We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Five Rise Locks Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bingley
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“a great choice”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

After staying in some places that were trying too hard to be novel, it was a joy to stay in this warm, welcoming, well presented hotel. I found our brief stay relaxing. We went to the Shama Restaurant in Bingley in the evening and had a great curry (take your own alcohol).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    39
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
59
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Decided to stay over when visiting Saltaire and was faced with a large choice of hotels in the area (many belonging to large hotel chain). Chose the Five Rise Locks Hotel from their website - a very wise choice!
Richard and Margaret are excellent hosts and everything is just as you would wish.
Go on - give it a try. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
an englishwoman abroad
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We enjoyed the highest room in the house. Nice and spacious, even with a camp bed for our son set up, wonderful views and a large bathroom with both bath and separate shower. Very peaceful too. We all enjoyed a friendly welcome and service from all the staff we met, with dinner being tailored to my son's liking. Games in the bar were a nice touch, and my son loved the Bingley Bassett "do not disturb" toy dog. as a result he rated the room "better than DisneyLand". The only reason i haven't gone for 5 stars was the slight mildew to the shower tray sealant but we Won't hesitate to stay here again when visiting family.

Room Tip: If you can manage 2 flights of stairs the room at the top is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hermit160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maybole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here with my wife for one night last week after visiting relatives locally.

Exterior looks a bit grim and off-putting, but that's Yorkshire for you; Love it!

Lovely room, well equipped, bathroom a bit small but well thought out. Flat screen TV, good quality bed and linen.

Excellent restaurant, very reasonably priced. Small menu, and all fresh and locally sourced.
Has a AA Rosette, and dinner for two was less then £40 for three courses ex drinks of course. Great value in IMHO.

Would certainly recommend, and will definite stay again if in this area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lochspouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed here in a down stairs room. Room was large and very clean. Good hospitality tray. Lovely crisp linen and soft towels. Food very good shame more locals do not eat there. Enjoyed our stay with lovely views from the windows.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrancesandStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Really impressed by the room - it was clean, nicely decorated and spacious, if a little cold - but that's probably the price you pay for large windows with views over the Countryside, which was a nice surprise. Breakfast was good, though service could have been friendlier.
Be warned, there is a strong smell of dogs when you go in, and it's hard to get attention from the proprietors which was disappointing (twice on reception and at breakfast we waited thinking the pooches were running the place).
I think the hotel (it's really a B&B) could be great if the owners put a little more thought into what the guest might be thinking and wanting. They were sat about on a table in the public dining room when we left - the lines between home and hotel need redrawing.

Room Tip: Room 9 is nice but ask for the heating to go on if it's chilly out. We came back too late at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chirly83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Gorgeous Basset Hounds join in with the warm welcome at the reception desk, and this quiet, charming property is something of a Yorkshire gem when it comes to hotel accommodation. Breakfast, with locally-sourced meats/poultry/veg, was nothing short of excellent, and the in-room facilities and visitor information were thoughtfully put together and met every need and query. Say no more – will just stay some more when out Bingley way!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TykeStroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bingley
0.3 mi away
Oakwood Hall Hotel
Oakwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bingley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
4.0 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bradford North (Bingley) Hotel
5.3 mi away
Midland Hotel
Midland Hotel
#2 of 27 in Bradford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Rise Locks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Rise Locks Hotel

Property: Five Rise Locks Hotel
Address: Beck Lane, Bingley, Bradford BD16 4DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Bingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Five Rise Locks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run hotel is tucked away in a residential area but still within easy distance of Leeds and Bradford, and is renowned for its service, friendliness, excellent cuisine and hospitality. The small boutique hotel has an excellent reputation for its restaurant which offers good value, fresh produce on both its à la carte and fixed price options. At the hotel you’ll find comfy sofas, a terraced garden, and restful views of the surrounding countryside. A former mill owner’s house, this Victorian stone building is just a couple of minutes from the A650 main road and the busy heart of West Yorkshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Five Rise Locks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Five Rise Locks Hotel Bradford/Bingley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing