We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stuff. Great seevice, great entertaiment!”
Review of Filoxenia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Filoxenia
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Kalamata
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed last week in this hotel and i loved it! From the lovely girl on public relation Anastasia always kinds and smiling to the very nice entertaiment team leader Andrei whom is always finding new ideas of people not getting bored everything was just on my taste. I like the food, the hotel is very clean and the most important you don't get borred. You have aerobics, karaoke, hit parade. Is just great! I will kindly recommend Filoxenia Hotel in Kalamata!! Go for it!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
There are newer reviews for Filoxenia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

If you are going to Kalamata this is the place to stay.
This is an excellent hotel by the beach. Nice swimming pool. Not far from downtown.
Good restaurant with great food.
The reception people are very nice and helpful. They gave us a good restaurant recommendation.
They offer large rooms with great ocean view.

Room Tip: Ask for na Ocean view room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BragaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is an old and overpriced hotel. Situated close to the east end of the city of Kalamata, it offers several services, nevertheless, the hotel's age and the lack of proper maintenance are clearly evident throughout the premises. Rooms are spacious but again age shows in the furniture. The worst about our room was a distinct smell of smoke although smoking was (supposedly) not allowed. Breakfast and dinner buffets were quite satisfactory with good variety and quality of food. The staff seems cold and distant but all in all effective. The hotel beach is average. If you choose to stay in this hotel, get a car and explore the plethora of great beaches that the wider region offers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thada18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

An efficiently run hotel with charming and helpful staff. Right on the beach (stones) with beautiful swimming in Kalamata bay and stunning views of the surrounding mountains. The buildings are set round the central pool and the dining/bar area is to one side of this which makes for very pleasant al fresco dining. The food is good with a large choice to suit all tastes. The wine is outrageously expensive (28euros) and pretty grim. We longed to have a caraf of local wine (which was very good and 2-3 euros in local tavernas) with our dinner each night, but this is not available at the hotel.
There is a very pleasant spa with indoor pool, gym and sauna. Christiana gives wonderful massages but unfortunately the treatment rooms are not air-conditioned and so even in September I found them unpleasantly stuffy and hot. Goodness knows what they must be like in the height of Summer.
An ideal base for touring this corner of Greece.

Room Tip: Some rooms have good Wi-Fi service, others do not, although Wi-Fi is always available in the lobby a...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VicLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I spent 2 nights in Sept.2013. The hotel is situated in the east end of kalamata's beach. It is quite and a 5'min drive from the center. The hotel staff is very polite and helpful. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. I enjoyed the pool and the beach is just outside the hotel. Breakfast is good and I liked having it by the pool ( you are served any kind of coffee you wish - not just American or filter). The bar is slightly expensive as you might expect. They need to take care of some details ( towels & curtains are getting old...) to deserve full 4 stars. Overall I recommend it

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Dimitris012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

A nice hotel on Kalamata great beach. We stayed for 3 nights and very much enjoyed swimming & relaxed. Umbrellas and sunbeds are offered for free. Breakfast is good, we did not try the restaurant food - we preferred driving around in Kalamata and the wider area of Mani. The place is very nice, the room was ok - the bed was creaking. People, polite, kind, professionals. Spa and gym are included in the price, which I found quite high for what is offered overall. The rest of the hotel, unfortunately does not have much to offer, the lobby is nothing special, no activities for kids or anything if this is what you are interested. Kalamata is 5' driving, a nice town which reminded me a little of the past - maybe Greece of 80s or even 70s.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yiannis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

we stayed June of 2011 for 9 days. Absolutely amazing. Very pleased with our room and a wonderful breakfast offered every morning. The people of Kalamata are very welcoming and helpful!!! Had a massage at the hotel. AAAAAAmazing!!!!! Vacation of a lifetime, I will never forget.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heatherthepicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamata hotels
0.4 mi away
Elite City Resort
Elite City Resort
#3 of 21 in Kalamata
442 reviews
0.8 mi away
Horizon Blu
Horizon Blu
#1 of 21 in Kalamata
328 reviews
2.3 mi away
Akti Taygetos Conference Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#9 of 21 in Kalamata
74 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pharae Palace
Pharae Palace
#2 of 21 in Kalamata
268 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mantinia Bay Hotel
Mantinia Bay Hotel
#4 of 21 in Kalamata
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filoxenia

Address: Navarinou st., Kalamata 241 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Kalamata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kalamata
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kalamata
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kalamata
Price Range: £84 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Filoxenia 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Filoxenia, the perfect Family Getaway in Kalamata. With gorgeous beach and crystal clear waters right in the front, and plenty to do within stroller-pushing distance along an exotic riviera with palm trees to Kalamata town, magnificent Filoxenia is the perfect family getaway. Located on the beachfront of Kalamata, under the magnificent Taygetos Mountain. The Messinian Gulf with its crystal clear azure-blue waters and 300 meters of smooth pebble beach is ideal for luxury holidays in the Peloponnese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Filoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filoxenia Hotel Kalamata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing