We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bingley
Reviewed 30 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
Thank allmylife
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
004GM, General Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Attended this venue for a wedding in June. Booked family room for 3 via late rooms which was supposed to consist of a double bed plus a sofa bed for a child.

On arrival I was told there were no family rooms left so we were given a standard double room with a z bed. Went to check out the room which was very small and they couldn't actually fit a z bed in it. So we were moved to another which they could. My gf went to the room later on and there was a very loud fan vibrating sound from below. Mentioned this at reception and was told it was the extractor from the kitchen and it goes off about 10-11 pm, not much good with a 4 yr old child and asked to be moved. I was told there were no other rooms available, I explained this was unacceptable and the girl went to check with manager, they could offer me £ 10 off ??. I said I'd prefer to not stay and drive home instead afterwards, ill have my money back. After much deliberation girl at counter said we can be moved to another room, ok that's fine moved everything again. Worst bit .. arrived back at room late evening expecting to put child to bed.... no z bed in the room ! Went to reception again to demand this gets sorted asap which it did.

The problem with the rooms from start to finish was unacceptable and did impact quite a lot on what I thought should have been a dead straight forward hotel night. Maybe if you get the right room you'll have an ok time, but I certainley won't be returning. I think the hotel is under staffed and lacks proper managment, some rooms, as I saw a few, a bit shoddy.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank KirkLazarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
004GM, General Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am very disappointed to hear that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. I would welcome further details of your stay so that I can review what actions we can take to make further improvements. I would ask for you to contact me directly on 004gm@jupiterhotels.co.uk.

I do hope that you will consider returning in the future when I am confident that you will experience our usual standard of care, welcome and hospitality.

Yours sincerely,

Emily Cox
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel has to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The website makes its look really appealing, however the truth is the rooms are outdated along with the fixtures and fittings. Clearly the hotel is struggling as they had the most skelton staff imaginable, meaning we could not get a drink at the bar and breakfast was impossible to get timely service. For the prices they charge you would expect a certain level of quality don't be fooled by the website just book somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
004GM, General Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am very disappointed to hear that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. I would welcome further details of your stay so that I can review what actions we can take to make further improvements. I would ask for you to contact me directly on 004gm@jupiterhotels.co.uk.

I do hope that you will consider returning in the future when I am confident that you will experience our usual standard of care, welcome and hospitality.

Yours sincerely,

Emily Cox
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed here for a week with work recently. On the positive side, the hotel staff were absolutely lovely and without exception friendly at all times. My room was cleaned daily, really well. The hotel is obviously popular locally as there were school proms on most nights and people were having lots of fun. The main reception and building are very striking, but this is where it ends, the carpets and rooms need refurbishing, there was a skip full of mattresses outside my window so they may have started this already somewhere, beyond the skip was a beautiful view of hillsides and I could see the sun setting from my window. The window was covered in black algae around the edges, and you had to touch this to open the window. There was a very old fashioned box on the wall, and although it was switched on, there was no temperature control - it was on full or off - and it just blew out air the same temperature as the room anyway, so on a hot week it was very stuffy.

The bed linen was clean, cotton, white and fresh to sleep in and the bed was comfortable despite being old. Sadly the breakfasts were awful for me, it was mainly cooked meats, greasy sausages , and rubbery cheese. I will stop here because I don't want to be overly critical. I don't know what other options there are, but this is staffed by lovely staff who work hard to make it a nice stay, but it does need some attention from those that have the money. I wouldn't choose to stay here again for work or pleasure, but then this was booked for me and I don't think I would have chosen it myself in the first place. Sorry Mercure Bradford :(

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CashmereTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
004GM, General Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am very disappointed that on this occasions not everything was to your expectations. Please be assured that we are taking direct action to make further improvements and address the comments in your feedback.

OnI do hope that you will consider returning to stay with us in the near future when I am confident that you will experience our usual standard of care, welcome and hospoitality.

Kind regards

Emily Cox
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very busy - seemed popular wedding and party venue, breakfast excellent, dinner O.K., staff efficient, rooms comfortable (but very warm). Good car parking and pleasant grounds.
Overall I would recommend this hotel as decent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
004GM, General Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your recent visit, I am very pleased to hear that you and your group enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Emily Cox
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights the staff were so accommodating for a big party of us. Peter on the front desk was so helpful and I think the staff really make the experience a load better. If I was returning to saltire I would stay here again. Food reasonably priced and pizza was lovely

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Deanjohnson23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
004GM, General Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, it is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will ensure your comments are discussed with the team as I am sure this will serve as encouragement to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Emily Cox
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

If you want to stay in a hotel where
- your bedroom (room 101) is above a party and disco and you have no chance of getting to sleep because of the excessive noise and vibrations through the floor. We were initially told that it would finish at 10pm but that changed to 11pm but it went on to 11.25pm.
- where you are put in a separate room for breakfast and evening meals where you have to go and find someone to give you a menu and take your order and have to go into the main restaurant yourself to get items which were not provided in the separate room.
then this is the hotel for you.
The hotel was very busy with conference delegates over the 3 days of our stay and a party on the Wednesday which is why we could not eat in the restaurant. That I could accept but not when we did not receive the same level of service that those attending the conference and party received.
We would have given this hotel a "terrible" rating had it not been for the friendly demeanour of most of the staff.
We felt like second class citizens and like the TV series we would like to consign this hotel to "Room 101".

Room Tip: When you book check if they are having any parties/weddings and make sure you get a room as far away...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKT35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
004GM, General Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I am disappointed to hear that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations.

I would like to assure you direct action will be taken to ensure improvments are made in the future.

I would also like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the team.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Emily Cox
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bingley
1.6 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
884 reviews
9.4 mi away
Mercure Leeds Parkway
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#50 of 87 in Leeds
960 reviews
18.5 mi away
Mercure Wetherby
Mercure Wetherby
#3 of 3 in Wetherby
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.9 mi away
Oakwood Hall Hotel
Oakwood Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bingley
177 reviews
3.8 mi away
Midland Hotel
Midland Hotel
#3 of 27 in Bradford
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel

Address: Bradford Road, Bingley, Bradford BD16 1TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Bingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bingley
Price Range: £47 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind in Gothic grandeur in the heart of Yorkshire Bronte country at the Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel. Set in a Gothic style mansion house surrounded by landscaped gardens, the Mecure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel is a peaceful retreat and a short stroll from the banks of the River Aire. The Mecure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel is two miles from Bingley railway station. The Haworth & Bronte Parsonage Museum, celebrating the life and work of the Bronte Sisters, is five miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bradford Ramada
Ramada Bradford Leeds
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel Bingley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing