We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as usual”
Review of The Brown Cow

The Brown Cow
Ranked #4 of 57 Restaurants in Bingley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Brown Cow has been serving as a hostelry in Bingley for over 100 years. This family run pub, provides traditional & innovative home cooked food, individually selected wines and award winning cask conditioned ales from local breweries. All of this comes overlooking the riverside with a stunning view of the Bingley Parish Church, where the bells can often be heard. To the other side, lies the famous St Ives estate, where we find a walkers paradise along with a championship golf course, archery & fishing as well as much more. When the weekend arrives so do the local live bands, who can often be seen on Saturday nights along side a variety of fine food and cask ale based theme nights. With our traditional Yorkshire Hospitality & local products, The Brown Cow is the perfect place to Relax, Enjoy & Return.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great as usual”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Been here many times, always welcoming with our young children, great size portions and quality is at it's best, steak and peppercorn sauce is brilliant

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    109
    28
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Will not return”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Service was extremely slow despite the restaurant being quiet, had to wait over an hour for just a main course. Had to leave the table to get our own drinks whilst staff chatted. Food was poor and overpriced. Extremely disappointing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pazzington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a shame”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We dined here on a Saturday evening and were bitterly disappointed by the whole experience. The staff were not what you would call friendly or professional.
I ordered their antipasto which consisted of what seemed to be co-op bought cheese & meats. With a price of approximately £9.00 I would have expected it to include bread of some description. I had to ask for bread and this was additionally charged. The other starters were ok.
Then the main I wouldn't have fed to my dog! I ordered the lamb ribs in Moroccan spice if you could call it that! They were far from cooked and had what they described as a "rub" on. I would describe it as an uncooked paste that didn't taste of anything and probably belonged on a building site. It was inedible! The other mains were acceptable but nothing special.
For pub food I would say it's overpriced and badly cooked.
It is a shame as we have eaten here a few times and have been happy but we won't be returning.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TDO6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“What a joke !!!!!!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Called into the brown cow today with a groupon voucher, asked if it would be ok to use as it was so quiet and only 6 pm, We were told we could not use it and that we would have to book ????? Thought this a bit strange as there was only 6 people in the place and they weren't expecting any bookings that night. I then asked if we could book for later that evening but I was then told that they require 24 hours notice for bookings!!! What a joke,,,,,the voucher was only for 2 pizzas, I mean how hard could that be to organise.
We could not get out of there quick enough, I got a refund from groupon for the voucher purchased and needless to say we won't be going back !!!!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sonica191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fast,fresh,food!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I came here after a walk around ST Ives on Tuesday with a friend and just decided to have a drink but as we walk past the kitchen the smell of food made me very hungry, So we ordered sausages
and the chicken burger. It came very fast and was very tasty.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brown Cow also viewed

 

Been to The Brown Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing