We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worse hotel stay ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bingley
neath
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worse hotel stay ever”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The bedroom was clean and tidy,but there were on draws to store smalls ect and I dont like my undies on display.
They were so under staffed,that no-one had time for you and found some to be quite rude e.g..My friend who was sat opposite me was still eating pate on bread and her plate was taken from under her nose and was left holding her food in her hand,the waitress then came over to my side and reached across my plate of food while I was still eating.I did remark how rude I thought she was.
Breakfast was just ok,but when it came to the self service evening meal it was truly something else.
There was nothing I tried that was tasty,it was either raw,over cooked,tough or took on a taste all of its own.Everyone was complaining.
We were in a coach party and stayed from Tuesday till Saturday.
We were treated like second rate people rules for us and rules for others who were day guests.e.g All the people from the coach party were all served from the same pot of coffee or tea,whereas the others had their own tea or coffee pots,and I overheard one of the staff apologising that they were put to sit in with us.
We shall "NEVER" be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: From what I can gather,if you kept your windows open as we did,I was rather noisy,car doors banging...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank verinajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
004ev, Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your valued review. We would sincerely like to apologise that you did not feel the hotel matched your expectations. I would like to assure you that we have looked into the issues you have highlighted and taken action. I do hope that you would consider visiting us again when you are in Bingley as I can assure you your enjoyment will be a priority to us, as all guests are.

Regards
Emily Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    216
    163
    76
    73
See reviews for
130
296
34
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

got an offer with groupon,one night b/b, 3course dinner, for 2 £70 great value,handy for bronte parsanage, would recomend, exellent staff.

Room Tip: if you need to use lift south side is handier
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOROTHY r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
004ev, Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your review! We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and I am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Emily Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My daughters wedding took place on Friday 1st June 2012 at the Mercure Bankfield Hotel. The whole day was very professionally managed. Nothing was to much trouble, especially from Eray, Dean and Will. The food was excellent and the service was first class. I would definatley recommend the Mercure Bankfield Hotel for a wedding reception. The breakfasts for the two mornings i stayed there were superb. Plenty of choice and plenty of it whether it be the hot or cold breakfastor(or both). Mrs Debbie Cooke.

Room Tip: corner suite room (number 129 i think) - may benefit from replacement windows though,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
004ev, Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear guest

What a great review and we thank you for it. We are proud of our staff and service given and we are pleased to see they excelled again. We do hope you use our hotel again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Emily Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I went to this hotel for an overnight visit to take in Bronte Land. The staff were brilliant right from the nice young man on reception who automatically upgraded our room (without being asked) as we had been allocated a double instead of a twin. All round the service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble, rarely do I visit anywhere where the staff volunteer help and assitance as they do at the Mercure Bradford North. Even at breakfast I was offered poached eggs without asking first. A hard working team who certainly do the hotel credit.

Room Tip: We had an executive room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chgem_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
004ev, General Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear guest

What a great review and we thank you for it. We are proud of our staff and service given and we are pleased to see they excelled again. I will pass your comments on to the team who I am sure will be delighted. We do hope you use our hotel again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Emily Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I booked this hotel as it was inexpensive and ideally situated en route from Wakefield to Kirby Stephen, Cumbria.

As these reviews are very personal I must state that when setting out I was not expecting a great deal from this hotel as it cost less than £50 for a double room with breakfast. However, I was VERY WRONG and for us the Mecure was FANTASTIC.
Our room was very spacious with a huge bed - it looked the size of 2 x 3' singles joined and it had the most comfy mattress protector. The luxurious type you see advertised in the White Company which made the bed comfy without being soft.
The bathroom was spacious, the shower worked well and had good power and was immaculatley clean. The toiletries were a very pleasant surprise as I expected the usual large bottles stuck to walls but instead found an assortment of travel sized bottles which could be taken with you if unfinished.
The refreshment tray had a great selection with biscuits and more importantly there were spare plugs next to desks where you could boil the kettle. I really hate trying to find spare plugs at floor level to make a cup of tea. WELL DONE MERCURE.
Breakfast was great and had an extensive assortment of fruits, hot buffet and continental meats and cheese and our waiter was delightful.
In fact all the staff, both on checking in and out were very polite, pleasant and efficient.

This hotel also has lovely gardens and is a very popular wedding venue. There was a wedding the evening we arrived so there were a lot of people chatting outside which actually made for a very nice atmoshpere. The staff had taken care to put us in a room away from the wedding area and as a result we were not troubled by noise or anything else.

The hotel is approximately 30 mins drive away from Harrogate and a stone's throw from Saltaire village which was built in the Victorian era by Titus Salt. In all I could not have chosen a better place to stay and can highly recommend it. Next time we're in Yorkshire I will book it again.






  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
004ev, Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your continued support and review! We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and I am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best regards,

Emily Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This hotel has the nicest staff, very helpful and plesant. They are a credit to the hotel.

When we arrived for our 2 night break via KGB Deals we thought we may have been given a down graded room which we were room 235 with the worst bed I have ever seen in a hotel and I have stayed in many.

However! As soon as i complained we were moved straight away no questions asked and put in room 155 a by far superior room to the first where we had a lovely 2 night break.

Thanks to all staff for making our stay a warm one.

Would i stay here again? Yes!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grape0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
004ev, Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear guest

What a great review and we thank you for it. We are proud of our staff and service given and we are pleased to see they excelled again. We do hope you use our hotel again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Emily Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Comfortable well kept, clean and tidy with helpful staff and generally at the high end of a three star rating. The food was well cooked and presented but the service for Dinner was difficult with the waitress making a number of mistakes. The restaurant was rather tatty with furniture with dirty upholstery and no tablecloths so on occassions at breakfast the table was sticky from previous guests. However this hotel offers very reasonable rates comparable to Premier Inn and is better than this. The hotel hosts a lot of functions but the bedrooms are in seperate blocks so no noise/disturbance issues.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Independamment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
004ev, Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your valued review. I would like to assure you that we have looked into the issues you have highlighted and taken action. I do hope that you would consider visiting us again when you are in Bingley as I can assure you your enjoyment will be a priority to us, as all guests are.

Kind Regards
Emily Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bingley
9.4 mi away
Mercure Leeds Parkway
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#46 of 86 in Leeds
884 reviews
18.5 mi away
Mercure Wetherby
Mercure Wetherby
#3 of 3 in Wetherby
733 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oakwood Hall Hotel
Oakwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bingley
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.6 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
810 reviews
1.6 mi away
Five Rise Locks Hotel
Five Rise Locks Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bingley
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel

Property: Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
Address: Bradford Road, Bingley, Bradford BD16 1TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Bingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind in Gothic grandeur in the heart of Yorkshire Bronte country at the Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel. Set in a Gothic style mansion house surrounded by landscaped gardens, the Mecure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel is a peaceful retreat and a short stroll from the banks of the River Aire. The Mecure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel is two miles from Bingley railway station. The Haworth & Bronte Parsonage Museum, celebrating the life and work of the Bronte Sisters, is five miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bradford Ramada
Ramada Bradford Leeds
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel Bingley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing