We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Five Rise Locks Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bingley
Certificate of Excellence
Leyland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We wanted to be looked after on a mid week break and this was ideal. Our beautifully decorated room in the tower was wonderful,with some lovely personal touches,such as books and binoculars.The locally sourced food was superb, the service friendly and brisk. Loved it. A harmonious family establishment. Unable to get wi fi, but that may have been our problem.

Room Tip: The tower room was impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieLeyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    41
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
59
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

As soon as I knew I had some business in Bingley I contacted the Five Rise Locks Hotel as I had been very happy with a previous stay. I was not disappointed: the service was excellent and it retains the friendly atmosphere of a family establishment. It was particularly valuable to have such an excellent restaurant available. I was not keen to venture out into the December evenings with slightly limited mobility after a foot injury, and it was very welcome to have a lovely menu to choose from when I finished work well into the evening. There are lots of thoughtful touches - binoculars provided to enjoy the view, and attractive books to read the bedroom. Last time I sat up late to finish the one I started: this time I shall have to buy a title which I started there and could not finish.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Stayed here in May 2012 during a weekend trip to the region. Excellent accommodations; a classic small inn. The staff were friendly and helpful. Near to five locks on the canal which is well worth the short walk down the hill to visit. Breakfast was great. As others have noted, the layout is slightly quirky with many stairs and some rooms uniquely laid out. This adds to the charm of the place and for us was a definite positive, but something to ask about when reserving a room if you have any concerns or children.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

An excellent hotel, superb food, impeccable service, and a warm welcome. Nothing is too much trouble. It is adjacent to the canal and is a perfect centre for walking on the tow path. The bar is also well stocked and comfortable

Room Tip: Room 8 is the one we occupied and it has a bath with shower and is the only one on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Very nice hotel, clean and efficient. Well sighted to allow easy access to visit breathtaking countryside all around. Room was clean and spacious, though there were a couple of low doors to bang heads upon (doh!), and quite a lot of staircases to negotiate (particularly with a two-year-old in tow). Breakfast was very good, though I was a little surprised at the lack of black pudding... I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerome P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed here for our wedding night, everything about the room was perfect, it was clean, fresh and the bed was soooo comfortable. The important part for us was the breakfast which was a proper English breakfast and is just what was needed after such a busy wedding day before. A+++

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarrah-lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulon, France
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Just like an airline flight - the cabin crew can make or break the journey no matter how good the product is - and so it is with the Five Rise Locks. It's a family affair with Richard and Margaret leading - and they care about their guests.

We are currently in the four poster room complete with cuddly toy, binoculars to look over the Dales (misty morning and quite lovely). I don't agree about the tired decor - it's homely and comfy - and not cookie cutter chain hotel, which is part of its charm. By the way, I asked on the online booking if we could stay for dinner -
but there was no dinner last night, being a Sunday,.They tried contacting us but I gave a wrong mobile number - so they upgraded us to the four poster free of charge - when it was my fault!

Richard went out his way to help us, printing off directions - and he is simply a fantastic concierge. When we returned, there was an honour bar system in operation - so we helped outselves to a couple of beers, glasses of wine, filled in the book and retired up to room 3, to watch the Olympics on an abfab flat screen telly, with the windows open to let in the good Yorkshire air.

Breakfast -which we just had - we delicious - cooked by Richard - as the chef is off.

Clear to me the Five Rise Locks is a labour of love - and we have extended our stay - and will be back soon.

Room Tip: Number 3 - the Four Poster. All you need. Good views, quite a nice size for a small 3 star - and lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bingley
1.6 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
2.7 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
865 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Keighley
Travelodge Keighley
#3 of 6 in Keighley
132 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
428 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Rise Locks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Rise Locks Hotel

Property: Five Rise Locks Hotel
Address: Beck Lane, Bingley, Bradford BD16 4DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Bingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Five Rise Locks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run hotel is tucked away in a residential area but still within easy distance of Leeds and Bradford, and is renowned for its service, friendliness, excellent cuisine and hospitality. The small boutique hotel has an excellent reputation for its restaurant which offers good value, fresh produce on both its à la carte and fixed price options. At the hotel you’ll find comfy sofas, a terraced garden, and restful views of the surrounding countryside. A former mill owner’s house, this Victorian stone building is just a couple of minutes from the A650 main road and the busy heart of West Yorkshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Five Rise Locks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Five Rise Locks Hotel Bradford/Bingley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing