We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bingley
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We went for a wedding and stayed overnight. This hotel has just been taken over from Ramada Jarvis and is in need of a bit of TLC. The overall weekend was very good, But beware if you are picking this hotel for a wedding ...the wedding planner is not up to much, he is very young and lacks the experience and know how. The food and drinks are very expensive, although we had a wonderful 3 course wedding breakfast it did not suit all. There was an evening buffet which was apprieciated but quite a few people but not til 9pm...the fault of the planner...and who would servw the 8 different gateaux half an hour before the trays of sandwiches came out ?? I am afraid organisation was the great let down.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor overlooking the back garden. The room was large the bed was lovely..tripl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valspar26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

761 - 767 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

stayed at the mercure bradford over the weekend rooms were nice. me and my girlfriend went in the restaurant as was not shore were else to eat and was suprised at how nice and friendly the staff was. service was good and the food was really good and presented to a high standard. will defently recomend to more people

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel about two weeks ago, attended my friends wedding and what a day it was. From start to finish the whole experience was excellent. We arrived at about 11am and we understood check in wasnt until 2pm, with no problem a room was available and we checked in with ease. The wedding started at 1pm, well staffed bar as our party where big drinkers, food was hot and very fresh, service excellent and all staff very attentive. I have attended 3 weddings this year and this by far was the best! The hotel was very busy and I can see why. Weldone to the Mercure.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed here just for the one night ( thank God ) on Saturday 22nd of October. There were 3 couples in total staying over to attend a charity dinner in Shipley.

Check In manned by a gum chewing individual who looked completely disinterested in his job. First thing he told us was that there was a problem with our room but he had moved us to another one - not sure why he had to mention anything then ?!!

Seemed a struggle trying to get the room allocated - not looking good. We then met our friends, one couple were OK but the others had checked in and found their room full of bluebottle flies. This had been acknowledged by the hotel as an issue, they were moved to anothetr room.

Anyway, we went up to our room, out of the old part of the building ( which looks OK from the front ) and into the modern wing, like something out of the 70s.

The room smelt musty and was terrible - more like a B&B than a hotel. Two beds, one a small double and a single. Cheap and off colour bedding, very dated decor. The window was wide open, presumably to dilute the smell, so the room was also freezing.

Complained to Reception about the smell - unable to move us with the hotel being full. We later found out that the hotel is used by OAP coach holiday operators and they were out in force tonight !!

A Duty Manager was more helpful in that she offered us a free drink whilst they ' sprayed ' the room. Not ideal but time was against us and we needed to be going to our event. Decided to stay bearing in mind it was only one night and my employer was picking up the tab.

Returned just after midnight to the hotel bar - not staffed, had to get someone from reception, service completely sterile and not at all welcoming. Would not accept cash payment !!

Next morning after a restless nights sleep we counted around 20 bluebottles in our room, not seen them the night before. Our friends had a similar experience again, despite hhaviong changed rooms.

Not sure of there is a dead body located somewhere but there is clearly an issue that needs sorting.

In summary, one of the worst hotel rooms we have ever endured coupled with lack of interest in issues raised ( apart from Duty manager whose hands appeared tied ). Decor very dated and it seems the hotel is content with the OAP brigade.

Would never recommend this hotel in a million years, go instead to the Marriott Hollins Hill a few miles away in Baildon.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Parissandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed here for business on Saturday night. When I was at reception I noticed that the place has been taken over as a Mercure hotel (was ramada) and there several notices telling people to bare with them. Although I understand a period of transition can be hard it did not excuse poor standards in the room, surly reception service and an aboratin of a breakfast service (blamed on the fact they had a party for 1000 coming in)
Having stayed in many places locally, this is one of the worst and this will be the last time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cocktailsanddreamsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My husband and I were looking forward to a restful weekend in the Dales. We choose the Ramada Jarvis Hotel Leeds Bradford because it looked so quaint. We arrived and very quickly checked into our hotel room. Unfortunately the room was very noisy with a brain penetrating humming which could not be shut out. The windows were secondary double glazed but even that did nothing to stop the noise. I had a headache within an hour. I rang reception and explained that I could not spend a "quiet" weekend with such loud noise constantly going on. I did not get a resolution of the problem from the reception. HOWEVER I spotted a lady in uniform and thank goodness I did she was the general manager. I explained our predicament to her and without a word she upgraded us to a beautifully quiet room with gorgeous views. From that moment on our stay at the Ramada was fantastic. Great food, lovely areas to relax. Dining room staff were very attentive. I will use this hotel again because their customers opinions do count.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 160Anne160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Asansor yok bavullar için porter var.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKDEMIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
004GM, General Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bingley
9.4 mi away
Mercure Leeds Parkway
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#50 of 87 in Leeds
977 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
891 reviews
18.5 mi away
Mercure Wetherby
Mercure Wetherby
#3 of 3 in Wetherby
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.9 mi away
Oakwood Hall Hotel
Oakwood Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bingley
180 reviews
3.8 mi away
Midland Hotel
Midland Hotel
#3 of 27 in Bradford
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel

Address: Bradford Road, Bingley, Bradford BD16 1TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Bingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bingley
Price Range: £48 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind in Gothic grandeur in the heart of Yorkshire Bronte country at the Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel. Set in a Gothic style mansion house surrounded by landscaped gardens, the Mecure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel is a peaceful retreat and a short stroll from the banks of the River Aire. The Mecure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel is two miles from Bingley railway station. The Haworth & Bronte Parsonage Museum, celebrating the life and work of the Bronte Sisters, is five miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bradford Ramada
Ramada Bradford Leeds
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel Bingley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing