We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Must do trek when ur in Meghalaya” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Double Decker Living Root Bridge

Double Decker Living Root Bridge
Book In Advance
US$1,300.00*
and up
6-Day Tour of Exotic Northeast India: Mawsmai Caves, Double Decker Living Root...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
bangalore
Level Contributor
153 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Must do trek when ur in Meghalaya”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Those bridges ( Multiple living root and one metal ) were amazing fun. + blue chill water was just fantastic..
You have basic home stay available near the destination if you would want tostay back.. unless, you want to spend a night in the jungle.. would not recommend this place. Also, there is basic refreshment available.. like Maggi.. chai.. cool drinks etc near the bridge..
You do not need a guide.. there are boards 2 guide you..

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank vivekmattur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    50
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Don't miss this! It's incredible! Worth the 2500 steps to get there. Beautiful part of India. Thick jungle, lovely people, beautiful place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank passingwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best attraction in Cherrapunji”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is something you call Nature's beauty. A double decker living root bridge.
The strange part was my driver didn't know about it, my hotel staff didn't know about it and not a lot of tourist who visit here. Everyone will tell you that the living root bridge is in Mawlynnong. The one in mawlynnong is a single bridge. But if you do not have good stamina, you should probably visit Mawlynnong's bridge.
To get to the double decker bridge, you have to climb DOWN more than 3000 steps. So the easy part is the on journey where you'll keep wondering how difficult would be the return journey. Even though the destination was in mind, I really enjoyed the trek. Untouched nature, everything was gigantic, the leaves, spider webs, insects.
Travel light. Go slow. Keep a lot of time with you, so you should start early. Carry eatables. I went there in peak winters but as I approached the bridge I really felt hot. I couldn't even tolerate a single woolen thing. So you can even reduce the woolen's weight.
You don't really need a guide, there are enough sign boards. After about a 1000 steps, there's small village. If you take left from here, you will reach the double decker bridge but if you take right, you can see another single decker bridge. The single decker is not far from the village. Its really long bridge and I guess no one visits there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank AshishGoyal86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heaven in "Hell"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

When they say "It is journey that makes the destination " i am quite sure they have this place in their mind ... Living root bridge is one of its own kind in whole world , two opposite banks are connected by the roots of rubber trees that intermingled with each other to form a bridge , strong enough to carry one person on other side ( well i am not sure what's on other side)

But still the main attraction is the Trek that lead to bridge. it take 2000 steps & 3 kms down the hill to reach here ( dont forget u hv to come back & then it will be up hill ). i never see that much lush green in my entire life. away from any kind on city noise the only sound is of gushing of air. & if you are lucky enough then sound of rain... Also you will be amazed to see people living on the way & children welcoming you.

it will take approx 3 hrs to go & come back .. no shops around .. not even water bottles . so please carry your own .. Dont throw you litter on the way. old persons , children please stay away ...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank emptymindworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bauty of God”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This roots are strange and massive... the form a bridge and have a great strength to hold weight. It shows the beauty of plants

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Double Decker Living Root Bridge also viewed

Cherrapunjee, Meghalaya
Cherrapunjee, Meghalaya
 
Cherrapunjee, Meghalaya
Shillong, Meghalaya
 

Been to Double Decker Living Root Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing