We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit holiday destination”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cherrapunjee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cherrapunjee
Reviewed 2 April 2014

On the way from Cherrapunjee city we were excited that we are heading to an excellent vacation. We stayed only oneday, but we should have stayed there for at least 3 days to justify the destination. Hotel is located on a bend on hill away from city and yet all modern amenities.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SagnikIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

We were told by a trusted person in Guwahati to NOT merely take a day trip to Cherrapunjee from Shillong, but to stay a couple of nights at the Cherra Holiday Resort instead. We're happy we listened to her, because this place was simply delightful.

Mr. & Mrs. Ryan's vision of creating this resort is especially commendable, because they live in a very hostile environment, given the incessant rainfall. Maintenance and upkeep must be an absolute nightmare, not to mention the relative seasonality of their visitor flow. As a guest, you are not left wanting for anything from management or the facilities. Clean rooms, clean washrooms, lovely central dining/community area, evening bonfires, precise travel advice, smiling courteous staff. (We love Dap! She's awesome!)

However, the Ryan's and their son Joel have built something special with their Cherra resort, providing employment to a rather remote area of Meghalaya state. The Khasis pride themselves on their community and grace, and the resort staff reflect/carry this sentiment.

I really do wish some of the other reviewers on TripAdvisor would take into account how awfully difficult it must be to provision, stock and consistently supply their remote location.

Re: People and location. We were already in love with Meghalaya the first few days we were there. The cloud-covered vistas from the resort, especially in the evening, are stellar. There is a lot of outdoor activity all around. Despite some initial misgivings, we were talked into braving the hike/trek to the Double Decker root bridge, and were not disappointed.

Pro tip #1: Keep hiking 20 minutes past the Double Decker bridge to get to bright, isolated, clear, clean, natural cascades and swimming pools. Divine.

Pro tip #2: If you can, ride the Khasi Hills all around by motorcycle. Way better than cooped in a car.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are older, but with better views (in rooms #1, #2 & #3). Rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChangingRainbows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Nice place to stay - Away from the maddening crowd, in the lap of nature. If you want to have a relaxing holiday, please visit this resort. The owners are helpful, you will get a homely environment and there are loads of activity to do if you are keen. However, be prepared for bad roads enroute from main town to the Resort.

Room Tip: Choose Deluxe or Executive Rooms. Deluxe Rooms have better view and Executive Rooms are newly built...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manmohan3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

stayed there in oct 2012 for one day , we were on our 10 day tour to assam and meghalaya.although in october it was raining that day and we were almost travelling in the clouds to reach the resort.( meghalaya- abode in clouds) It was getting dark even at 430 pm at last we reached the hotel, freshened up and had a good simple but one of our best dinners in the north east.It was a miracle in the morning to walk out of the room and watch the view in front of our eyes.Breath taking just like a picture postcard with sporadic clouds,that made our day. Wish to come back again for a longer stay.Dont forget to take the half day treaking trips organised to the double dekker root bridge.The best hotel in cherrapunji.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jathavale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a great place to stay as it has a beautiful view of the valley below. Rooms are very basic but it compensates for the delicious food and the very friendly and smiling staff. Enjoy bonfires in the night under a stars filled sky.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ISHANI_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is a nice place to stay with family and friends. Service is excellent, The people of this hotel is very nice. Location far from crowed, Like to visit this place again and will stay at least 5 days.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanusreehui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We had a great time at the Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort. We spent 2 nights there and hiked for two full days. The hotel is welcoming and clean, and in a great location for hiking. The room was spacious and clean. The electricity at the hotel worked steadily, so I was able to take a well-deserved hot shower after a long day of hiking. Everybody working there was really friendly and helpful. They gave us maps and walking sticks to go on hikes. We arrived on a rainy day but it was still great to go hiking down to the closest living root bridge. The next day we went to the double decker bridge. The hikes were long and a bit strenuous, but wonderful. The food was good, which is a plus since you don't have any other options. Our stay there for 2 nights and days was not cheap, but we had a great time and it was well worth it. I would recommend this place!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crampini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherrapunjee
4.6 mi away
Polo Orchid Resort
Polo Orchid Resort
#2 of 2 in Cherrapunjee
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sohra View Lodge
Sohra View Lodge
#5 of 11 in Cherrapunjee
2 reviews
21.9 mi away
Silver Brook
Silver Brook
#15 of 40 in Shillong
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Four Season Eco Resort
Four Season Eco Resort
#6 of 8 in Cherrapunjee
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Magnolia Bed & Breakfast
Magnolia Bed & Breakfast
#46 of 82 in Shillong
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort

Address: Village Laitkynsew | Village Laitkynsew, Cherrapunjee 793108, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Cherrapunjee
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cherrapunjee
Price Range: £20 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort is a family run 'Nature Resort', promoted as a Family Holiday Destination. The focus is on the abundant scenic beauty all around the Resort, the benevolence of the Asian Summer Monsoon on Cherrapunjee, the enchanting and challenging Nature Treks in this amazing terrain, the Living Root, Baths in waterfalls, mountain streams and cool springs during the rainy season, Swims in Natural Swimming, Campfires, Adventure Caving, River Canyoning and Camping Out in winter. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cherrapunjee Holiday Hotel Cherrapunjee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing