spa with indoor pool, gym and sauna. Christiana gives wonderful massages but unfortunately the treatment rooms are not air-conditioned and so even in September I found them unpleasantly stuffy and hot. Goodness knows what they must be like in the height of Summer.
An ideal base for touring this corner of Greece.

Room Tip: Some rooms have good Wi-Fi service, others do not, although Wi-Fi is always available in the lobby a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    138
    75
    28
    5
See reviews for
169
110
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I spent 2 nights in Sept.2013. The hotel is situated in the east end of kalamata's beach. It is quite and a 5'min drive from the center. The hotel staff is very polite and helpful. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. I enjoyed the pool and the beach is just outside the hotel. Breakfast is good and I liked having it by the pool ( you are served any kind of coffee you wish - not just American or filter). The bar is slightly expensive as you might expect. They need to take care of some details ( towels & curtains are getting old...) to deserve full 4 stars. Overall I recommend it

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dimitris012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

A nice hotel on Kalamata great beach. We stayed for 3 nights and very much enjoyed swimming & relaxed. Umbrellas and sunbeds are offered for free. Breakfast is good, we did not try the restaurant food - we preferred driving around in Kalamata and the wider area of Mani. The place is very nice, the room was ok - the bed was creaking. People, polite, kind, professionals. Spa and gym are included in the price, which I found quite high for what is offered overall. The rest of the hotel, unfortunately does not have much to offer, the lobby is nothing special, no activities for kids or anything if this is what you are interested. Kalamata is 5' driving, a nice town which reminded me a little of the past - maybe Greece of 80s or even 70s.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yiannis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harker Heights, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

we stayed June of 2011 for 9 days. Absolutely amazing. Very pleased with our room and a wonderful breakfast offered every morning. The people of Kalamata are very welcoming and helpful!!! Had a massage at the hotel. AAAAAAmazing!!!!! Vacation of a lifetime, I will never forget.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heatherthepicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We've stayed there with our two babies- 2.5 years and 11 months for 4 nights in Superior Room. Lets start with the good things: the view is wonderful, the food is very good and the beach is beautiful with nice deep and clean water. The things that are bed from our experience: the maintenance is low. It starting in the gardens which looks quite poor, and defiantly not in a level of 4-5 stars hotel, continuing with stains on the public areas floor, and the towels are very chip and old that I wouldn't consider using at home...The TV is from the 80' but when we checked out we saw a delivery of new flat screen TVs. Another thing that really annoying is what they call "kids club" or something like that...It's a beautiful gallery floor with old and ruined toys that probably guests left at the hotel...The gap between what you see in their web site to the reality is huge...

Room Tip: Rooms with sea& pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indio, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We have been staying there every time we visit Kalamata because of it location on the beach and its proximity to town. The setting is lovely and we often meet our greek relatives there while attending the summer Dance festival.
It was recently renovated and the room was nice. Our original room assignment had problems with the A/C and we immediately asked to be relocated. Since we made our reservations in March for a July stay we got a special deal which made it much more reasonable. We did not insist on views because the premium to pay is too high.
The breakfast was very abundant and with incredible variety. The greek yogurt with honey is amazing! Oh, yes and they also have "loukoumades" at the breakfast buffet!!
The sea is very clean and the water at mid depth all the way across the coastline.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlyPil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed in the middle of August and wouldn't recommend it to anyone. We paid £2000 overall (including flights) approximately £1200 for the 'deluxe' hotel room and half board which we got 'upgraded to' anyway. Upon arrival we got an extremely vague greeting, no information was given about the area and no one offered to take our luggage upstairs to our room. The room was certainly not 'deluxe', the balcony was minuscule and had a tree right in front of it blocking any chance of the view. The room was extremely dirty, the CD player that was meant to be in the room wasn't there, the bed was extremely uncomfy , there was absolutely no decor to the room and it wasn't at all pleasant to be in. Admittedly the staff did act rather fast and we had a new and much better room the following day. Regarding the food: where to begin? We were lucky to be upgraded to half board for free (but with no explanation why) although both the breakfast and dinner buffet consisted if the same thing EVERY single night, the only thing that changed was the flavour of pasta. The food was cold, off putting and really not very eatable at times. There were a couple of nice staff but the majority of them were intimidating and not focused at all, on occasions they would forget to bring us drinks we had ordered and generally deal with things in the wrong way e.g not making sure the wine was cold before serving. Nightlife? Well there wasn't any in fact the only 'nightlife' was sitting by the pool in the evening listening to the children screaming their heads off. Be aware that the reason this hotel is costly is because it has a private beach literally 10 steps away from the hotel pool and that is it. Yes that's a great bonus but even then, all the sun beds and umbrellas are broken which makes it rather unenjoyable anyway. 1 last thing... You pay 4 euros for a coffee, and need a Mortgage to buy anything else.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leilahurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamata hotels
0.4 mi away
Elite City Resort
Elite City Resort
#4 of 21 in Kalamata
418 reviews
0.8 mi away
Horizon Blu
Horizon Blu
#1 of 21 in Kalamata
322 reviews
2.3 mi away
Akti Taygetos Conference Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#9 of 21 in Kalamata
68 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pharae Palace
Pharae Palace
#3 of 21 in Kalamata
258 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mantinia Bay Hotel
Mantinia Bay Hotel
#2 of 21 in Kalamata
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filoxenia

Property: Filoxenia
Address: Navarinou st., Kalamata 241 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Kalamata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kalamata
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kalamata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kalamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Filoxenia 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Filoxenia, the perfect Family Getaway in Kalamata. With gorgeous beach and crystal clear waters right in the front, and plenty to do within stroller-pushing distance along an exotic riviera with palm trees to Kalamata town, magnificent Filoxenia is the perfect family getaway. Located on the beachfront of Kalamata, under the magnificent Taygetos Mountain. The Messinian Gulf with its crystal clear azure-blue waters and 300 meters of smooth pebble beach is ideal for luxury holidays in the Peloponnese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Filoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filoxenia Hotel Kalamata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing