We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home in the nature”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cherrapunjee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cherrapunjee
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I and my husband stayed at this beautiful resort for two days in March 2014. This was one of our destinations among the many other we travelled for our honeymoon. The moment you enter this place you'll feel warm and welcomed. I liked their room structure where the dining area is surrounded by rooms in a circle. The food is a la carte so you can try out the local recipes which is absolutely mouth watering. We did a full 9 hour trek to the living root bridge and a natural pool which was a bliss absolutely. At the nature's behest, we have enjoyed our trek every minute. The guide was provided to us by the resort authorities. Thanks to the manager, he went out of his way and made my husband's birthday which was falling on one of our day's stay. He with his full staff sand a birthday song and made my husband's birthday memorable. It lies in between the lush green mountains of cherrapunjee. The narrow, winding & absolutely stunning road makes the entire journey to the resort worth the time and a slight giddyness ;).

Room Tip: Choose the dining area rooms for a more homely feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samsain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Our trip was just for the double decker root bridge trek. We stayed here for one day and 2 nights only.
Our welcome was really poor. We booked and paid way in advance for one bedroom with an extra bed and we were two sisters travelling with our male cousin but we were harassed to book another room since there was a male. We reached late evening tired and hungry from Guwahati and it was quite scary and they made us feel unsafe and uneasy. They also took our IDs when we entered and did not give it back! Later at night when we went to get our IDs they forgot where they kept it and they looked and then found it and gave it. Pretty creepy that was!
The next morning we went for the trek. It is a pretty heavy trek and needs very supportive people. The guide given to us was excellent! He was very friendly and helped us climb those 7500 steps with a lot of encouragement and motivation. After we came back we wanted to speak to Mr. Rayen for a car back to Shillong next morning. We waited and waited for two hours but he was right there paying more attention to the westerners. That was kind of sad too. After that we ate and slept and left early morning.
All though our beginning was bitter, the beauty of cherrapunji made the ending sweet. : ) So 3 stars for a short trip but amazing trek!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank Chandreyi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort is an apt spot to savour the experience of Cherrapunji - the abode of clouds.Tucked away into a limb of the lush green plateau,the 10 km drive after you branch off from the main cherra road is something you'd take back with you - narrow road cut from towering rock walls on either side, the presence of umpteen number of waterfalls all round overwhelms, small and pretty villages and hamlets dot the landscape.
Ideal to be planned as a staging place for the five hour turnaround trek to the double root bridge.Couple of other walks / viewpoints which the staff can point you to are worthwhile too.
Stay at the Resort will come across as something of a pleasantly extended homestay - courtesy the warm and welcoming conduct of the Ryans - who run and own the property.The compassion and personal touch of the staff can't be missed.Respect and concern for environmental and ecological conservation is simply yet unobtrusively emphasised, so is involvement of the local community into the overall effort, writ large over the place.
Rooms are comfortable.The new block rooms offer better furnishing and are marginally more comfortable,yet the old block is more conveniently and atmospherically located.Food is sumptuous, caters to a wide palate and is reasonably priced, given the remoteness and resultant logistic isolation the place must suffer.Room charges in June 2014 were Rs 2,350 /- inclusive of taxes.Booking must be done beforehand online.The response is prompt and positive.
Icing on the cake was the unexpected musical evening organised by the local village musicians who did light up the evening with popular hindi and english melodies, apart from local Khasi tunes and folklore.The bonfire at night is a pleasant possibility,though often interfered by the incessant rains.
The flip side & feedback to management - the property gives more a feeling of a regular motel rather than a resort.In case the greens and open spaces around the built up area can somehow be extended to provide freer access to ambling or lingering around to absorb the atmospherics of the surroundings, the expectations one generally carries from a holiday resort will not be belied.
Final Verdict - There are plenty of pluses to ensure you'll have a memorable holiday.The attention for detail, personal involvement of the staff, well organised and showcased local culture,close proximity to nature .....remain the winners.Ideal place for a family holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sukhdeep_Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel from 17 - 19 May 2014 in room no. 4 and we are greatly satisfied with our overall experience. Reservation was easy as we called and Joel sent us the details for online transfer. To begin with, the resort is a little far from Cherrapunjee town but it is the perfect place for any one looking for peaceful stay and treks and adventure tours.

This family run property is well maintained, rooms and bathrooms are clean, the geyser in our bathroom was working. The room being of standard category had almost no view but there were other higher category rooms which had better views of the mountains and valleys. The owner and the staffs were all very attentive. We were pleasantly surprised that although the staffs are from nearby villages, they speak fairly good English and converse without problem. The food is always served fresh and is of good quality.

The problems we faced, although very few, were that in the evening we had to keep all the windows closed as insects and frogs were entering our room. This made the room a little uncomfortable toward the end of the day. They should put window nets to solve this problem.
The second problem we faced was they main power was switched offi in the night without informing us as a result, we could not charge our camera batteries. Third problem was there was no one in the main hotel area (where our room was) at night to help in case of any emergency.

One recommendation to the hotel would be if they could appoint a person or two for offering foot massages to the guests especially after long hours of strenuous treks.

Apart from these minor issues, we had a very peaceful and pleasant stay. We would love to go back again.

Room Tip: Deluxe and executive rooms would have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank debolina_banerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Experience was awesome. Cant imagine a better location and its all been primed by the owner. Throughout the long but wonderful jungle road to reach the resort will take you to a different mindset. It is completely isolated and surprisingly self reliant. Rooms are good, services are excellent , behavior of the staff are very cordial & helpful , food is good but costly but …. ….. but just be there – they sell peace. And Ryan & Joel (son of Ryan(did I spell right? )) are among the most wonderful person I ever met with.

Room Tip: Room no 1,2 and 3 are having better view. New building rooms are well furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raja1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The ride down through the damaged mountain roads - of course in your car - still makes one feel approaching "oh god where to" or How shall I reach back if it rains" - but once it enters the precinct of the Resort and the smiling white haired mien of the owner or his son and the hot cup of tea makes up! Honestly while riding down in our car - me and my children and wife - were of unanimous in hushed chorus - we go back tomorrow to Shillong! And by the time we were shown the comfort of the room - tad bit crammy for four of us - the open chorus was we stay. And we did, for the next day. What we did see and did not see is for all to know whosoever goes there! And I would say go at least once!
But what I have to say is something no one had said but is an ample statement on the matter of healthcare!
My son got a high degree of indigestion in the morning we were about to ride back to catch our flight. And he was throwing up anything - even water! And the care that the small place Health Center provided is unbelievable - the doctor and the nurses and the care they provided for four long hours in that small spanking clean Health Center - their lifeline for health matters - is amazing and unbelievable to be believed. They put my son in good shape for the ride back to Shillong and he never puked even once after he was released. The Doctor - the small little girl look may be deceiving in the beginning - but turns itself into a complete dependence on the capabilities within minutes - it was so reassuring - so people at least I can vouch that in case of any health issue that may suddenly crop - there is this health center and this little angel of a Doctor!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay in Cherrapunjee. It is a perfect place for nature lovers and trekkers.It is famous for living root bridges.Nongriat double decker bridge was diffcult for me to go but my husband enjoyed it very well and according to him worth taking pains. You can swim down there. All you need is one full day.It is a very good palce for butterflies and moths.It is not a good place for bird watching as birds have been hunted.
Personalized attention gives you home like feeling.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alkavaidya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherrapunjee
4.6 mi away
Polo Orchid Resort
Polo Orchid Resort
#2 of 2 in Cherrapunjee
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sohra View Lodge
Sohra View Lodge
#5 of 11 in Cherrapunjee
2 reviews
21.9 mi away
Silver Brook
Silver Brook
#15 of 41 in Shillong
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Four Season Eco Resort
Four Season Eco Resort
#6 of 8 in Cherrapunjee
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort

Address: Village Laitkynsew | Village Laitkynsew, Cherrapunjee 793108, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Cherrapunjee
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cherrapunjee
Price Range: £20 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort is a family run 'Nature Resort', promoted as a Family Holiday Destination. The focus is on the abundant scenic beauty all around the Resort, the benevolence of the Asian Summer Monsoon on Cherrapunjee, the enchanting and challenging Nature Treks in this amazing terrain, the Living Root, Baths in waterfalls, mountain streams and cool springs during the rainy season, Swims in Natural Swimming, Campfires, Adventure Caving, River Canyoning and Camping Out in winter. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cherrapunjee Holiday Hotel Cherrapunjee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing