We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best option in cherrapunjee”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cherrapunjee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cherrapunjee
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best option in cherrapunjee”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Somewhat rustic, but in a beautiful setting. If you go to the grounds of the church next door, and if its not raining, what you see in front of you is a great wall of waterfalls, one after another about half a dozen, probably. Then of course, there's the thrill of seeing Bangladesh's plains laid out before you.
Roomwise, the new annexe is a better option, we got a spacious family room on the 1st floor. I found the older rooms around the central hall somewhat dingy and cramped. The hall is spacious, where you come to eat. The food is simple, not much fanfare. The staff are pleasant. Mr Dennis, the owner, will help you plan your stay in Cherrapunjee, provided you need him to. Friendly, without intruding. He arranged a very nice chap to take us around cherrapunjee for the day, who took us to all the spots. We weren't sure we could do the living root bridges, but Mr.Dennis's encouragement made it happen. Must say this...the people in Meghalaya are so very friendly. No hassles at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules-Verne007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    140
    23
    4
    14
See reviews for
148
80
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Not such good experience. We asked for the best room but when reached, were provided with a very bad quality room like some cheap market hotel. Everything over priced but quality just not good. They will force you to listen some musical programme at night and later will be charged for it! We found nothing functioning, not even hot water and was treated very coldly when complained. Even they were asking money for one extra pillow and took away our personal towels when we were not there in room! High priced rooms with not even a cup of tea in the morning! Food rates are like some 4-star hotel but quality very low.
Try to avoid staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sohinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Cherrapunjee is not a place you go to unless you want to walk, climb or do some nature watching. This hotel is a good base for that. It is a good 15 km from Sohra town, and in the village of Laitkynsaw. The last part of the drive is spectacular; so is the northwestern view from the apron in front of the hotel.

The resort has an older building with the central dining hall and rooms around opening into it. Perhaps from some of these you can get a southern view into the plains of Bangladesh. The quieter alternative is to take a room in the new annex. These are spacious.

We sat out in the apron in the evening, captivated by the tremendous vista of stars to look up at (remember to load a skymap app, if you don't know your constellations). If you have the slightest interest in watching moths, do that at night. I saw really wonderfully coloured moths in all sizes. Cicadas, spiders, interestingly coloured beetles and stick insects also put in special appearances.

We selected the Khasi food for dinner and liked it. Breakfast was a la carte, with a lot of variety. There was a program of live music at night (which, to our surprise, found its way into our bill). But the really exciting things to do are the hard treks to the living root bridges or the lighter walk to the Laitkynsaw viewpoint which looks over Bangladesh.

Room Tip: Upper floors of the new block are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiaditke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I went to c.h.r on 25th of this month with my wife and my 3 yr old son.firstly
I would like to say that this is a holiday resort, not a hotel. So, if u think that you will depend on room service, then this is not the place for you. The food is absolutely gr8 and fresh. I was rather interested abt the evening folk song there.so nice.I could not see all the sighting in cherrapunjee, as my son is very young to go in all the places.lastly I would like to thank mr. Dennis for the
Lovely resort. Surely to come again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rajkohli123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sikkim, India
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have booked our reservations for 20th and 21st October. The complete reservation process is simply superb. Very prompt responses and proactive information that would allay any concern.
Unfortunately we could not visit the property due to the unexpected bandh called by some elements. We had a chat with the owner/front office executives. They have promptly agreed to refund the full amount without any hassles and appreciated our predicament as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PavalikaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Amazingly friendly and helpful staff and direction ! Even camping tents with real double matress, with clean sheets, available for low budget ! Plus amazing location.
They also provide a map to the different trekking places around.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-François B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed here in Jan 2013 with my wife. Its an awesome place. Its not a big resort with flashy interiors and all the hyped up facilities. Its a basic home-stay kind of a hotel but with excellent view and even better staff and owner.

Location -
Its a bit far from Cherrapunji. But the location is just fantastic. You need to have your own vehicle to visit this place anyways. It offers a panoramic view of the valley and have many jungle trails near-by.

Rooms -
Rooms are basic and not very big. But they offer a comfortable stay. No television in the room and no room service either, but do you really go to Cherrapunji for fancy food and luxury stay?? Hot water was available all day and they had given us good blankets to keep us warm.

Food -
Food offered was simply delicious. It could have beaten any 5-star hotel in terms of quality and taste.

Staff & Owner -
I have no words to express my gratitude to the team of this wonder full resort. They are very friendly and punctuality is their USP. I thank all of you for making my stay memorable.

Sight Seeing -
There are any trekking spots nearby and the hotel will arrange for transport and guide for you if you want the best one is the Double Decker Live Root Bridge. Its a must watch if you have taken all the efforts to come to Cherra. But be sure that you are ready to sweat it out and have basic fitness level.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDJoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherrapunjee
4.6 mi away
Polo Orchid Resort
Polo Orchid Resort
#2 of 2 in Cherrapunjee
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
NG Eco Home Stay
NG Eco Home Stay
#7 of 9 in Cherrapunjee
9 reviews
21.9 mi away
Silver Brook
Silver Brook
#7 of 37 in Shillong
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.0 mi away
Hotel Barbareek
Hotel Barbareek
#59 of 77 in Shillong
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Magnolia Bed & Breakfast
Magnolia Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 77 in Shillong
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lake View Inn
Hotel Lake View Inn
#48 of 77 in Shillong
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort

Property: Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort
Address: Village Laitkynsew | Village Laitkynsew, Cherrapunjee 793108, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Cherrapunjee
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cherrapunjee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort is a family run 'Nature Resort', promoted as a Family Holiday Destination. The focus is on the abundant scenic beauty all around the Resort, the benevolence of the Asian Summer Monsoon on Cherrapunjee, the enchanting and challenging Nature Treks in this amazing terrain, the Living Root, Baths in waterfalls, mountain streams and cool springs during the rainy season, Swims in Natural Swimming, Campfires, Adventure Caving, River Canyoning and Camping Out in winter. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cherrapunjee Holiday Hotel Cherrapunjee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing