We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Ok - expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Caballo Blanco Tapas - CLOSED

El Caballo Blanco Tapas
Price range: US$3 - US$20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: El Caballo blanco restaurant is situated in the historic White Horse building in the centre of Bingley. The Old White Horse Inn in Bingley, West Yorkshire is one of the oldest buildings still in use in the town. It was originally constructed as a coaching inn in the mid-seventeenth century and is an English Grade II listed building. Stone lanterns on the front of the building denote the former owners as the Order of Knights of St John of Jerusalem, it is also famous for its location on the original part of the street. There is one main bar which serves the pub, traditional in style with low ceilings and beautiful stone floors. The fantastic courtyard overlooks the River Aire and is very popular with locals during the warmer months. Here at El Caballo Blanco we think fine dining has a place, but why be regimented to a three course traditional meal. We think you should shake off the shackles of traditional dining and pick and pick again. Select a little bit of this and a little bit of that. Then go back and do it again. So our menu presents a wide selection of tapas which sees old favourites like Patatas Bravas and Calamares alongside some more conventional dishes that explore our interest in fusion - Albondigas (meatballs) served in a sauce (chef's choice). Whatever your likes or dislikes and regardless of how adventurous you are, we at El Caballo Blanco are confident that we can give you a really memorable informal dining experience.
Leeds
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Food Ok - expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went on a Friday evening early in May, boards outside say early bird offer, but not on a Friday night. Staff were very attentive, if not too much, always coming to ask us to order more. Tapas is about having a nice evening over food and drinks and not being rushed! We enjoyed the food but thought it was quite expensive. Maybe try lunch offer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Caballo B, Owner at El Caballo Blanco Tapas, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to make your review. We note you came on a Friday night early in May. You mention that we have a board advertising early bird, I suspect you were expecting that, which you correctly state is not available on a friday night. Early bird offers are an incentive for people to sample the menu, on a week night, one to generate business on a quiet night, and secondly to let people experience spanish tapas on a budget.
Glad you mentioned the staff were attentive, and it would be correct to mention they ask if customers want anything else, as we serve tapas, it is expected that people may want more. If you inferred that you didn't you would have been left to enjoy your night.
That said if you took am earlier table, it is fair to say we would want it back, if we didn't turn tables then somebody sat eating 2 tapas could hog a table all night and have a total spend of £20 between 2. So it would be reasonable to expect the staff to move diners from a table that would be booked for other diners.
I have to contest your comments about the food being too expensive, all our food is prepared fresh, by qualified chef's with a wealth of experience, and as you said 'you enjoyed the food'. So I can't understand why you would think an average price of £4.95 is expensive. compared to other tapas restaurants we are favourable, have a far better wine list, and our food is fresh.
Finally we have numerous offers for those on a tight budget, including lunchtime Saturday and Sunday £5.95 for two tapas, an early bird special for £10 Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday's and Sundays, and a Paella night for two people on a Sunday £29.95 including a bottle of house wine or Sangria.
Please try one of those nights
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    27
    10
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Bad service the food all tasted the same, not marinated just coated in all the same spices tasted bitter, we ordered 12 dishes between 4 all came at different times hour between the 1st and the last 2 that my husband ordered. We normally go to valentinos excellent food and service but thought we wòuld give this a go wish we hadn't wasted our money if you want tapas go to the tapas tree in shipley much better

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Mandy041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Caballo B, Owner at El Caballo Blanco Tapas, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
I would hope that people visiting this site will view this review as spurious in its content, and malicious in its intentions as it is meant to be. It is notable that you don't mention one dish in your review, or even the day you booked.
The staff and chef work tirelessly to ensure the customers of El Caballo Blanco get the best value, and service that we can possible give, so to that end I am satisfied that your review is either a miss guided loyalty to the restaurant you have mentioned (where incidently I have visited on more than one occasion), or just a very malicious attempt to devalue our business.
I also note you posted a review on their tripadvisor on the same day, again not being specific in any detail whatsoever.
In finishing this reply we take heart from the reviews prior to this and will continue to deliver the best service we can.
http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g668054-d1011276-r206825849-Valentino_Ristorante-Bingley_Bradford_West_Yorkshire_England.html#REVIEWS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Midlands, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Authentic tapas in Bingley!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I can't stress how good the tapas here is, the dishes were all perfectly flavoured & a nice size, this old pub has been tastefully renovated & the staff were attentive but not intrusive.
The food was the real star though & it's clear that the chef has a real flair for Spanish flavours. Reasonably priced too.

Helpful?
Thank Katie_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Caballo B, Owner at El Caballo Blanco Tapas, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Google Translation
Hi Katie
gracias para su estudio, usted no puede saber pero nuestro cocinero es español y de Asturias.
él tiene un instinto real y está mirando siempre para mejorar su comida. Las dos pulgadas en mi cintura son prueba de eso

buen provecho

thank you for your review, you may not know but our chef is spanish and from Asturias.
he has a real flair and is always looking to improve his food. The two inches on my waistline is proof of that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food,service and surroundings.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Called here on Friday evening for the first time. We hadn't booked but the hostess quickly found us a table and took our drinks order(excellent white Rioja and at a reasonable price). She then explained the menu and we ordered some bread, whilst pondering over the menu. Chose 5 dishes between the 2 of us, which was plenty. The white bean stew, the baked Aubergine with goats cheese and the special cod were exceptional. The food was served at a steady pace and the service was attentive, but not over the top.
We left the restaurant, both saying that it was one of the best dining experiences we have had for some time. Will be visiting again soon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Caballo B, Owner at El Caballo Blanco Tapas, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to review us. We continually strive to bring new dishes and ideas to the table.
Your comments make the hard work feel a lot easier

Gracias Nos vemos pronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best tapas, fantástico food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We have returned once more to the white horse and again Friday evening was perfect, after testing in leeds and bradford other tapas places, definitely will not seek more, here the food is tasty and traditional. Every day improves. The aubergines are
great. Fantástica tapas

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Williamsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Caballo B, Owner at El Caballo Blanco Tapas, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
We have returned once more to the white horse and again Friday evening was perfect, after testing in leeds and bradford other tapas places, definitely will not seek more, here the food is tasty and traditional. Every day improves. The aubergines are
great. Fantástica tapas

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your experience. It makes all the hard work worth it to know your time with us was enjoyable, and the food is as we want it.
Nos vemos pronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Caballo Blanco Tapas also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing