We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it”
Review of El Caballo Blanco Tapas - CLOSED

El Caballo Blanco Tapas
Price range: US$3 - US$20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: El Caballo blanco restaurant is situated in the historic White Horse building in the centre of Bingley. The Old White Horse Inn in Bingley, West Yorkshire is one of the oldest buildings still in use in the town. It was originally constructed as a coaching inn in the mid-seventeenth century and is an English Grade II listed building. Stone lanterns on the front of the building denote the former owners as the Order of Knights of St John of Jerusalem, it is also famous for its location on the original part of the street. There is one main bar which serves the pub, traditional in style with low ceilings and beautiful stone floors. The fantastic courtyard overlooks the River Aire and is very popular with locals during the warmer months. Here at El Caballo Blanco we think fine dining has a place, but why be regimented to a three course traditional meal. We think you should shake off the shackles of traditional dining and pick and pick again. Select a little bit of this and a little bit of that. Then go back and do it again. So our menu presents a wide selection of tapas which sees old favourites like Patatas Bravas and Calamares alongside some more conventional dishes that explore our interest in fusion - Albondigas (meatballs) served in a sauce (chef's choice). Whatever your likes or dislikes and regardless of how adventurous you are, we at El Caballo Blanco are confident that we can give you a really memorable informal dining experience.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Had dinner here last Saturday and was extremely impressed. We had a reservation for 6:30pm and the place was fairly quiet when we arrived. It soon filled up so I'd recommend you book early to avoid disappointment.

Service was reasonably quick although we were advised that a couple of the dishes would take longer. Bear in mind we arrived before the place filled up, so can't vouch for it later.

We were advised to get 3 dishes each - this was a little overkill. I'd suggest ordering 5 between 2 people to start with; you can always get more later. Between the 5 of us we must have had 9 or 10 different dishes and most shared between us. Everything was excellent but my favourites were the pork cheeks with mash, the white bean stew with chorizo & black pudding and the bread with chorizo and bacon.

Dish prices not cheap but fair for the quality and portions, wine a bit pricey. Will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Caballo B, Owner at El Caballo Blanco Tapas, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Hi Pete
Thank you for your kind review, and your descriptions of the dishes. We suggest three dishes as the norm, but taking on board your comments we will take note of peoples orders and suggest that some dishes are more filling than others.

I am glad you found the food, fresh and wholesome, we do try and keep the prices down but 20% of a dish is taken by vat (damn the government). The wine is priced as best value we can, because we made an effort not to supply wine found in a supermarket, but direct from the vineyards in spain.

We hope you sing our praises far and wide and look forward to your next visit

Nos vemos pronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    27
    10
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place to eat and drink”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a fantastic evening with excellent food and service. We shared a great selection of really tasty food in comfortable and relaxed surroundings. We would definitely recommend!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Omlette2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Caballo B, Owner at El Caballo Blanco Tapas, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you found us a great place to eat and drink. We look forward to seeing you soon

El equipo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
439 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Authentic tasty tapas in converted pub”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Ate here because my hotel kitchen was closed and was not disappointed. I had just 3 dishes which was more than adequate. Highlight was the Asturian bean stew with chorizo and morcilla of which I could have eaten 2 plates because it was so good. I also had the tasty beef escalops in blue cheese sauce and pan catalan (bread with tomatoes, oil, garlic). Despite being well filled I finished with crema catalana (creme brulee). With 2 large glasses of good house wine and a coffee my bill came to £30. I have travelled and eaten all over Spain and can vouch for the authenticity of the food which is cooked by the Spanish chef. My only small criticism is the sound level of the accompanying Spanish/Cuban music, but I am an old fart and younger clientele won't mind this. Highly recommended!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Googly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Caballo B, Owner at El Caballo Blanco Tapas, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our restaurant, we are so pleased you have mentioned the dishes you had, so often reviewers fail to do that.
Our chef takes great pride in his food, and has a limited knowledge of english (far better than my spanish) but he reads quite well. He will take pleasure in reading this review.

coincidently we had the speaker moved yesterday so it isn't as intrusive to customers sitting at the tables on that side of the room.

El Jefe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Food Ok - expensive”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went on a Friday evening early in May, boards outside say early bird offer, but not on a Friday night. Staff were very attentive, if not too much, always coming to ask us to order more. Tapas is about having a nice evening over food and drinks and not being rushed! We enjoyed the food but thought it was quite expensive. Maybe try lunch offer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Caballo B, Owner at El Caballo Blanco Tapas, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to make your review. We note you came on a Friday night early in May. You mention that we have a board advertising early bird, I suspect you were expecting that, which you correctly state is not available on a friday night. Early bird offers are an incentive for people to sample the menu, on a week night, one to generate business on a quiet night, and secondly to let people experience spanish tapas on a budget.
Glad you mentioned the staff were attentive, and it would be correct to mention they ask if customers want anything else, as we serve tapas, it is expected that people may want more. If you inferred that you didn't you would have been left to enjoy your night.
That said if you took am earlier table, it is fair to say we would want it back, if we didn't turn tables then somebody sat eating 2 tapas could hog a table all night and have a total spend of £20 between 2. So it would be reasonable to expect the staff to move diners from a table that would be booked for other diners.
I have to contest your comments about the food being too expensive, all our food is prepared fresh, by qualified chef's with a wealth of experience, and as you said 'you enjoyed the food'. So I can't understand why you would think an average price of £4.95 is expensive. compared to other tapas restaurants we are favourable, have a far better wine list, and our food is fresh.
Finally we have numerous offers for those on a tight budget, including lunchtime Saturday and Sunday £5.95 for two tapas, an early bird special for £10 Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday's and Sundays, and a Paella night for two people on a Sunday £29.95 including a bottle of house wine or Sangria.
Please try one of those nights
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Bad service the food all tasted the same, not marinated just coated in all the same spices tasted bitter, we ordered 12 dishes between 4 all came at different times hour between the 1st and the last 2 that my husband ordered. We normally go to valentinos excellent food and service but thought we wòuld give this a go wish we hadn't wasted our money if you want tapas go to the tapas tree in shipley much better

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Mandy041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Caballo B, Owner at El Caballo Blanco Tapas, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
I would hope that people visiting this site will view this review as spurious in its content, and malicious in its intentions as it is meant to be. It is notable that you don't mention one dish in your review, or even the day you booked.
The staff and chef work tirelessly to ensure the customers of El Caballo Blanco get the best value, and service that we can possible give, so to that end I am satisfied that your review is either a miss guided loyalty to the restaurant you have mentioned (where incidently I have visited on more than one occasion), or just a very malicious attempt to devalue our business.
I also note you posted a review on their tripadvisor on the same day, again not being specific in any detail whatsoever.
In finishing this reply we take heart from the reviews prior to this and will continue to deliver the best service we can.
http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g668054-d1011276-r206825849-Valentino_Ristorante-Bingley_Bradford_West_Yorkshire_England.html#REVIEWS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Caballo Blanco Tapas also viewed

 
Bingley, Bradford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing