We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Akti Taygetos Conference Resort
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Kalamata
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

A little bit far from the city of Kalamata ,but the resort has good sea view also has a small beach.
breakfast of the hotel was rich and tasty.
The staff was friendly.
Pool,parking beach bar available,
Free wifi works good.
There are also bungalows.
The rooms has huge balcony.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Atıl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We drove to this hotel for two nights of relaxation and pampering to get over our jet lag. We are a family of 5 and had a 2 room appartment with one bathroom, The pool was really nice, just a bit cool due to the atypical rainy weather. The pool bar was also a nice touch. Service in general was impeccable, from the front desk to the breakfast area. Breakfast included eggs, tomatoes, fresh fruit, cheeses, cold cuts, cookies, juices, milk, bread, cereal, coffee...We ate at a nearby restaurant called το θαλασσακι with yummy food, beautiful views and kind patrons.The proximity to Kalamata was helpful ( 5 min by car) as we were able to set up our phones with SIM cards, get groceries and take out some cash before heading to spending a week at a summer house in a village 30 min away. We had a fridge and table with chairs, but no mini bar. There was also a service where you could order silver jewellery from a local place called Femi and have it delivered in 2 hrs max. Do take a look!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daisy970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Spending 2 nights here. First impressions are spotlessly clean & tidy everywhere, easy parking & friendly & helpful staff. First night we arrived we were given a bungalow room which was dark, very basic (although v clean) & smelt of smoke -although we asked for non- smoking. We asked to change following day & were upgraded to a room in the main building with a sea view which was soooo much lighter, bigger, comfortable & altogether nicer. First night we are dinner in hote (buffet) which was bland & no atmosphere in restaurant. We ate out 2nd night in Kalamata at the De Francesco italian restaurant in the Marina which was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bookworm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The staf in the hotel was extremley friendly and offered its help in a professional way as one can expect from people working in a 4 star hotel. I even did not have to pay for the few drinks I used from the minibar. This hotel is simply wonderfull.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed for two nights during an off-peak season, and this hotel definitely met our expectations. The staff was very helpful and polite, the room clean and spacious (we were offered a free upgrade to a superior room), breakfast was very good and the price paid for our stay reasonable. On the other hand, you do need a car (or to hire a taxi) if you want to see Kalamata. Hope to come back during summer time to get a complete picture of this hotel (pool, beach etc.)!

Room Tip: rooms in the main building seem better than the bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonidasGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We chose this hotel for a night’s rest after flying from England, because we thought that (1) it would be easy to find – it was; (2) reception would cope with a delayed arrival – in the event not an issue; (3) we would get a meal in the restaurant (or through room service) around 9pm – wrong!

The sales pitch (we booked through Venere) says “this 4-star hotel has 2 restaurants serving … dinner… so there’s no need to worry about dining options”. The hotel’s own info tells you that the restaurant is open for dinner from 7pm to 9pm, and that room service is available until 11pm. On arrival (about 8.30pm) we were told that the restaurant was closed and that therefore there was no room service. Is this really acceptable in a 4 star hotel on a Saturday night? Beware - other reviewers have indicated similar issues.

The helpful receptionist suggested that we try a nearby taverna – we did. Frustrated would-be diners could do worse than to turn left out of the hotel’s exit and head 800m or so to the Taverna Ta Kavourakia.

Having said that, we enjoyed our brief stay at the Akti Taygetos. The restaurant redeemed itself next morning, when the ‘rich buffet breakfast’ exceeded expectations. Offerings ranged from bacon and eggs in many guises to a selection of yummy cakes. We are just sorry that this time we couldn’t stop to sample the pool or beach.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bwanaalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed for one week in September/October 2013 in a ‘superior room’. This hotel has many positive features. The junior staff were friendly, the room was regularly cleaned to a high standard, and the pool is a good size and well maintained. Minor niggles include a hard mattress and breakfasts of varying quality - better on some days than on others, with noticeably wider choices when conferences were being hosted.
The location is not ideal. There are only 4 buses per day to Kalamata, 3 at weekends, some at inconvenient times and they often run late as they are in effect long-distance coaches coming up the Mani peninsula from as far away as Oitylo. To walk to the nearest tavernas is hazardous due to narrow, broken and often non-existent pavements. Don’t pursue this option unless you enjoy being barked at by fierce guard-dogs. There are some alternatives. A taxi into town can be ordered (10 euros to the harbour, or 12 euros to the Old Town), and car hire can be arranged for 35 euros per day.
The real problem we had in this hotel was to do with ever-changing dining and swimming arrangements. Some days they laid on a Greek buffet, some days they did not. Some days you could eat in the pool bar, some days you could not. Some days the lift to the private beach was operational, some days it was locked and you could not reach the hotel’s (pleasant) private terrace by any other means. Some days there was a bar service by the pool, some days it was shut. This would not have been so frustrating if the staff had put up a notice each morning to inform guests about what was happening. But they did not, and the girls at the front desk, who always tried to be helpful, often appeared unsure as to what would or would not be functioning.
The air conditioning in the room was no less frustrating. It worked sporadically, then would switch to (non-chilled) fan mode and you would have to phone the reception to turn it back to cold. One day they seemed unable to do this and told me to open the window instead. I tried this, but at 1.30 a.m. there was such a did outside from a congregation of inconsiderate and argumentative Greek guests that I had to go down to reception in my pyjamas and plead with them to turn it on (which they did - buy why should guests have to get up to ask the night porter to re-set the air conditioning in the middle of the night in a 4-star hotel?).
Our last day was a nightmare and effectively ruined the holiday. We returned to the hotel after a long day’s drive looking forward to celebrate the end of our holiday with cocktails and a nice meal by the pool. The bar was lit up, people were sitting around. It was 7.30. Sorry, says the waiter, there is no food, you have to go to the main restaurant. No explanation. We go to the main restaurant, which is closed. It will open at 8, says the helpful but evidently misinformed girl at the desk. It does not open, so we call the manager. Totally indifferent to our plight, he informs us curtly that the hotel is hosting a conference and thus, obviously, all restaurants are to remain closed. This in a 4-star hotel, with no prior warning given, and nowhere else to go except walk in the dark to the nearest village, along a busy main road?? What a helpful suggestion! After much arguing and VERY LITTLE SYMPATHY shown by the manager and head waitress, they agreed to scrape something together for us. When it came, it turned out to be luke-warm strips of gyros meat garnished with some stale pitta bread, priced at 7 euros. We were ordered to consume this far from appetising repast on the (by now cold and dark) balcony, so as not to disturb the conference delegates (who were nowhere to be seen, they did not emerge till after midnight, when they competed with one another to see who could shout loudest outside our window). Need I say more? Avoid.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Makaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makarounis_Dimitrios, operation manager at Akti Taygetos Conference Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear sir,
thank you for staying at Akti Taygetos Conference Resort 4*. We have to apologize because we did not succeed in your expectattions...the last day. We are really surprised, because almost all comments are for that day. As we understand, the most serious problem was that there was happening a conference meeting at our hotel and it was not as quiet as you prefered. You were taking your dinner almost every evening at our restaurant...and the meal was not good enough?
Also, the A/C is in order all day and night. Only if a client changes the temperature or the rest settings, creates problems...that we try to solve immediately.
In any case, thank you for your comments, we will try to become better and we wish you to find out what exactly you are looking for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamata hotels
2.4 mi away
Elite City Resort
Elite City Resort
#3 of 21 in Kalamata
448 reviews
2.3 mi away
Filoxenia
Filoxenia
#5 of 21 in Kalamata
406 reviews
2.6 mi away
Horizon Blu
Horizon Blu
#1 of 21 in Kalamata
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#9 of 21 in Kalamata
76 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantinia Bay Hotel
Mantinia Bay Hotel
#4 of 21 in Kalamata
224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Messinian Bay Hotel
Messinian Bay Hotel
#8 of 21 in Kalamata
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Taygetos Conference Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Taygetos Conference Resort

Address: Kalamata 241 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Kalamata
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Kalamata
Price Range: £48 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Akti Taygetos Conference Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in one of the most beautiful spots of the Messinian Bay, under the shadow of Mount Taygetus and only a few minutes from the centre of Kalamata, Akti Taygetos Conference Resort provides the perfect setting for your vacation or your business trips.To complement your stay, we offer free wi-fi, satellite TV, a spacious parking lot, a large swimming pool, relaxing Jacuzzi and a magnificent, organized beach perfect for swimming, fun and games.All rooms and apartments are painted in warm colours and are elegantly decorated, reflecting quality and luxury. They all have large balconies with a panoramic view, and are equipped with air-conditioning, anatomical mattresses, refrigerator or mini-bar, safe and hair-drier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akti Taygetos Conference Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing