We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel I have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bingley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel I have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel has to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The website makes its look really appealing, however the truth is the rooms are outdated along with the fixtures and fittings. Clearly the hotel is struggling as they had the most skelton staff imaginable, meaning we could not get a drink at the bar and breakfast was impossible to get timely service. For the prices they charge you would expect a certain level of quality don't be fooled by the website just book somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
004GM, General Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am very disappointed to hear that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. I would welcome further details of your stay so that I can review what actions we can take to make further improvements. I would ask for you to contact me directly on 004gm@jupiterhotels.co.uk.

I do hope that you will consider returning in the future when I am confident that you will experience our usual standard of care, welcome and hospitality.

Yours sincerely,

Emily Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    222
    173
    82
    73
See reviews for
136
301
34
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middle Earth
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed here for a week with work recently. On the positive side, the hotel staff were absolutely lovely and without exception friendly at all times. My room was cleaned daily, really well. The hotel is obviously popular locally as there were school proms on most nights and people were having lots of fun. The main reception and building are very striking, but this is where it ends, the carpets and rooms need refurbishing, there was a skip full of mattresses outside my window so they may have started this already somewhere, beyond the skip was a beautiful view of hillsides and I could see the sun setting from my window. The window was covered in black algae around the edges, and you had to touch this to open the window. There was a very old fashioned box on the wall, and although it was switched on, there was no temperature control - it was on full or off - and it just blew out air the same temperature as the room anyway, so on a hot week it was very stuffy.

The bed linen was clean, cotton, white and fresh to sleep in and the bed was comfortable despite being old. Sadly the breakfasts were awful for me, it was mainly cooked meats, greasy sausages , and rubbery cheese. I will stop here because I don't want to be overly critical. I don't know what other options there are, but this is staffed by lovely staff who work hard to make it a nice stay, but it does need some attention from those that have the money. I wouldn't choose to stay here again for work or pleasure, but then this was booked for me and I don't think I would have chosen it myself in the first place. Sorry Mercure Bradford :(

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CashmereTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
004GM, General Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am very disappointed that on this occasions not everything was to your expectations. Please be assured that we are taking direct action to make further improvements and address the comments in your feedback.

OnI do hope that you will consider returning to stay with us in the near future when I am confident that you will experience our usual standard of care, welcome and hospoitality.

Kind regards

Emily Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bingley hotels

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very busy - seemed popular wedding and party venue, breakfast excellent, dinner O.K., staff efficient, rooms comfortable (but very warm). Good car parking and pleasant grounds.
Overall I would recommend this hotel as decent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
004GM, General Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your recent visit, I am very pleased to hear that you and your group enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Emily Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights the staff were so accommodating for a big party of us. Peter on the front desk was so helpful and I think the staff really make the experience a load better. If I was returning to saltire I would stay here again. Food reasonably priced and pizza was lovely

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Deanjohnson23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
004GM, General Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, it is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will ensure your comments are discussed with the team as I am sure this will serve as encouragement to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Emily Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

If you want to stay in a hotel where
- your bedroom (room 101) is above a party and disco and you have no chance of getting to sleep because of the excessive noise and vibrations through the floor. We were initially told that it would finish at 10pm but that changed to 11pm but it went on to 11.25pm.
- where you are put in a separate room for breakfast and evening meals where you have to go and find someone to give you a menu and take your order and have to go into the main restaurant yourself to get items which were not provided in the separate room.
then this is the hotel for you.
The hotel was very busy with conference delegates over the 3 days of our stay and a party on the Wednesday which is why we could not eat in the restaurant. That I could accept but not when we did not receive the same level of service that those attending the conference and party received.
We would have given this hotel a "terrible" rating had it not been for the friendly demeanour of most of the staff.
We felt like second class citizens and like the TV series we would like to consign this hotel to "Room 101".

Room Tip: When you book check if they are having any parties/weddings and make sure you get a room as far away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKT35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
004GM, General Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I am disappointed to hear that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations.

I would like to assure you direct action will be taken to ensure improvments are made in the future.

I would also like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the team.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Emily Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed one night in one of the privelidge rooms.The purpose of our stay was to meet up with friends who were down from Scotland attending a wedding nearby.

The staff were friendly on arrival.The room large with all the luxeries mentioned and quiet with a view over fields.It was spotlessly clean.

We had a drink in the bar prior to our meal.There is a drinks menu offering cocktails .I ordered a belini and was told you could only have sparkling wine by the bottle.I showed the young man the menu,there was no peach juice so no berlini I notice apperol so ordered that.The young bar attender had no idea how to make one up.I gave up and had a gin and tonic.I suggest the staff should be trained in how to serve coktails.It wasn't the young man's fault he just had no idea.

The meal was very good.we were shown to a small room upstairs instead of the main dining room.There was a coach party,but still lots of empty tables.The little waitress who had to run up and down stairs to serve was a joy.

Breakfast was good.

Apart from the cocktails it was an enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Choose a privelidge room it's worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly65c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
004GM, General Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will be motivational to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service and standards.

Please be assured that our bar team will undertake further training in order to ensure we are able to provide all cocktails listed on the menu, I am sorry that we were unabel to provide this during your visit.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Emily Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bingley
9.4 mi away
Mercure Leeds Parkway
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#49 of 87 in Leeds
919 reviews
18.5 mi away
Mercure Wetherby
Mercure Wetherby
#3 of 3 in Wetherby
751 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.9 mi away
Oakwood Hall Hotel
Oakwood Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bingley
168 reviews
3.8 mi away
Midland Hotel
Midland Hotel
#2 of 27 in Bradford
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel

Property: Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
Address: Bradford Road, Bingley, Bradford BD16 1TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Bingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind in Gothic grandeur in the heart of Yorkshire Bronte country at the Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel. Set in a Gothic style mansion house surrounded by landscaped gardens, the Mecure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel is a peaceful retreat and a short stroll from the banks of the River Aire. The Mecure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel is two miles from Bingley railway station. The Haworth & Bronte Parsonage Museum, celebrating the life and work of the Bronte Sisters, is five miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bradford Ramada
Ramada Bradford Leeds
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel Bingley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing