We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Old Hotel”
Review of Oakwood Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oakwood Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bingley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Lovely old hotel, with bags of character and charm. Our room was spacious and clean and very comfortable. Small but fabulously pretty garden and plenty of chairs and tables for sitting outside. The staff were great, very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and served by a delightful lady. This was a very dog friendly hotel, didn't charge for our dog - proof they are dog friendly. It's set in a lovely quiet location. We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area and we would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetteHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

this lovely hotel was the venue for my son and daughter-in-laws wedding yesterday .The hotel itself is characteristic but with a modern spacious feel to it The dining room looked amazing and was connected to a spacious bar area with plenty of comfortable seating, ideal for having a chat with friends and family, especially at night when the disco was in full swing and a quieter area needed for some. the room we stayed in was spacious and the bed so comfy and although the rooms differed in sizes there were no complaints from the other wedding quests. The garden was lovely perfect for those all important wedding photos with plenty of seating, and lighting at night. The food was good and the staff were attentive and friendly especially Phillip who just made the day run smoothly nothing was too much trouble. I cannot miss commenting on the bar man, Mathew he was funny, attentive and had a good sense of humor, especially when some of the quests thought he resembled Baldric from blackadder. Oakwood hall is a lovely hotel Thankyou for making my son's wedding such an enjoyable day you even booked the sun!

Room Tip: There is no lift at Oakwood hall and there are a lot of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

First impressions , old building , character... Ok. Let's give it a chance. On booking the hotel I said we had a disabled son in a wheelchair, and was told we had been given one of the best rooms, however discovered we were up 3 flights of stairs with no lift.and my husband had to carry him up . No problems with the room. My son was tired, so we thought, since room service was offered we would have our evening meal in the room. I went down to the bar area and asked if we could have room service, the same man who met us on arrival, in reception ,was working as bar man, and waiter, and looked at me in disgust and said '. There's only two of us on tonight, can you not come down, I suppose he meant like everyone else. I said my sons asleep. He then said. Can you come back later, I know your game lady you just want to watch ' Britains Got Talent, on the T V on your room??? Having worked in customer service my self for 12 years, I can honestly say, if I had spoken to a customer like that I would have been sacked on the spot. I couldn't sleep because I was so churned up at this mans attitude, and to have paid £120.00 for the room, what more can I say. Well maybe don't go there :-(

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susanayre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BingleyOakwood, Manager at Oakwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

I am very sorry that you and your family did not enjoy your recent stay here at Oakwood Hall. I have checked with the receptioist who took your enquiry and made the reservation and at no time was it stated that your son was a wheelchair user, if we had known we would never have allocated a room on the second floor, up 2 flights of stairs to, someone with mobility problems. When you checked in, your son was still in the car, at this point we could have changed your room to one on the 1st floor had we known how difficult it was for your husband to carry your son. Please accept our appologies for this oversite. The assistant manager states that when you came to the bar to order your food he agreed to serve food from the Table'd'hote menu in your room, he said that you then joked together about Britains Got Talent. The young waiter took up the room service tray and was tipped for doing so. At no time on check out were any of these points raised, when we could have tried to make amends. Please accept our appoligies for any shorcomings in our service to you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. My husband took me for a romantic weekend to reminisce about a lovely weekend that we had stayed at the hotel before we were engaged. We drew up to....the wrong hotel. Hysterical!! Turned out we had been here before for a lunch party but never stayed. The hotel is very old but modernised in parts inside. It is faithful to the old style but some really nice modern furnishings. The renovation is not complete. We had a dated room quite small and dark but it was spotlessly clean. The service was really personal. Very friendly staff including a real character who seemed to work continuously. There was also a young lad in the bar who did really well with older somewhat patronising guest. A rising star in the hotel trade! I would definitely go again. Nothing was too much trouble. The garden is gorgeous to sit out with a glass of wine. We thought the bar prices were ok but the food menu was dated and expensive. Might have been amazing food. We didn't try it. The breakfast service was a bit slow but chill out, they give you plenty of lovely food. You can walk to Bingley in 15 mins but it is steep hill with going down there the best direction. Taxi back up unless you are Linford Christie. It's about a river. Good Indian in town and also brown cow pub.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elasti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Oakwood Hall Hotel looked after our family during a funeral. They were courteous and caring and allowed us privacy in the hotel for two days as we had guests from all over the world who needed family time together. It was a very sad occasion but the memories they gave us will stay with us forever.
We booked most of the rooms in the hotel for two nights and they were all exceptional.
Thank you Oakwood.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I attended a wedding here with my family we paid over £100 for a family room and they put the children on a mattress on the floor!! on arrival on Thursday afternoon we decided to visit the bar for a drink. The bar was full of dirty glasses from the night before and the bar man first words were "Have you got any drugs if so can I have some" said in front of 2 children very professional I dont think. Later I asked the bar man for the wifi code I was told " if I told you I would have to kill you" not the kind of customer care you expect from a hotel. The bar menu was over priced and the bar prices increased on the day of the wedding £2 for a fruit shoot. The room was ok but floor boards needs attention. My recommendation would be to check out hotels near by and get a taxi to this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel is situated in a quiet location with excellent private parking. It has just had a refurbishment. The hotel has a relaxed atmosphere, it's like home from home. The bar lounge is comfortable, the log fire inviting in winter and the garden is pleasant to sit out in on warm summer days. The grade 2 listed staircase, windows and fireplace are magnificent.
We eat at the hotel regularly, the food is good quality, freshly made and good value. We have had friends staying at the hotel and have been assured the rooms are clean and extremely comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. You get proper napkins, placed on your knee in the correct way. You feel like you are valued. We love it. It is a great place for having a party as the dance floor is a decent size but the bar/lounge area can be separated so that you can chat to relatives you've not seen for years in comfort without the noise of the disco/band intruding. The food served at the joint birthday barn dance we had there was first class and lots of it. Everyone had a great time and the oldies said it was the best party they'd been to as they could actually hear conversations.

Room Tip: The hotel doesn't have a lift so you must be able to use the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LottieBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bingley
1.9 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
3.9 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.3 mi away
Five Rise Locks Hotel
Five Rise Locks Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bingley
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
443 reviews
6.6 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
The Great Victoria Hotel
The Great Victoria Hotel
#15 of 27 in Bradford
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Hall Hotel

Address: Lady Lane, Bingley, Bradford BD16 4AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Bingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bingley
Price Range: £74 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakwood Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakwood Hall, a grade 2 listed building, is a privately owned 20 bedroom hotel. Set amidst beautiful landscaped gardens, an ideal venue for wedding receptions and private parties. 1 mile from the centre of Bingley with excellant rail links to Leeds, Bradford and Skipton. 8 miles from Leeds/Bradford Airport, 4 miles from Haworth and 45 minutes from the Yorkshire Dales. A large free car park and quiet woodland surround the Hotel. The restaurant serves traditional lunch & dinner and the welcoming bar is well stocked with hand pulled ales, spirits & wine. Each room is individually designed, all with en suite bathrooms, tea coffee making facilities, trouser presses, hairdryers, irons & ironing boards, TV, radio/CD, and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Oakwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Hall Hotel Bradford/Bingley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing