We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding 01.08.2014”
Review of Oakwood Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oakwood Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bingley
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding 01.08.2014”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We held our wedding recept at Oakwood Hall on Friday. Usually I would never take the time to review online like this but after our wonderful experience, it feels like it is only right to commend the staff on not only their wonderful service but also their friendship too. We had the most amazing day, with 60 guests in the day and 80 in the evening. We found the surroundings perfect for the formal but relaxed feel which we wanted to create for our day. Marise, Ann, Rodger and everyone else were absolutely perfect with their professional but friendly manner and it felt as it the staff on the day were part of the wedding party. They couldn't do enough for us or for our guests. The organisation was superb and they set out the room to an incredibly high standard. They said they 'don't do stress' and they certainly don't. As a bride, I felt incredibly relaxed and that was because I felt everything was in hand. We booked 18 of the 20 rooms and all our our guests were thrilled. The refurbishment on the hotel's reception rooms has been completed to an incredibly high standard and the whole placed looked beautiful with all of our guests commenting on what a wonder venue this is. Compared to some other venues, it is also incredibly reasonably priced for the level of grandeur and service that is received. The food was incredible, from our 3 course wedding breakfast to the evening buffet and breakfast in the morning. I really don't have no complaints about any aspect and urge anyone looking for a first class wedding venue without an incredibly high price tag to visit Oakwood Hall. Thanks again to everyone involved in our day and we will return again soon!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica_Copland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    39
    21
    10
    14
See reviews for
51
62
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We have visited Oakwood Hall many times for meals and always enjoyed it. We have booked parties here for Christmases and for my dads 70th. The staff are fab. Warm, welcoming and nothing is ever too much trouble. In fact I recommended this place for a family members wedding due to this and the fact it has stunning gardens for photos. We attended this wedding the other week and were lucky enough to stay over. Meal was delicious as always. Service day and night was spot on. Clearly very well organised. Our room was a lovely four poster with sofa. A bulb had gone in the bathroom but was attended to immediately! Breakfast in the morning was relaxing and plenty of choice. I'd definitely keep recommending his place!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Foxymama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Arrived to a beautiful looking "Hall" oldie worldie, surrounded by trees so very secluded. Greeted by staff with a smile and a chat, made to feel welcome. Room small but ample for a business man wanting to freshen up and chill, clean tidy and facilties expected from all hotels. Oh a hot chocolate for my late night drink :-). Clean decorated throughout but the feel of been back in time, with oak beams and open fires, well kept garden to relax in. Food was lovely after been guided to my table, serviette laid on my lap and good old original style waiter service, the food was very nice, tasty and enough. If you like to relax and mentally go back in time but with a modern service, then this can be on your list.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBurns61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here after a business meeting, DBB basis. Very nice location and building from outside looks great, however the evening meal was possibly the worst I have experienced for along time. My recommendation is to stay here but find somewhere else to eat! Breakfast service not good either.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Winteroots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Room 12 at top of hotel was smelly (from en-suite bathroom) hugely cracked basin with sharp edges, no hook in bathroom to hang clothes, dark room, 3 tiny windows of which only one could be opened. I was amazed that they would even think of using this room. Was moved to room 3 which is large and bright with en-suite. Small garden with no particular merit. Helpful staff.
Had booked 3 nights but stayed only one. Complained and paid £45 instead of £90. Would never stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 3 is ok but there are much better places to stay e.g. Premier Inn, a few miles away (providing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, Bedfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with business but would definitely return for pleasure!

Hotel is an old hall with all original charm. Each room is decorated differently.

Room 11 (bridal suite) was AMAZING! Huge king size bed, leather sofa and tasteful decor. Right at top of hotel.

Room was immaculately clean as was bathroom.

Separate Bath and shower - powerful shower and lots of gorgeous toiletries.

Check in quick and friendly, and despite us arriving late and being the only people in there had good service in the bar.

Breakfast was really nice and freshly cooked hot food - only slight niggle was the lady serving was a little abrupt - however the food was lovely.

Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Shipley or bingley

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pelstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband and I had our wedding reception at Oakwood Hall Hotel on Friday 13th June 2014. Could not have wished to have been looked after better! Philip and every single staff member could not have done more to help our day go smoothly. The food was beautiful, all our guests commented on how lovely it was and how wonderful everyone was at Oakwood Hall. They decorated the room exactly how we wished, everything was more than perfect! The bridal suite was absolutely stunning, the bed very comfortable, the view breathtaking. The gardens were beautiful for our photographs, even our photographer commented that Oakwood Hall is one of the most beautiful places he has ever been! We could rave for hours about how wonderful Oakwood Hall is, along with all the staff, but we will finish by saying, if you are looking for a wedding venue, look no further! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bingley
3.9 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.3 mi away
Five Rise Locks Hotel
Five Rise Locks Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bingley
120 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
865 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Hall Hotel

Property: Oakwood Hall Hotel
Address: Lady Lane, Bingley, Bradford BD16 4AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Bingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakwood Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakwood Hall, a grade 2 listed building, is a privately owned 20 bedroom hotel. Set amidst beautiful landscaped gardens, an ideal venue for wedding receptions and private parties. 1 mile from the centre of Bingley with excellant rail links to Leeds, Bradford and Skipton. 8 miles from Leeds/Bradford Airport, 4 miles from Haworth and 45 minutes from the Yorkshire Dales. A large free car park and quiet woodland surround the Hotel. The restaurant serves traditional lunch & dinner and the welcoming bar is well stocked with hand pulled ales, spirits & wine. Each room is individually designed, all with en suite bathrooms, tea coffee making facilities, trouser presses, hairdryers, irons & ironing boards, TV, radio/CD, and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Oakwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Hall Hotel Bradford/Bingley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing