We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique in World”

Double Decker Living Root Bridge
Book In Advance
More Info
US$1,300.00*
and up
6-Day Tour of Exotic Northeast India: Mawsmai Caves, Double Decker Living Root...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unique in World”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I have visited Double Decker route bridge on 9th July 2014 & we have a amazing experience.
We downstairs about 500 & crossed narrow bridges to go waterfalls one side from another. There is a little hut which provide maggi in just 20/- & tea only in just 5/- , we are amazed to get eatables things in such so cheap price. So after 2 hour tracking we reached double decker bridge. There is small waterfall there we bathed there & njoying alot.

If you are going to visit cherrapunjee then must visit this place.But remember not to go with small children & old agers because this is a hard task to down & upstairs about 500.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank rk_discovering_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    60
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It is beautiful, but in the backyard of the locals.”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

One of the most amazing things you'll ever see. It is so damn beautiful. But remember that if you go, you contribute to the creation of a tourist attraction in the middle of the jungle. I'm not sure if all the locals in the small village of Nongriat are enjoying the presence of tourists....

But still. It's amazing, remote and only possible to reach if you walk the 3000 steps. So touringcars will never make it ;).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JonasFromAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

It is like entering a fantasy world. No pictures will do justice to this place. The beautifully entwined living roots forming a bridge makes you feel inside a fantasy movie at once. If you miss this while you are in Cherrapunjee, you've missed it all.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Samsain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shimla, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A once in a lifetime experience!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Such an enchanting place to visit. Nongriat, to me was definitely worth the three thousand and more steps, down and up. We started from Sohra early in the morning where the cab driver dropped us at the point where it was downhill all the way. What worried me more was coming back up the same way. So I would advise making staying back an essential option for this trip. The guest house is comfortable and it's wise to call before incase it is full. Mosquito repellents are must haves. Beware of scary moths in the room if the windows are opened.The food is delicious, simple and wholesome and there is a tendency that one can overeat as well. Butterflies of so many different colours and sizes make you think you are living in a fairy tale. Nongriat is a haven for people who need to relax and take time off. The living root bridges along the way are amazing. The iron bridges were a little scary though but the view from them is superb. The double decker bridge is definitely the star of the trip but you'll find the other things along the way are equally beautiful stars. A nice swim can be enjoyed near the waterfall close to the bridge. If you're up for more adventure, there is a different way of going back up. This route leads to the beautiful Nohkalikai falls. But if, you think it's a better way of avoiding the steps like I did, then you're in for a big treat. A firm, sturdy stick is necessary, not to chase wild animals, but to clear the big spiders and their webs along the way. Some parts along the way are unpaved but that's what makes the whole trip adventurous. And yes, sometimes, you would just feel like giving up and going back the same way you came from, also realising that you had come too far to go back. But, ofcourse, this is not a warning to deter anyone else from taking this route. It is just simple good advice. The time taken from heading from the guest house till the nohkalikai falls is approximately 5 hours going up with short 5 to 10 minutes stops taking pictures and catching your breath. There is the beautiful "rainbow waterfall" on that same route. There you can spend sometime relishing the beauty of the place. It gets a little steep and slippery on nearing the top. A little extra care is always helpful. On reaching the top, you can enjoy the beautiful sunset from the nohkalikai falls viewpoint, with some hot tea and honey. This trip is amazing. It gave me a good feeling, a sense of accomplishment! If I had to go again? I'd wait for a few years more but I would definitely! All the best and enjoy!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank DesireeKK84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“One of Kind Experience”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The trek to the Double Decker Root Bridge is not an easly one at all and any one with heart ailments, knee or other leg related problems, shortness of breath, high pressure should avoid this trek as there are very steep stairs (almost 3600) that one needs to climb down and climb back again. There are many insects , really pretty ones, to be found on the way. Many bee hives, butterflies, ants, wasps give good company. The trek in the monsoons could get very difficult as the stone and concrete stairs would get very slippery. Good shoes are absolutely necessary during the trek and walking sticks could also be of great help.

I had one problem that I found very very difficult to overcome. My height sickness. So, people with height sickness should be especially careful before doing this trek, as there are no railings, steep sharp turn over looking a deep valley and two long steel rope bridges over rivers running in full force before reaching the Double Decker root bridge. I could not make it till the end because it got very difficult for me to cross the steel bridges over the river. I made it, though, to the first smaller root bridge. It got extremely humid and I almost could not breathe. It is absolutely essential to wear light cotton clothes during the trek. Another problem is, there is no bathroom facility en route. As there are so many visitors to the place, the government should take some initiative to construct one or two pay and use toilets on this route.

The total trek is of 5 - 7 hours but it varies from person to person. However, despite all difficulties, it was indeed one of a kind experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank debolina_banerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Double Decker Living Root Bridge also viewed

Cherrapunjee, East Khasi Hills District
Cherrapunjee, East Khasi Hills District
 
Meghalaya, India
Cherrapunjee, East Khasi Hills District
 

Been to Double Decker Living Root Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing