We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of BanSala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BanSala
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Koroni
Manhattan Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We can not say enough great things about Ban Sala and how wonderful our time spent there was! The property is situated superbly on a hill overlooking the ocean and the town of Koroni, which is about 10 minutes drive away. The villa itself is designed with all of the modern amenities and designed thoughtfully and tastefully.
After exploring the sights and/or relaxing at the beach, we were so happy to come back to the peace and tranquility of our villa. Our hosts, Lyn and Peter were so welcoming and full of recommendations, that there was never a lack of things to do and see, or best of all, just relax. Oh, and the special touch of arriving at our villa and having a chilled bottle of wine with some local fruits and goodies was over the top!
Our trip flew by all too quickly, but the memory is everlasting.
Ban Sala will always have a special place in our hearts

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IreneMJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I can’t believe it’s almost a month since we returned from the gorgeous BanSala. We stayed in the blue villa for 10 days from 24th August and had the most wonderful time. It exceeded all of our expectations.

The grounds were immaculately kept, the villas were spotless and the pool was so clean (thanks to the hard-working Peter)! Our villa was perfect and had everything we could possibly need, from kitchen utensils to toiletries and even matches and kitchen roll. On the first night, we were welcomed by a fridge full of delicious treats and a bottle of wine which was amazing after a stressful journey from the airport. We also had a lovely private garden area with an amazing view over the sea – perfect for lazy breakfasts!

The warm welcome we received set the level of care we received from Lynne and Peter for the rest of our stay, who were always on hand in case there was a problem (wasp sting) or if you wanted advice on the area or where to eat. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble.

The area was stunningly beautiful and really peaceful. Everyone we met was so friendly – a special mention must be given to Marta in the taverna at the top of the hill and Spiros in the best stocked mini market we’ve ever seen. (There are also two big supermarkets nearby.)

Down the hill you come to a lovely sandy beach with beds for hire and just opposite the entrance to BanSala is a walk down to a private cove. We swam there twice – both times with no-one else in sight.

Koroni is a short dirve away and full of welcoming bars and restaurants. We went twice and had two delicious meals right by the sea. We also spent an evening in Agios Andreas which was fab – we just wished we’d had time to go back. Not only was the food fantastic, but each time we ate out we were so shocked at how cheap it was!

I realise this is a hugely long review but there is just so much to write about. We can’t wait to go back…

Room Tip: All the villas looked equally fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tansalreadyfading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

These villas are located on the see hill site, just 10 minutes walk from the beach with very good service (swimming pool, umbrellas, chairs and taverns). The owners are maintaining high quality Greek accommodation combined with a personal English touch. We spend a very nice week in September 2013 there. The view from your terrace is so beautiful and the area is located in olive trees is so quiet, you will never forget this nice feeling.

Room Tip: There are no significant differences in the quality between these 5 villas. All of them are very goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We spent a wonderful holiday in July at Peter and Lyn's beautiful place - get ready to emerge in a peaceful and quiet haven! upon arrival they made sure we had a drink ready on our balcony and some homemade tsatsiki to get us started. what a lovely gesture! we spent 8 days at BanSala and are already planning to go back soon! The apartments are spacious and modern, the garden is well looked after and the only sound you hear is that made by cicadas. The beach is a 10min walk away and never overcrowded (good mix of locals and tourists). If you go in summer make sure you have dinner once in the tiny village restaurant on top of the hill - Marta (the owner) will serve great meat dishes for almost nothing. A final advise: try out breakfast at BanSala!! Ask Lyn or Peter the day before and they ll present you with the biggest collection of fresh bread, fruit, juice etc you could wish for. Thank you Lyn & Peter :) T & M

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

You won't need me to wax lyrical since the chorus of approval is evident in most if not all comments here: it is, incontrovertibly, a safe and excellent choice to base your holiday.

Who is this hotel for ? Probably over '50: you've enough money not to bother about paying a little over the odds because "you deserve it" and you can't be dealing with those small inconveniences that seasoned travellers are accustomed, if not, inured to. A younger person would, perhaps, put up with 'the clean and adequate' and pay less..... but I suspect this is a place for people who will happily pay more - just to eliminate the risk of such annoyances.

This is a child-free zone, relaxed, very tastefully laid out and knowingly decorated with an intelligent use of simple materials and finishes (IKEA is a regular contributor :-)). It gels very well indeed. It's not glitzy, mind: this is a place for the comfortable northern european mittel-klasse whose pensions have kicked in and whose times are relatively easy.

Herve Leger and Dior swimsuits, Panerai time pieces and Vilbrequin trunks, ipods and Woo Woos by the pool are absent here: it's more quiet conversation, Hilary Mantel and Max Hastings, stout Birkenstocks and a pre-prandial snooze before shower & dinner. You won't be "giving it large at the pool with your mates" at Bansala and I suspect that's why people come.

The pool, by the way, is perhaps a tad small for proper swimmers but, again, very professionally designed and constructed and more than adequate for 'holiday & high day' swimmers (like me). Some may prefer a little more 'buzz' but there's always the excellent beach which you can reach by one of the pleasant bars that are cliff-side (a lift is provided): we found the sea one of the best we've encountered: clean, a satisfying acqua-blue, calm and warm, with the abovementioned bars serving decent and well priced food.

Lyn and Peter's unassuming but assured ability to guide you through your stay is admirable and the whole thing is easy. So, there you have it: you can certainly do cheaper but I'm not sure that you can do better and that is, indeed, exactly where this place is pitched - almost...to perfection.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CiboCiboCibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have just returned from the most fabulous place to stay, in a glorious location. From the moment we arrived Lynn and Peter welcomed and looked after us, without fuss but thoughtfully.The villas are equipped with everything one could wish for and beautifully decorated and were kept spotlessly clean for us.
The oval shaped pool was plenty big enough for a purposeful early morning swim and blissful to cool off in during the day.
It is the one place we will definitely return to!

Room Tip: All rooms have super views and are not overlooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

You expect this quality on the Maldives or a millionaire's secret island. Thoughtfully designed you will be welcomed by a villa with perfection stamped throughout. The fridge has the most generous welcome you could ask for and that is the start of hospitality that is second to none. From the now legendary Peter's milk shake to Lyn's impeccable touch with all things food and drink you really have to drag yourselves away from this haven. If all holiday destinations offered such cleanliness, care and style the world would be a happier place. We stayed one week in an unusually hot August and we feel so happy that we stumbled on this gem in the Peloponnese. Back in the UK our minds have photographed the views and our memories remain locked in this gem.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeFitz1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koroni
0.1 mi away
Colonides Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Camvillia Resort
Camvillia Resort
#1 of 1 in Vounaria
184 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sofotel Hotel
Sofotel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Koroni
20 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Romanos Resort, Costa Navarino
17.2 mi away
Horizon Blu
Horizon Blu
#1 of 21 in Kalamata
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BanSala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BanSala

Property: BanSala
Address: PO Box 6121, Koroni, Pylos-Nestor 240 04, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Pylos-Nestor > Koroni
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Koroni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to unspoiled Greece and BanSala; a tranquil haven, perched above Peroulia Beach, where comfort and attentive service combine with stylish surroundings to create the perfect getaway. BanSala is a recently completed resort consisting of 5 stunning villas, stylish cafe/bar, spacious pool and relaxing gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your BanSala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing